We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn down.. Tacky.. But still interesting..”
Review of Coney Island USA

Coney Island USA
Book In Advance
More Info
$190.53*
and up
Coney Island Ocean Jet Ski Tour
More Info
$389.00*
and up
New York Helicopter Tour: Manhattan, Brooklyn and Staten Island
More Info
$382.00*
and up
New York Harbor Jet Ski Tour
Ranked #1 of 34 Fun & Games in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to famous rides like the Cyclone Roller Coaster, the Wonder Wheel and the Parachute Jump, this historic seaside section of Broooklyn is about an hour by train from Manhattan and still boasts a lively boardwalk, beach, and the best hot dogs around.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
527 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Worn down.. Tacky.. But still interesting..”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

It is like doing a bit of timetravel to go to coney island. Sure, there's a beach. But the funfair itself feels very 80's.. However, it is kinda cool in a way. Jersey-shores feels like an easy reference too when it comes to the crowd. Also, a lot of families with kids of course.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Per N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,508
    1,270
    531
    141
    90
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Coney Island Is Back and You Really Should Check It Out!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I grew up in Brooklyn and went to coney island every summer. it was always an old dirty amusement park but the closest one to NYC and the energy of the park and the people made it fun. I took my daughter this past week and was pleasantly surprised. Its much cleaner, many of the rides are new, its right next to where the Brooklyn Cyclones play so you can make a day of things and enjoy Coney Island and check out a baseball game afterwards. There is Kareoke on the boardwalk, many of the restaurants have been refurbished, there are many new restaurants and the rides are wonderful. Go To Luna Park first. (its one of the three mini amusement parks that make up Coney Island.) The Aquarium is at The West 8th Street train station which is the station before Coney Island. Coney Island is on the edge of Brooklyn, New York. It is about an hours train ride from Manhattan so I recommend that you make a day of it. Start off at West 8th Street, visit the aquarium, from there walk along the boardwalk where you'll be next to the beach and the first amusement park you'll see is Luna Park. Enjoy the rides (approximately $3.00 per ride) but they have great packages, such as enjoy rides for 2 hours for 20.00). Get some homemade ice cream at a big new ice cream parlor they have there and then make your way to the other parks. Towards the end you must try a hot dog, fries and if you're courageous Frog Legs at Nathans Famous outdoor restaurant and then check out a ball game. The games usually start around 7 pm and tickets are as low as 10.00.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lbloveslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“a different atmosphere”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have been to many boardwalks and this one had an atmosphere all it's own. First it was so crowded the Sunday we went. What I loved was a group of people (all kinds of people) dancing near a banner that said "for the love of music" these people were getting down!! I mean they were dancing with all they had in them...that was really cool to see. what I did not like was the trash ppl left every where ...even on the beach it was unreal that anyone would leave garbage all over the place. it was sad really. now the rides at luna park were a blast and you must ride the Cyclone. it was the craziest coaster I've been on. Also the restrooms were regulated by a restroom guard so to speak....the line was very long for the ladies restroom but it moved very quickly and the restroom was clean! maybe they need more security on the beach to keep it clean too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great fun for the family”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I took my niece and nephew and their three children there on a Sat. afternoon this July. Everyone had a great time. Great rides, great games and don't forget the original Nathan's is there. After that we went to a baseball game at the stadium right at the end of the board way. The New York Met's have their third level farm team home stadium there. The team name is the Brooklyn Cyclone's. All in all it was a great day and the kid's loved it. It was topped off with a fireworks show. They don't ways have the show, but this night they did. Can be expensive but worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent, but take an umbrella :)”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

well it is a beach, what would you expect, not a lot of shade.
go and enjoy the board walk. There is plenty to see, and the kids can have fun on the beach.

Plenty of food stands, drinks, and some shops for the board walk.

During our visit, the Pier was closed, because of the last Hurricane.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GB_InTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coney Island USA also viewed

 

Been to Coney Island USA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing