We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Karaoke for Ducks”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coney Island USA

Coney Island USA
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.50*
and up
Coney Island Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 33 Fun & Games in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to famous rides like the Cyclone Roller Coaster, the Wonder Wheel and the Parachute Jump, this historic seaside section of Broooklyn is about an hour by train from Manhattan and still boasts a lively boardwalk, beach, and the best hot dogs around.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Karaoke for Ducks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Rousing ovations for karaoke even if you sing like a duck! Beautiful, wonderful people of all shapes, sizes, ages and colors showing the love. (And you can go on the Cyclone, to a pro baseball game, in the ocean, and to The Aquarium all in an aftyernoon!)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JoaquinLayoMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,424
    1,199
    503
    133
    85
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Much better than expected, must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Brooklyn is the new IT city of New York. If youve taken a trip to New York to see the bright lights of a big city, to shop, to see Manhattan and the events of the fast-paced city, like us I'm sure you'll have missed on the typical beach element of the summer.

The trip to Coney Island was a 20 minute subway away from where we stayed and completely different by the fast paced Manhattan. Much better than expected, it had a great family atmosphere, great rides, food and shops. Must squeeze in a visit to wind down and relax after experiencing New York for the summer holiday experience.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed Coney Island and were disappointed to have discovered it in our last few days of visiting. The beach was clean with an eccentric mix of people, with some brilliant individual market stores too and music, suited for all age ranges. Guaranteed you will enjoy, much better than the movies portray for the classic beach atmosphere.

Also a non costly visit, except the subway trip down, which the majority of tourists and locals obtain a subway ticket to experience New York anyway.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Coney Island a honky-tonk location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Despite its world-wide fame, Coney Island is a honky-tonk area of Brooklyn, easily accessible by train. Nathan's is its most popular business, the home of the fourth of July hot dog eating contest. The rides are dizzying, the Boardwalk a decent place for a summer's walk. The beach is crowded during the warm weather but can hardly compete with some of the world's far more beautiful beaches from Greece to the Caribbean.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank HarveyKarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We need to go back and support this area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

It was so sad to see what happened here since the hurricane. I was really shook up at the conditions at the area. I have loved this place since I was a little little girl. As New Yorkers we need to go back and spend our money and bring it back up.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Always fun at Coney Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I like the amusement park atmosphere of Coney Island and the board walk. The different food options also makes for nice incentive to visit :)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Muna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coney Island USA also viewed

 

Been to Coney Island USA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing