We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tres jollie stay at Le Jolie”
Review of Hotel Le Jolie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Jolie
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 13, 2009

In its surprising location, this sparkling clean hotel is a joy.
The room was immaculate and the staff friendly, welcoming and helpful.
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for respite from the hustle and the bustle of Manhattan and to anyone who appreciates cleanliness and friendliness over location.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BQE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urszula1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2014

Hello BQE,

Thank you for this great review ! We strive to provide an excellent and comfortable stay to each and every guest and to hear that we achieved just that, brings a great joy to all of us !

Urszula R,
Assistant General Manager
Hotel Le Jolie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,429 - 1,435 of 1,509 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2009

Hotel Le Jolie is really, really clean. It's relatively new, and from what I could see, the staff really works to keep it up. For example, when we were eating breakfast in the attractive little breakfast area, a staff member was wiping down the dispensers (with a clean cloth), and tidying up while we were eating. As others have noted, rooms are small, but we had a great view of Manhattan. Big flat-screen tv is a bonus, as is USA Today delivered to room. Staff is friendly, helpful, eager to please. The trip by subway into Manhattan is very short. I'd definitely use this as a base again for NYC.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandiasMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urszula1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2014

Dear SandiasMaryland,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Le Jolie ! One of our top priorities is the cleanliness of our hotel and I'm happy that this was one of the important points for you as well. It's great to hear that you found our location to be an easy commute to Manhattan. Hope to see you next time !

Best Regards,

Urszula R,
Assistant General Manager
Hotel Le Jolie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

We stayed at Jolie after trouble with an apartment we rented in the East Village (To cut a long story short the owner hadn't paid rent so we were promptly evicted by the court marshall after our first night, with nowhere to go and no-one to help us. A very scary thing to happen when it was our first trip to New York with a budget too).

We explained our situation to a staff member and booked a room on the 7th floor. Despite what some reviews say on here, we were extremely pleased with the staff and their friendliness. We were feeling vulnerable after our trouble in Manhattan so to have friendly faces and a warm reception was just what we needed. They offered us umbrellas when it was raining, and gave us free water when it was scorching hot. They looked after our bags on our last day there and were nothing but lovely to us!

Pros:
- Very clean rooms, fresh free bottles of water in the mini-bar every day, fresh towels every day, room tidied every day!
- Nice sized rooms with safe, HUGE flatscreen tv on the wall!!, Free internet (which was great to Skype with our families and let them know we were ok after the Apartment problems), lots of choice in room service, free USA Today every morning too delivered to the room.
- Air conditioning was a godsend in those scorching hot nights in June.
- There was an open-air festival in Brooklyn on one night (I remember M.I.A being on the bill!), only a couple of blocks from the hotel, but we couldn't hear a thing as the windows blocked out the noise brilliantly!
- If you get a room at the rear of the hotel you can see some great views of Manhattan (past the building site underneath mind) on a clear day. Perfect view of Empire state and Chrysler building.
- Very close to subway and a couple of grocery stores along the way to get snacks!
- The staff were very courteous to us, and we appreciated it very much.

Cons: (not many may I add)
- The area does look a little rough but we didn't encounter any problems, just crossing the road under the Expressway felt a little sketchy at times.
- It looks a little out of place for such a lovely boutique hotel, but only because the location was going through some building changes and the empty gas station next door had not been taken down.

Overall our stay was wonderful and we enjoyed the hotel very much. After our initial problems we were very grateful for the hotel's quick and easy reservations for us when we had nowhere else to go and were on a tight budget as we had only saved for a small, cheap apartment in Manhattan. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urszula1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2014

Dear Charley M,

Thank you so much for posting a great review about your stay at Hotel Le Jolie. We are so happy that we were able to provide you with an accommodation during this difficult situation. All Team Members at Hotel Le Jolie strive to provide excellent service and comfort to all our guests creating home away from home to each and everyone staying here.

Sincerely,
Urszula R,
Assistant General Manager
Hotel Le Jolie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

While the room was fairly nice (lamp and remote were not functioning) and the location convenient for getting around NYC, the staff at this hotel was so abominable I would never go there again. Everyone from the front desk personnel, to the management and the girl who took care of the continental breakfast showed no hospitality skills whatsoever. Not only that, the front desk manager was downright rude and hostile. Unbelievable. I would discourage anyone considering a stay at the Hotel Le Jolie to choose another hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank leblancll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urszula1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2014

Dear leblancll,

I'm sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. Being a fairly new hotel, we still have some wrinkles to iron out, so I would like to ask you to be so kind and give us another chance for improvement.

Urszula R,
Assistant General Manager
Hotel Le Jolie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2008

Most people here say the rooms are small which may be true, but I didn't think of it as a problem. Maybe I was just lucky with my room on the 7th floor with a view on the road. My room was clean and looked good.

Breakfast was a bit on the basic side though. There wasn't much to choose from and the stuff wasn't exactly fresh, but it was ok for me.

There was a grumpy Indian guy (probably the manager) who really could learn something of his personnel when it comes to attitude. The personnel was very nice and helpful. Although they did acted a bit tense everytime the manager walked by, which was strange because I think the personnel did their job very well and had nothing to be scared of.

The directly surrounding streets are a bit of a mess, look deserted and shabby. But if you walk through it in the direction of Bedford Avenue it gets better quickly. I can really advise people doing this. Bedford Avenue itself is very charming and good for shopping, doing groceries, have dinner and meet arty people.

I'm definitely going to stay here again the next time I'm in New York! Even when I want to be in Manhattan a lot.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank I_heart_NY_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urszula1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2014

Dear I_heart_NY_too,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor ! I'm glad to hear that you found the room to be spacious and clean and our Team Members helpful during your stay. There might not be many stores in the near vicinity to our hotel, but one can find countless restaurants, bars and cafes along very popular Bedford Avenue. See you soon!

Urszula R,
Assistant General Manager
Hotel Le Jolie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

I am a 24 years old guy that stayed with his boyfriend at this hotel last September, after a long trip to the West Coast and northern parts of Mexico. When we were looking for hotels in NY on the web, we found that the daily rate of a very average hotel in Manhattan was the same -or even more expensive- than the executive rooms and junior suites that we booked in cities such as San Francisco, Los Ángeles, Las Vegas or San Diego. Finally, we found through TripAdvisor this gem of hotel, that allowed us to stay in a pleasant place, close to the centre, for a fair price.
Rooms, although small, were very cosy, comfortable and well appointed, with a big flat screen TV, iron, fridge... Our room didn't face the freeway reported in previous posts, but a nice and quiet street at the back of the building. The bathroom was also bright and very clean.
Location was very convenient, just a block away from the subway. There was a direct line, and the centre of Manhattan was only four or five stops away (10 minutes ride or so). As NY subway works 24 hours, coming back late to the hotel wasn't a problem.
At first, we were a little bit worried about the safety of the neighbourhood, due to a few prevoius posts, and especially considering that we were arriving the first day quite late at night (at approx. 11 pm). Instead of a lonely, dark and dangerous area, we found a lively -it was Friday- place, with many bars and shops opened.
Last day of our stay, we discovered that breakfast was included in the room rate. Although it was not the best breakfast of our lifes, it was a good plus, quite unusual in big cities hotels.
All in all, a very good experience. We were very glad of having found this place, and I it has become one of my first options for future visits to NY.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urszula1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2014

Hello FBV,

Thank you for sharing your incredible comments with fellow travelers! It's a great joy to hear that everything was great during your stay and you found Williamsburg a fascinating place to explore with its countless restaurants, bars and cafes within minutes walk. We hope to see you next time !

Urszula R,
Assistant General Manager
Hotel Le Jolie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atwtfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urszula1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.9 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#1 of 74 in Brooklyn
692 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#3 of 74 in Brooklyn
1,085 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 74 in Brooklyn
366 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 74 in Brooklyn
620 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#19 of 74 in Brooklyn
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Jolie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Jolie

Address: 235 Meeker Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11211-1244
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
#2 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#5 Best Value Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range: $151 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Le Jolie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Jolie is a boutique hotel in Brooklyn featuring free, limited parking, free Wi-Fi & great rates in the Williamsburg neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Jolie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Jolie Hotel
Le Jolie Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing