We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Gem in Brooklyn”
Review of Hotel Le Jolie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Jolie
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Gem in Brooklyn”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed here for a week April/May. Just as the heading says this hotel is a little gem. The surroundings do not look good but walk a little distance to Bedford Avenue, Williamsburg and you are in a vibrant young almost bohemiam area with local family run restaurants with fantastic food. The hotel itself is very comfortable and clean. Don't be put off by the flyover opposite as the hotel is triple glazed. A/C in the rooms, complimentary water in room fridge and tea and coffee available 24 hrs. Staff could not be more friendly or helpful. There are even brollies available if it rains and you havn't got one. We felt safe at all times and the subway is a mere 5 mins walk away for the centre of New York. Great place and affordable too!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinesmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell J, Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

The Hotel Le Jolie team thanks you so much for selecting our hotel for your lodging needs while in Brooklyn. We also thank you for such kind regards to our service and facilities.

It is our goal at Hotel Le Jolie to provide the very best in guest services and overall experience so we are especially proud of your comments that will be shared with our entire team.

In addition, we have since repaired the door to your guest room and thank you very much for bringing it to our attention.

We would like to invite you back to stay with us on your next visit and to make it easier for you to book. Please contact us directly at reservations@hotellejolie.com and we gladly take your reservation and reply directly with your confirmation.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the very best!

Your Hotel Le Jolie Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    326
    54
    16
    20
See reviews for
498
398
136
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Having seen the cost for Manhattan hotels which ranged from the absurdly overpriced to the dive-ish looking and merely expensive, my wife and I decided to check around for something in the an outlying borough and settled on Le Jolie in Brooklyn.

While the direct setting of the hotel, directly facing the BQE is not exactly picturesque, we always felt safe here and the neighborhood on the other side of the raised highway is very nice, quaint and while not dead, relatively quiet during the evening unlike, say Bedford. As to complaints on here regarding the noise from the highway, I find them all rather peculiar and indeed incredible, as we were located on the fourth floor directly across from the highway so that one would think that if the noise was audible from anywhere it would be there, and yet we could barely hear anything even when we stood right next to the windows. Given this, unless you are awoken by the sound of a mild breeze, I suspect you can safely ignore such complaints. Ah well, there are always a few princesses with their peas, no?

There are a number of reasonable and reasonably priced restaurants in the area, and the hotel is just blocks from the L train and it will take you Manhattan in minutes. We enjoyed stopping in the small and quiet JR and Sons pub and the next-door pizzeria for the genuine neighborhood feel of the place. In our experience, the people in the area and NYC in general can at first come across as a bit brisk, but once you get them talking they are very friendly and welcoming people who are happy to chat, offer advice, and will wave to you if they see you in the street.

The rooms and hotel in general is quite small and it was difficult for two people to pass each other in the room without one jumping on the bed. Likewise, the breakfast area on the first floor could be quite crowded in the morning. Nonetheless, the rooms were clean and up to date and the cleaning staff were friendly. Likewise, the complimentary continental breakfast was a nice touch with a very reasonable number of options and the pleasant staff member there throughout the morning always kept the area both tidy and well stocked. For us, this hotel made a great place to stay as we explored NYC, and we would certainly go back and recommend it to those looking for a comfortable and reasonably priced place to hang their hats at night that provides easy access to all NYC has to offer but is away from the rush and extreme prices of downtown Manhattan.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CPRandSEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeJolie, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
We appreciate you recommending us.Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We were glad to be a part of your New York vacation and hope to see you again on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I've stayed here several times and it's always a great experience... easy to drive to , and free parking, which means so much in NYC.... The rooms are small but nicely appointed and the staff is so friendly and helpful. There is a generous breakfast included and there are restaurants nearby in Williamsburg and the Metro to Manhatten is close by ... a 20 minute ride to 14th St. on the L train.... highly recommended.... I feel so comfortable here.

K. Anderssen

Canada

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 131karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeJolie, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you Ms.Anderssen ! We couldn't have said it better! Our repeat guest's frequent enough that they intimately know our entire hotel, staff and accommodations like their own home. We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Situated in the vibrant neighbourhood of Williamsburg, Brooklyn, this gem of a hotel provides extraordinarily good value for money. The appointment and cleanliness of the rooms; triple glazing to minimise outside noise; the friendly, accommodating and efficient staff, always prepared to go that extra mile; breakfast and other facilities; the easy access to the New York subway system and the pleasure of discovering both New York and Williamsburg from this base - one could not have asked for better. The hotel and its staff are nothing short of outstanding. I would make this my first choice on a return to New York.

Room Tip: Simply make clear to the staff what your requirements might be and they will bend over backwards to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dorothytavoulari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeJolie, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
We couldn't have said it better! Our repeat guest's frequent enough that they intimately know our entire hotel, staff and accommodations like their own home. We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest. We thank you for making Hotel Le Jolie your first choice when returning to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Hotel Le Jolie is an excellent choice. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about the neighborhood. My queen-bed room was clean and in good condition. Pluses included comfy bed, refrigerator with complimentary bottles of water, safe, flat screen TV, good shower, and fast wifi. Free wifi and breakfast make this hotel an especially good value. Hotel is close to everything in Williamsburg as well as the L train that gets you to Manhattan in less than 15 min. I look forward to staying at Hotel Le Jolie again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeJolie, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about Hotel Le Jolie. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Very cute place that moved in just in time to busy Brooklyn. I put my parents up in this hotel when they come to visit and the place is centrally located (perfect for them to wake up at the crack of dawn and walk around McCarren park and stop at one of the many brunch spots for some coffee while they wait for us to wake up).
The rooms are small, but it's NYC. It's clean, modern and well staffed. They have secure parking which was great and generally were wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeJolie, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about Hotel Le Jolie. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

A wonderful boutique hotel in Brooklyn, very close proximity to the city either by car or subway. After viewing the website I had some questions, spoke with Urszula by phone. She was very helpful in securing the room we needed for the best price. Upon arrival everyone was very helpful, polite and friendly, very welcoming. Our room was on the 7th floor and very quiet even thought the highway was close by. The room was perfect. Beautiful linens, pillows and comfortable mattress. Even had slippers for our use. Shampoo, lotion and even a sewing kit were made available in addition to complimentary water in the fridge, how nice is that?
The breakfast which is included was terrific with great coffee (starbucks), cereals, fruit, selection of pastry and bread and hard boiled eggs. An attendant always present to assist as needed.
We have found our hotel in Brooklyn and plan a return in the very near future.

Room Tip: Staff will assist. Higher is probably better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sagnettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeJolie, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful and heartfelt comments ! We use only top of the line organic products and the finest linens to provide the ultimate experience. We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
1.5 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#3 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.9 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#2 of 71 in Brooklyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.2 mi away
Franklin Guesthouse
Franklin Guesthouse
#1 of 71 in Brooklyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#10 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.4 mi away
McCarren Hotel & Pool
McCarren Hotel & Pool
#13 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Jolie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Jolie

Property: Hotel Le Jolie
Address: 235 Meeker Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11211-1244
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
#2 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#2 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Best Value Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Le Jolie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Jolie is a boutique hotel in Brooklyn featuring free, limited parking, free Wi-Fi & great rates in the Williamsburg neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Jolie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Jolie Hotel
Le Jolie Brooklyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing