We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing”
Review of The Aurora Express

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairbanks
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Aurora Express
Ranked #5 of 41 Fairbanks B&B and Inns
Copper Center, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was just great, we can't thank Sue enough for having us and giving us a wonderful time. We stayed in the caboose. This was a very unique place with a great view. Breakfast was great, can't beat the dining car for an eating location with the view. We canceled a hotel when we happened upon the Aurora Express. Sue was so gracious in letting us check in early after a long trip to the Arctic circle.

Room Tip: Taxi cab ride is $30-$40 one way from here, all though not that far out of town. Make sure they take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Natick, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Mike and Susan are outstanding hosts.

Mike made breakfast the two mornings we were there and the food was great! I enjoyed the reindeer sausage very much.

But the stories really made the experience.

Susan worked on the pipeline, one of the few women to labor outside in "Extreme Conditions", which is the title of a book about building the pipeline that mentions her experiences.

Mike is the heavy equipment operator that laid the track for the cars to sit on, moved the several cars up the ridge road to the property and did all the necessary modifications and maintenance. He has the pictures, and if you can get him to give you a few minutes from whatever he's working on he's a terrific story teller.

The accommodations are comfortable and quiet. The views from the ridge are spectacular.

This was great fun and I would recommend it to anyone; couple, family, even a single.

Room Tip: One of the smaller rooms in the divided Sleeper suited the two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldRoadWarrior60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed here our first 2 nights in Alaska. It was THE best start we could have had. The view is amazing. The rooms are clean, comfortable and unique. We stayed in the caboose and loved the upstairs viewing area. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is delicious and provides a great way to meet other travelers. It is a little ways out from town but that made it all the more scenic.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cashnault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at the Aurora Express on our Alaska vacation in August. My husband is a train buff and we loved this train and the beautiful location.. We were in the "Gold Room" which was delightfully decorated. Susan & Mike are just a joy -after a marvelous breakfast, we all danced together in celebration of our wedding anniversaries. Wish we could have spent a week there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brainerd
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed in over 15 different locations on our trip to Alaska. We will never forget this location. It was our 49th annivsary and we wanted to visit our 49th State. We could not have found a better place to stay if we had researched for a year. And it was an accidential find as we had not even planed to return to the Fairbanks Area, since we were there last year. Owners Susan and Mike are a "stitch" to be around. The history of creating this location is unbeliveable from Mikes relentness task of transporting and installing the train and Susan's talent and creativeness and unique decorating. Each car has a theme.Their breakfast in the dinnig caris something to dream of. We stayed two nights in the Caboose. I could not reccomend a better place in the Fairbaks area. Their is something for everone, unless you are not into adventure and want a fancy 5 star place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackbrainerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying for 2 nights at this unique B&B which is carved out of a real train. I always wanted to stay here but didn't get the chance earlier as they are only open from May - Sep. The rooms are similar to a cabin in a train and are clean, well decorated and immaculately maintained. Mike & Susan are very welcoming guests to say the least. Susan always prepares a hearty breakfast in the morning before one gets ready for the day. The breakfast area is also an interesting place similar to the dining lounge in a train. I had to leave early on one of the days to catch a flight and Susan made sure that I was able to have breakfast before my departure. On one of the days, all the guests (including me) turned out to be of Indian origin and then Susan offered to cook Indian curry for breakfast. This was one of the nicest & friendly gestures I have ever seen from any of my hosts. I was unable to attend breakfast during the normal hours on that day due to my early flight, but I look forward to try out some Indian food with Mike & Susan during my future Alaska trips. Thank you Susan for your warmth and hospitality. I wish my extended family was here with me; they would have loved this place wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrasunChoudhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I won't go into details about the train cars. You know from the web and other reviews that it is a unique B&B in a train, not a house. But it is more than just a novelty, although it is surely that. The setting, although a bit off the beaten track, is beautiful. The cars are located on a hillside overlooking the river and Fairbanks below. Everything is colorful and very well kept. The host gave us a tour of all the cars and related the history when we "checked in." He is obviously very proud of the place as well he should be. The story and photos of how they got the train cars from Denali to Fairbanks and down their steeply curved hill is amazing. The individually decorated sleeping cars are fanciful, but clean, comfortable and modernized. We had a surprisingly quiet night's sleep. Breakfast in the dining car was so much fun. The hostess loves to "hold court" and regale visitors with stories about the cars and past patrons. We ended a month-long vacation in Alaska at the Aurora Express (not sure what Forget-Me-Not Lodge is) and loved every minute of it. I probably took more pictures there than at any B&B where we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laborman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
5.7 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
372 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,138 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks
23.9 mi away
Mount Aurora Lodge
Mount Aurora Lodge
#6 of 24 in Fairbanks
96 reviews
8.2 mi away
Alaska Heritage House
Alaska Heritage House
#1 of 41 in Fairbanks
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aurora Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aurora Express

Property: The Aurora Express
Address: 1550 Chena Ridge Rd, P.O. Box 80128, Fairbanks, AK 99709-2609 (Formerly Forget-Me-Not Lodge)
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurora Express is a bed and breakfast nestled amongst towering spruce in the western hills of Fairbanks, Alaska. Overlooking the mighty Tanana River and the Alaska Range, this unique property has a panoramic view of the city and its surroundings. Sleep in authenic Alaska Railroad trains that have been renovated to reflect the gold rush era of the north. Join hosts Susan and Michael Wilson for Copper River smoked salmon, wild alaskan blueberry jam, fresh fruit, hot coffee and eggs every morning while you hear their stories about life in territorial Alaska and working the pipeline. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Forget-Me-Not Lodge And The Aurora Express Hotel Fairbanks
The Aurora Express Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing