We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and Great Beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Fraser, Colorado
Level Contributor
172 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great location and Great Beds”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I don't stay at Best Western's very often but I read the good reviews and got a good price so we stayed here. It was a friendly check in and the hotel is easy to find. It's very clean and has a seating area and a small area for the continental breakfast in the mornings with a few tables and chairs. The pool was closed and there was a fitness room. This hotel is close to a trail system too and it's a short walk to the Pioneer Park. I loved the location and walking on the trails in the evening.
Our room was spotless and it felt newer than most hotels. There was one weird thing with our room- there was a constant ticking noise coming from behind the headboard or ceiling. We couldn't figure it out and it was annoying. However by turning on the TV and sleeping with our sound machine it helped tune it out. The beds were super comfy with great pillows too. It's important because it's hard to sleep in Fairbanks when the sun doesn't set until close to midnight. They have 3 sets of curtains in each room though so you can block the sun if you want to.
I liked the Best Western and loved the location of the hotel. I wasn't impressed with Fairbanks though and if I had it to do over again I would have spent more time in Denali or Talkeetna. There wasn't much to do here and it was more of town. The downtown area wasn't interesting at all and it seemed rundown. We did drive to the the Chena Hot Springs area to tour the Ice Museum. Don't miss the Hoo Doo Brewery- that may have been the highlight of Fairbanks for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bcogswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    142
    51
    16
    8
See reviews for
124
137
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a good choice if you are staying in Fairbanks. Its clean and modern and in a nice quiet area. We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. The double bedded room was comfy and had all we needed. Lots of choice for breakfast although the breakfast room can get very busy but there are tables and comfy chairs in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry and Nicol... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Halfway between the airport and downtown, an easy walk to Pioneer Park and close to the university. No parking hassles as with the downtown hotels and also much quieter. Great staff and rooms, with one of the best free breakfasts I've seen.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Enjoyed our stay, nice convenient location that is easy to get to and out of. The rooms/lobby were kept very clean. This hotel has been remodeled, the pool was not open though. There were good breakfast choices, scrambled eggs, waffles, gravy, biscuits, cereal, muffins, etc. Would like to have seen more fruit. Staff was extremely nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night after flying in and before heading down to Denali. Best part about staying here is taxi cabs are complimentary to/from the airport/railroad. Complimentary breakfast was decent. Location is not near anything... Though only a 5 min ride to the rail road. Staff is very nice and clean rooms. The showers need a liner so the water doesn't go everywhere in the bathroom. Overall ok, just don't expect much from Fairbanks!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Spent 5 days in July, perfect location we were so close to places on our list, Discover Cruise, Dredge 8, North Pole, Aurora ice museum, Pioneer Park-excellent salmon bake, Denali National Park was a 2 hr drive but nice. Make sure to try some of the local eating places for your different meats, the chain restaurants do not serve buffalo, reindeer or elk. You will get Reindeer sausage for breakfast at the hotel (delicious). We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and Alaska.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 455rickn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel was really inconsistent at meeting expectations. The front desk staff was awesome, especially Kia. The breakfast server was overwhelmed and couldn't keep up with demand, but there wasn't enough seating anyway. Housekeeping was horrible. During our stay, the sink was not cleaned between the time we checked in and the time we left 3 nights later. She left dirty breakfast dishes (because there was no place to sit) on the bedroom counter next to the TV when she "cleaned" our room. Other negatives are the pool which is closed indefinitely, and the horrible selection of TV channels. They claim to have 36 channels, however 8 of the 36 were unavailable from Dish for our entire 3-night stay (this includes ABC, NBC and CBS). Once the weather warmed up, we were also unable to keep the room adequately cool. We weren't able to determine whether the AC didn't work properly or not at all. On the plus side, the front desk staff were all GREAT. The location is good, and you couldn't ask for a place that was any quieter, while still being reasonably close to everything in town. The beds were comfortable, and the room was good-sized. I do recommend asking for a room away from the elevator, because we kept hearing occasional thumping day and night that I finally figured out was most likely related to the elevator mechanism (this was the only contradiction to the previous "quiet" statement).

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators. Random thumping noises occur.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
2.4 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
1.4 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Address: 1908 Chena Landing Loop, Fairbanks, AK 99701-2704 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether guests are here for an event at Pioneer Park, Growden Memorial Park or The Carlson Center , our Fairbanks hotel is conveniently located close to all. Newly remodeled and nestled in a quiet wooded area, within the Fairbanks city limits guests at our Fairbanks hotel can easily get away from it all. Enjoy splendid, spacious rooms designed with comfort in mind. Luxury bedding is featured in each room, and our friendly staff members are committed to making guests as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Best Western, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Fairbanks
Fairbanks Comfort Inn
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing