We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quiet stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Of the two Best Western in Fairbanks this is our "go to" place for relaxation. We live in a dry cabin and go here every three months or so to enjoy indoor amenities. Its location is ideal for us, tucked back in the woods next to the river. It's quiet and very relaxing, and close to one of Fairbanks' chief tourist destinations, Pioneer Park.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 407 of 478 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

At $60 a night, this place is excellent value. It's located in the woods yet close to major roadways and was the perfect location for visiting the Ice Art Championship.

We were in a double queen handicap room and found the room to be cramped. The bathroom was larger and had 7 handle bars (which is why we think it was a handicap room). The mirror was a little low for my husband. The room had good temperature control. The beds were soft but provided decent support. The linens were hotel standard. The TV worked well.

The wifi worked well even with a ton of kids staying at the hotel.

This was a family friendly hotel during our stay… so much so that the pool and fitness center were always full so we could not use them during our stay. There were only 4 pieces of equipment in the small fitness center.

The room was generally clean, but could use a good dusting of the coffee machine, bedroom side table, and light fixtures. The shower head did not work well and we had to fix it twice (it kept slipping down). It was also difficult to adjust for a very adjustable shower head. The water was also difficult to adjust, it was either too hot or just a little too cold. This hotel does not use the disposable shampoo/conditioner and soap bottles! :)

Most of the kids were good, but parents still let there children scream in the hotel hallways late at night and early in the morning. The loud heater noises (from the room above us I think) was really annoying at night. It was probably 50 decibels and was off and on during our stay.

Our check in experience was less than positive. There were two staff members, a man and a young women, both were typing when I approached to check in… they both scowled at me. The man dismissed me as beneath him and the women snarled "Can I help you?" after a couple moments of me trying to figure out if they were going to talk to me at all. Gosh, I just wanted to check in. She then went through the motions and same verbiage I'm sure she has said many times before in the quietest voice she could possible use and still be somewhat audible in the busy lobby. Not friendly whatsoever… in fact, they were quite unpleasant and I wanted to leave, but the hotels in Fairbanks were full that weekend. A long winter in Fairbanks I guess... We talked to the staff a couple other times and they were civil at best. At least the woman at check out was nice and normal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishB513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Love the newly redecorated accommodations of the Best Western Plus. We enjoyed the pool, and "extras" made available. I.E. individual plug in for each vehicle. Breakfast each morning was a wonderful feast, with choices of hot waffles, eggs, sausage, toast, great fruit items, and cereals.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while in Fairbanks. Exceptional value - our room was spacious and modern. We also had a room with a fireplace which was certainly nice during our cold visit. Location was nice - set back away from the street yet it was on a main road so we were able to get to our site seeing activities quickly. The only negative was that the front desk was not great at recommending activities, restaurants, directions, etc. so come with a plan.

Room Tip: Fireplace room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Updated decor, clean, quiet, good free hot breakfast and very well priced. Not really within walking distance of Pioneer Park, or anywhere else for that matter. (I don't think many hotels in Fairbanks are within walking distance of restaurants or anything...the town is spread out, other than downtown, which has few lodgings.) They offered to upgrade us to a king with fireplace upon arrival. Cool! We'd stay there again. Lots of young kids and teens there. Small pool was busy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Went to Fairbanks to see the Ice Festival. This Best Western is in an excellent location - within a half mile of the ice park. Plus, easy access to restaurants and stores. The room was very nice and comfortable. And the hot breakfast provided most foods for any type breakfast - waffles, eggs, toast, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Toonert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Clean large room with 2 queen beds. Could use more wattage in the lamps, as it was quite dark, especially in the bathroom. The breakfast service was very slow, i.e., items would continually run out, and refill would take forever.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
2.4 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,225 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
400 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#14 of 23 in Fairbanks
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn

Address: 1908 Chena Landing Loop, Fairbanks, AK 99701-2704 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range: $73 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether guests are here for an event at Pioneer Park, Growden Memorial Park or The Carlson Center , our Fairbanks hotel is conveniently located close to all. Newly remodeled and nestled in a quiet wooded area, within the Fairbanks city limits guests at our Fairbanks hotel can easily get away from it all. Enjoy splendid, spacious rooms designed with comfort in mind. Luxury bedding is featured in each room, and our friendly staff members are committed to making guests as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Fairbanks
Fairbanks Comfort Inn
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing