We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy & Sunny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Our room was a suite with two arm chairs in front of the TV, a wet bar, refrigerator and table with chairs. Our king size bed was very comfortable. The toilets are very noisy - you can hear your neighbors flush. The drapes let in lots of light. The dining room was crowded at the buffet breakfast, but the wait wasn't long. The buffet breakfast was delicious and a little pricy, but all food in Alaska is pricy. The servers were prompt. The tour desk was very helpful - they steered us to a delightful tour of Fairbanks in 15 person vans. The lobby gets very crowded when groups are waiting for their busses. The hotel is several blocks from downtown and other restaurants.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

480 - 486 of 825 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was one of the nicest Westmarks we had in the Holland America land-Cruise itinerary. The whole place is modern, well kept, and clean. Since for most, it is but a one or two night layover it serves its purpose well. Our experience was only positive. Our meals were among the best of the trip in a lovely restaurant and bar. The lobby is usually very busy with groups coming and going. It is located on the fringe of downtown but it is an easy walk to get there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimo6229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Our group came to Fairbanks for an annual face-to-face meeting and we stayed in this hotel. The group meeting rooms are satisfactory, but it clearly is not the focus of this hotel. Tour busses and groups are coming and going 24 hours per day, thus the lobby is always crowded. The rooms are clean and well tended. However the wifi is very slow.

We were not staying in this hotel as part of a cruise, yet the cruise desk was very accommodating if we wanted to make some reservations for what free time we had.

The restaurant was slammed in the morning. Even though they only served breakfast buffet, the service was erratic. One morning it was excellent, but the following would be slow.

This hotel was nice, but probably not a good choice for a business traveler. Not much is available close by, but not that far of a walk. This hotel definitely is tailored to service the cruise and tour groups. Since there are a lot of people coming and going, noise is a bit of an issue.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Flowerprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Rooms are good, good sound level. Okay restaurant, tour desk was horrible. One of the ladies was out and out rude with just simple questions. When you caught a tour, it was bedlam. They didn't like my suggestion that they should copy Disneyland que system.
Almost no way of knowing which bus to get on. Had to go and check with each drivers manifest. Really dumb. Front desk not much better, kept telling us to go to tour desk for our questions. They didn't even greet us when we arrived, had to find the tour desk to get welcome packets and room keys.

Room Tip: Unless you are on a tour, chose a different hotel. Not close to anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jonell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I cringe every time I have to stay here. No flat panel televisions, and thus no HD television programming. All the above would be forgivable if the WI-FI bandwidth was good enough to stream video to my iPad. It is not. Speed test shows download speed at .3MG, barely enough to download photos say nothing of video. Worst hotel I stay at for WI-FI by far. Other than that, it is nice enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trygve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel (as part of Holland America land tour) 3 years ago. The rooms have become very dark, dingy, moldy smelling and are desperately in need of an update. We paid alot of money for this cruise/tour. I understand the hotels are not "fancy" but that does not mean they should be smelly and dingy. We were very glad to leave, after 2 nights. The front desk was helpful and friendly but did not offer to move us when we complained of the mold/mildew smell in the room. Perhaps they all smell like that??? The breakfast buffet is over priced (even for Alaska). Service was deplorable. We had to ask 2 x for coffee refills and juice. Holland America needs to address the level of service at this hotel. We will never book a land tour that stops in Fairbanks again, unless we have another hotel option.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nippon703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We were in the North tower building and the suite was very spacious and comfortable. Conveniently located in Downtown Fairbanks with easy access to the highways in Fairbanks.

The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. A great place to stay if you want to walk to places in Downtown Fairbanks.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank vishyaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.2 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#14 of 23 in Fairbanks
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,225 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 813 Noble St, Fairbanks, AK 99701-4977
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range: $79 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westmark Fairbanks Hotel & Conference Center is rising to new heights in Fairbanks and sets the standard for elegance, style and service in the Golden Heart City. With a convenient downtown location, the Westmark Fairbanks is prepared to meet your every need, whether business or leisure. Your hospitality needs are served with 400 guest rooms and more than 17,000 square feet of meeting space. Junior, executive and two room suites are available. Wi-Fi internet connection is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel Fairbanks
Westmark Hotel Fairbanks
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel And Conference Center Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing