We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Reviewed June 4, 2014

As stated in other reviews this is a hotel owned by Holland America and we stayed here as part of a cruise tour. I guess we were lucky and received a room in the north tower. I found the room to spacious and clean. Basically a typical hotel room. I really can not speak to the staff as we received our keys from our tour operator and went straight to the room.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie M, Manager at Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Tracey,

Thank you for taking some time to review our hotel. I hope you enjoyed your Holland America Cruise Tour!

I think you would have been happy in the North or South Tower. :-)

I guess I can see how a few years ago North Tower guests found themselves “lucky.” The rooms there are all new as the North Tower was built recently. This year was an exciting one for us though. This season was the first with an entirely renovated South Tower. Our guests seem to be happy in all different room categories, North and South alike.

It sounds like you weren’t at our place for too long. I am sure if you had been here for a bit longer you would’ve found the staff to be very helpful and pleasant! We hope if you return to Fairbanks again you will stay with us!

Take Care,

Christie Mihalache
Front Desk Manager
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel & Conference Center
813 Noble St. Fairbanks, AK 99701
907-456-7722

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

527 - 533 of 847 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

very well located - one of the best hotels or/and network hotels in the city
rooms, service, food - very good
replica of the biggest king salmon ever caught - 126 pounds - huge! hanging on a wall... :)

Room Tip: Come for dog mushing on Yukon Quest :) come for salmon fishing :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogdan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie M, Manager at Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Bogdan,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property!

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have you back someday.

Take Care,

Christie Mihalache
Front Desk Manager
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel & Conference Center
813 Noble St. Fairbanks, AK 99701
907-456-7722

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed here as part of a Holland America cruise tour, had a great room that was very clean and comfortable. The people we dealt with were all helpful and friendly. We didn't eat in the restaurant but there are quite a few places nearby. This is another Holland America owned hotel and they probably cater to cruise guests mostly and they took good care of us. The lobby is large with quite a bit of seating for the multitude of people awaiting buses. It was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spot1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie M, Manager at Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for your review! We’re glad you had a nice stay and enjoyed your first trip to Fairbanks :-)

Take Care,

Christie Mihalache
Front Desk Manager
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel & Conference Center
813 Noble St.
Fairbanks AK, 99701
907-456-7722

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My wife and I stayed at 3 Westmark hotels - this hotel, the Westmark Inn in Dawson City, and the McKinley Chalet in Denali - as part of a Holland America tour. The housekeeping at all 3 hotels was lacking to what one might anticipate at a 3-4 star hotel and appeared to reflect an attitude that once you are hooked, we've got you!

This hotel is located a little away from the downtown area but is still within reasonable walking distance. The town itself has little to attract and if it wasn't for the tours arranged by Holland America (Dredge 8, and Paddle Steamer tours, both of which were very good) there would be no reason to come here.

Our hotel room was excellent - in fact we were upgraded to the Sourdough Suite from a standard queen bed room. The room had all the features one might expect from a suite, including complimentary wifi. Thank you for that Mr Holland America! However, after arriving back at our room at 6.30pm after two long consecutive tours we were dismayed to find our room had not been serviced. We rang the front desk, and someone was sent around. But because we were tired we just asked them to clean the bins and replenish the tea/coffee supplies. Poor service Mr Holland America! And then to cap it off, someone knocked on our door at 5.30am next morning to pick up our bags. But in actual fact we had a free day and had been intending to catch up on some sleep. It seems there was a room mix-up - not good Mr Holland America!

Westmark Hotels cater for Holland America tour groups (mainly elderly people) so if you are an independent traveler you should consider this when considering a hotel in Fairbanks.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussie_bmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie M, Manager at Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate all feedback, positive and negative. I am very sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. Our hotel provides full housekeeping service every day to all of our guestrooms, unless otherwise requested.
After reading your review it sounds like there was a mistake made and your room was somehow missed. This is a rare occurrence, however, that does not excuse it happening during your stay with us. I am glad you allowed us to send housekeeping to your room when you returned to try to make up for it.
I guess at this point I can only apologize, and thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. We can use your feedback to better our processes for the future.

Thank you again. We hope the rest of your tour was great and you made it home safely.

Sincerely,

Christie Mihalache
Front Desk Manager
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel & Conference Center
813 Noble St.
Fairbanks AK, 99701
907-456-7722

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We're visiting Alaska with Holland American cruise, we're staying here with our tour! It's very friendly staff, clean and fresh food every day! We love it! We're very satisfied with this hotel and ours 12 days travel with them!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie M, Manager at Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Hi Maria,

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and your Holland America cruise tour! Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Take care and we hope to have you as our guest again someday!

Thanks Again,

Christie Mihalache
Front Desk Manager
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel & Conference Center
813 Noble St.
Fairbanks AK, 99701
907-456-7722

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I have stayed in most of the Westmark hotels, and this property is probably the flagship. You would not be wrong to describe it as upscale. Pleasant staff, a couple of good restaurants (when I couldn't get a grapefruit juice with breakfast, my waitress suggested a cranberry/orange juice blend - it was actually very good!), big comfortable rooms with good views, conveniently located. Only drawback is property covers a large enough area that it is a hike to some of the rooms.

Room Tip: A room facing north or west captures the midnight sun setting behind the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdsexton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie M, Manager at Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! It is really great to read positive feedback from a happy guest. I hope we see you again in the near future!

Mention your Tripadvisor review next time you book with us, we'd like to do something nice for you!

Take Care,

Christie Mihalache
Front Desk Manager
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel & Conference Center
813 Noble St.
Fairbanks AK, 99701
907-456-7722

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel was much better than we expected. The room was spacious, clean, and quiet. Couldn't ask for much more, and the restaurant was also very good. It was also centrally located to other restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: Room #160 was a suite and was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie M, Manager at Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thank you for your review!

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are close to quite a few other restaurants, so thank you for choosing ours. You made a very wise decision, as our restaurant is the best in town. :-)

Room 160 is a very nice suite. It was just renovated this past winter along with several other rooms, all of which are very nice.

We hope to welcome you back to Alaska one day! Thanks again for taking the time to review us.

Christie Mihalache
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel & Conference Center
813 Noble St.
Fairbanks AK, 99701
907-456-7722

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
3 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 24 in Fairbanks
416 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#14 of 24 in Fairbanks
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
4 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Fairbanks
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 813 Noble St, Fairbanks, AK 99701-4977
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range: $79 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westmark Fairbanks Hotel & Conference Center is rising to new heights in Fairbanks and sets the standard for elegance, style and service in the Golden Heart City. With a convenient downtown location, the Westmark Fairbanks is prepared to meet your every need, whether business or leisure. Your hospitality needs are served with 400 guest rooms and more than 17,000 square feet of meeting space. Junior, executive and two room suites are available. Wi-Fi internet connection is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel Fairbanks
Westmark Hotel Fairbanks
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel And Conference Center Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing