We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel, nothing spectacular” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Channahon, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average hotel, nothing spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2008

This hotel was adequate for the price. The front lobby staff was courteous and helpful. The restaurant and food was exceptional. The rooms were outdated and utilitarian. Also, the wireless internet did not work in our room. Nothing spectacular, but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fly737-200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    307
    174
    61
    30
See reviews for
128
334
49
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cairns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2008

We booked into a room in the South Tower,on arrival we were greeted by a lady who was very friendly. As we arrived a few hours before check in time, she said she would see to it our room was ready in the hour. She offered to hold our bags in a secure room so we could walk around town.Now the good part ends!On return to the hotel we were greeted by another young lady.We seemed to be, an annoyance to her.She gave us our room key,unlocked the secure room and to our surprise told us to load our own bags onto a trolley. After we collected our bags she asked us if we had ever been to the hotel.We told her we hadn't and assumed she would show us to our room,big mistake on our part.Her parting comment of "I don't know if there's an elevator" left us amazed.Luckily we met someone who told to take the elevator up to the 2nd floor.Our "Non smoking" room left us totally disgusted with the lack of house keeping.The bath had mold all over it,the shower head was old and in poor condition & there were peanut shells on the floor. As easy going people,we conceded that as we had arrived early, we didn’t want to make a fuss, we thought the next day the room would be cleaned.But after two nights the room was still the same.We are non smokers so were totally sickened by the smell of stale cigarettes and could stand it no longer.We decided to cancel the of our stay. The rudeness of that one staff member plus the unhygienic room is enough to ensure that this is a place we would Not revisit

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Disliked — The bad house keeping
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fairbanks hotels

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

Stayed 3 nights, Sep 19-21, 2008. Stayed in North Tower. Booked thru Expedia at $80 per night. I agree with other posts, the evening staff are much nicer and friendlier than the day time staff. Did not feel at all welcome at the hotel restaurant. I guess since it was end of the season the restaurant was not open all of the time. They stopped serving breakfast at 9AM. The little Pub/Restaurant called ISIS across the street was reasonable and had good clam chowder. The room was typical for a 3-4 star hotel. Very clean and well maintained. The housekeeping staff was friendly and efficient. Nice view from the 8th floor. Relatively quiet but could hear toilets flushing in adjacent rooms and doors slamming in the hallway. I was pleasantly surprised that the shuttle was available to pick us up at the airport at 1:00AM.

  • Liked — Location and Cost
  • Disliked — Restaurant closed early for breakfast.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stevemustangred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

Part of Holland America tour
The room in South Tower was clean but cramped. Cleaning staff very friendly.
Desk staff during the day a waste of time. The night staff were very helpful.
Restaurant was good. Waitress (Shelly) was excellent.
September end of tour extra day was $70.00. Not bad. Sophie Station wanted $123.
Located close to Central Bus terminal $2 for senior day pass. Good value and good system for getting around Fairbanks.
I would recommend as a clean place to stay but don't expect more.

  • Liked — Close to bus line...good restaurant wit staff....evening desk staff
  • Disliked — Front desk smart mouth lazy day staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rudyfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
257 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2008

We stayed here one night on the way to valdez. I thought it would be nice since its affiliated with holland america. We got put in the back and the rooms were SO outdated. It was like the whole town. There is nothing to do here but go to the movies. I didnt feel safe in the parking lot where our room was. No breakfast included. The restaurant on the premises was so Expensive. After we got to town the springhill suites looked much more promising. The carpet was threadbare. I guess the rooms in the front are more modern. Ours in the back were not. The highlight was the free internet in the business center to the left of the check in desk.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank ackart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2008

Four of us rented two rooms at the Westmark in Fairbanks Alaska through a travel agent and Holland America Line which owns this hotel. This was our first night in Alaska and the first experience with Holland America Line. The rooms were dirty, dusty, and very dated. There is duct tape holding the floor molding together. I left a note for the manager and housekeeping staff stating the rugs needed to be vacummed, the furniture dusted and the "O" ring which had fallen out of the commode needed to be removed before our shore excursions that day. Also, the bathroom walls were dirty. I don't even want to think about what was smeared on them. Nothing happened. The room was as dirty as when we arrived. I, then, contacted the manager who had a housekeeper finally clean the room. As I told the manager, I have never stayed in a hotel of this quality and that they should not be renting rooms to the public. Be aware, do not book the Westmark in Fairbanks Alaska

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — dirty, dusty and dated
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskanVisi2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
198 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2008

Stayed two nights as part of Holland American Lines (HAL) tour. Hotel was adequate, rooms were smallish and hotel was overwhelmed with several tour groups. This hotel is the HAL center in Fairbanks and as such seemed to be dominated by tours - I was told HAL owned Westmark hotels. Staff was helpful, nice feature was that the hotel gift shop sold "breakfast food" - muffins, cereal, milk, fruit, etc - so one did not have to wait for a table in the restuarant and pay for a full breakfast. Nice feature. If traveling alone (not in a tour) I would avoid this hotel during the tour season - otherwise I would stay here again.

  • Liked — ability to buy breakfast food in lobby
  • Disliked — Tour crowds
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
4.0 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Park Inn
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 813 Noble Street, Fairbanks, AK 99701-4977
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westmark Fairbanks Hotel & Conference Center is rising to new heights in Fairbanks and sets the standard for elegance, style and service in the Golden Heart City. With a convenient downtown location, the Westmark Fairbanks is prepared to meet your every need, whether business or leisure. Your hospitality needs are served with 400 guest rooms and more than 17,000 square feet of meeting space. Junior, executive and two room suites are available. Wi-Fi internet connection is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel Fairbanks
Westmark Hotel Fairbanks
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel And Conference Center Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing