We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise in Fairbanks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Fairbanks is not noted as a hotel paradise, but the newly-renovated Westmark aims to please. The rooms (especially the "suites") are very spacious and the price is definitely right. Good service, a pleasant restaurant, good complementary breakfast, free wi-fi, cable TV and ample parking. Some reviews claim the walls are "paper thin," but no more so than a Mariott or Hampton Inn or other comparable hostelry. We've been to Fairbanks many, many times and this is the best place to stay.
Warning-- it is used by Holland America and other cruise lines in summer so space can be tight. If you want ample room choice, go in January-February when it can be -30 below.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite in the 8-story tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johncgore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 833 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed for two nights this weekend to see the northern lights. The location is great, within walking distance to tons of restaurants. The front desk and restaurant staff were all very friendly. The rooms were clean, quiet, and spacious. And the parking was free (maybe it is at all Fairbanks hotels? It was a plus to this Seattleite)! The free breakfast left something to be desired, but which one doesn't? I liked that they had it in the restaurant, so you could order more from the restaurant menu if the continental fare didn't satisfy.

I only have a few complaints about this place: 1) there was a weird smell in the hallway of our floor the entire weekend. Like burnt maple + cigarettes. 2) The bed (king) was TERRIBLE. I had the worst back pain by the second morning. They only give you three pillows on the king, so you may want to request more. 3) The towels are like sandpaper.

For $89/night, none of those gripes can take off more than one combined star. I wouldn't stay here again because of the beds, but my brother and sister enjoyed their sleep in the double queen room. Maybe I just got a bad one.

Room Tip: King bed was uncomfortable, but was told queens were better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRoseG87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Close to the heart of Fairbanks, and easy to get to. Great front desk service. There are electrical poles for your rental car if you are going in the winter and need to keep the engine block heated. There are shampoo, conditioner, and body gel in the shower/tub combo area. The beds are comfortable, and the rooms are not tiny. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the best view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fionaruidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed here for three nights prior to joining up with a HAL land tour and cruise. We had a great room ! It was extremely large & quite comfortable for the two of us. We were told that it had recently been remodeled and it appeared to have once been two rooms combined into one large suite-like room. We ate in both the dining room and the bar restaurant and had very good food on all occasions; service was good. No complaints.
The front desk personnel were super ! ! They were always smiling and courteous and were very forthcoming with answers to our "tourist" questions. The location is walking distance to the downtown area .... maybe 5-7 blocks ? We did a lot of walking in the immediate neighborhood and was fascinated with many of the older cabin-like homes.
The Gift Shop had very reasonable prices and they also had a fresh coffee bar if you didn't want to go to the restaurant just for coffee. Convenient.

The lobby does get busy with the tour groups but that's just how it is when you travel to locations the cruise ships frequent.

Our only complaint would be the Wi-Fi: it is only available in the newer tower in the rooms and we were in the older tower; so we had to go to the hotel lobby if we wanted to access the internet.

We would definitely stay here again ! ! As our very first Alaskan experience, this hotel was a great beginning to a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor and we had NO view except for the rooftop of the lobby area and the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hawkinlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The hotel is large and rooms clean but of average size. The restaurant/bar had good food and drinks, but the service was slow. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. The walls were paper thin and my room was by the vending machine and ice maker—very noisy. My only complaint was the hotel lost electricity and there was no emergency lighting. When we left in the morning, we had to go down the stairs that were only lit by green glow sticks on the landings. Because of this safety hazard, no sure I would go back.

Room Tip: Stay away from the stairs, elevators, and vending/ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hotel is huge and super clean. There is a great little bar with super slow service. The rooms are average hotel size... ours had a fun vintage tv, but our friends had a flat screen. They must be in the process of upgrading! Some of the staff was super friendly, but everyone was very low key and laid back.

The only complaint I have is that there is absolutely NO sound proofing in between the rooms. We could hear out neighbors talking like they were in our room. :(

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room! Awesome view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiri_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Was expecting kind of rustic dumpy place being on the edge of civilization. Instead the opposite. Very nice place with excellent food and service. Banquet staff was great and helped me with my meeting setup. Very presentable people at the desk who spoke clear English. Bed was comfy and room amenities were adequate.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Captainsmegma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
3.0 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#15 of 23 in Fairbanks
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
4.0 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,235 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 813 Noble St, Fairbanks, AK 99701-4977
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range: $73 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westmark Fairbanks Hotel & Conference Center is rising to new heights in Fairbanks and sets the standard for elegance, style and service in the Golden Heart City. With a convenient downtown location, the Westmark Fairbanks is prepared to meet your every need, whether business or leisure. Your hospitality needs are served with 400 guest rooms and more than 17,000 square feet of meeting space. Junior, executive and two room suites are available. Wi-Fi internet connection is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel Fairbanks
Westmark Hotel Fairbanks
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel And Conference Center Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing