We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not disturb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed up late nightly watching the northern lights so would sleep in a bit in the mornings. Tuesday March 12th house keeping knocked on the door starting at 8 am. 3 times we said not now. We then put up the do not disturb sign on our door from 9-11 ish. We took it off when we left the room and saw house keeping on the floor. We returned to our room after 2 am after watching the northern lights again. When we returned our room wasn't touched! I called to the front desk and they said oh if you put up the sign do not disturb they write off your room and don't clean it. She also said house keeping works till about 4 pm. I asked for more towels and at that hour they came up with towels but no washcloths. They refused to admit it was a poor policy and never did they even hinted at an apology. They stated it was my fault for using the sign. I've stayed in many hotels and never have seen this policy. I feel I was treated poorly by the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Djlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 606 of 825 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Westmark is located "downtown" Fairbanks and conveniently located. I thought it was a historical Fairbanks hotel and thus had more "character" than others in town, but this was not the case. I doubt it's the "best hotel in Fairbanks." It was busy with tons of random groups of people hanging out in the lobby, even at 4am when I was checking out. The room was clean, but bed was uncomfortable and blankets were old and dated. The staff were polite, but not friendly. When I called the Front Desk to ask a question. they were polite, but seemed to be wondering why I was calling them. Kind of weird. I stayed for three nights and although it wasn't entirely bad, I wouldn't stay here again. I'd rather pay a little more money for a more comfortable bed and updated decor.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel was clean .. Staff was friendly ... but no Refig or microwave in room ... We had a pet room, but no place to walk the dogs except the parking lot .. it is right on one of the main roads so there is alot of traffic and the city bus line comes threw the parking lot

Room Tip: get a room on one of the higher floors to cut down on the traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I chose the Westmark Fairbanks because advertizements made it sound like the prefect place to stay during my trip. I was terribly disappointed. First, the Westmark does not offer an airport shuttle while many other local hotels do -- it's pointed out that one can take a cab or get off at the bus terminal and walk several blocks to the hotel. Second, the Westmark is terribly noisy -- both nights I was continuously awakened by doors slamming, running and shouting in the hall, barking dogs, young kids squealing, and commotions in the parking area. (Security did not patrol and only responded when I called the front desk to complain.) Third, the residence area carpets are worn and the elevator areas unkempt. Forth, the Westmark's Red Lantern is terribly pricey and some items are not available even though they remain on the menu. Fifth, the Westmark offers free wireless internet -- but only if you sit in the hallway outside the elevators or use the hotel's computer stations.
Now for the good parts. First, the Westmark has a lovely spacious lobby and conference area. Second, the front desk staff were friendly and efficient. Third, the rooms are adequate. Forth, the Westmark offers a wonderful continental breakfast.
All in all, I'd suggest skipping the glitz and opting for a hotel with more substance.

Room Tip: The hotel is "L" shaped and the parking area sits in the middle of that "L". Sou...
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank BusinessTraveler998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Westmark is probably the nicest hotel in Fairbanks, at least right in the city itself. The hotel is very clean and the staff is fairly nice. Service in Alaska is def. not what it is in the lower 48..... there is a "not anywhere else to go" attitude when going to hotels up here, but they are really nice here. The rooms are very comfortable and they offer free wifi (which is horribly slow). TV's are outdated (not flat screen etc). I believe that the hotel has been recently renovated, and it shows. The rooms are very clean and updated. The beds comfortable and the bathrooms are gorgeous. Make sure to ask for a higher floor though.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay on the 2nd floor. Many of the rooms only have a view of the awning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

While volunteering for the Iron Dog Finish Line, we stayed in the Westmark for great rates, clean rooms and professionally trained staff. We were pleasantly surprised by CHEF TIM's dishes at the hotel's restaurant, the Red Lantern. WOW. Get the Reindeer Meatloaf or the Chicken Pot Pie. No need to brave the -20 temps to go out for dinner. Our group with AKMISSIONS dot com booked this place for the volunteers, and we had a blast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 377BrendaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Just had one night here on arrival from the airport. The place does have a little dated feel but rooms are big and even had a coffee maker. Breakfast nothing amazing but pretty good. Staff were really helpful and central location. And the price was incredible! Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oleadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.2 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#14 of 23 in Fairbanks
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,224 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 813 Noble St, Fairbanks, AK 99701-4977
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range: $79 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westmark Fairbanks Hotel & Conference Center is rising to new heights in Fairbanks and sets the standard for elegance, style and service in the Golden Heart City. With a convenient downtown location, the Westmark Fairbanks is prepared to meet your every need, whether business or leisure. Your hospitality needs are served with 400 guest rooms and more than 17,000 square feet of meeting space. Junior, executive and two room suites are available. Wi-Fi internet connection is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel Fairbanks
Westmark Hotel Fairbanks
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel And Conference Center Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing