We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Stay away......”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

The area was our room was located was very dated and just felt like a Days Inn. I had read previous reviews so had requested a room in the North Tower but this request was not honored. I certainly would not stay here.......not sure of what the alternatives are in Fairbanks but they have to be better.....Also poor location!!!

Room Tip: Ask for North Tower as heard it was better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funcruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    308
    175
    61
    30
See reviews for
128
334
49
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel is clean, though old, but restaurant is servicable- but slow. All the staff was excellent- so very helpful and nice. It is run for tours, especially buses, so breakfast can be in and out. Don't expect top cuisine but it was OK. Room was older, but again, it was clean and large. Thick curtains for closing out the summer night sun(yes you DO have to think of light at 11:30PM for us lower state people). What we loved was walking right out the door, VERY SAFE- down Noble street a couple of short blocks passing by - but BE SURE to stop in at the CRAFT MART- on 5th AVe. It has real carved cultural Alaskan made product. You can see the carving tools used, also more authentic Alaskan items. Walk until you get to 3rd Ave turn left and start shopping. 1st Ave was our favorite area downtown where we saw Yukon Quest dog sled building(met the sled dogs) near Golden Heart Plaza, and the Morris Cultural Center(small but can get map and lots of info on tours, etc). Lovely Chena riverwalk, antler arch, has 2 statues and see historic Immaculate Conception church across bridge. We had only one day before our tour started but it was a lovely leisurely stroll, we saw lots of interesting unusual sites and we needed no car. Take your camera because in August we could not believe the lovely flowers. Westmark is a great location for it all if you like walking. If you cannot walk then buses can take you places, but for average walkers it was great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Happy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Arrived as part of a Holland America tour which owns the Westmark. I would consider it an average hotel however as luck would have it we may have got a room in the better tower. We had a nice suite, clean, overlooking the back parking lot and I must say, the room was quiet. Spent one night there and all in all it was a good stay. It's my understanding that quite a few in my group did not get a suite. As a business traveler to Fairbanks, I would not recommend this hotel. It is mainly geared towards herding the HA tour groups through and as a business traveler there will be no peace and quiet early in the morning when the groups open and slam their doors putting out their luggage prior to departing on their buses Forget trying to have a peaceful breakfast downstairs..Can't be done with hundreds of HA customers packing in their protein prior to a long day.
There is a small restaurant next door attached to another small hotel (can't recall the name) but it was the only place in walking distance I could find which allowed me the opportunity to eat somewhere else other than the hotel restaurant.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahmu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2011

This hotel worked for us. We were in town to visit my daughter, so we got out of down town. We did walk down to the river, which is not far and the Coop downtown is a good place to eat. But the North tower is better then the South tower. We originally were booked in the South tower and requested to move. They were very helpful in moving us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

The location is poor, no attractions within walking distance. Downtown is dead. You are captive of the hotel restaurant. For the price they ought to at least provide a free continental breakfast, but the cheapest you can get is one for $9. Rooms are dated. Wouldn't have chosen it on our own, but Holland America has a captive market.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mloborny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Must have been in the new tower, our room was large, clean, new, great large shower and vanity. We were on a Holland Cruise, this was suppose to be our hotel. During cruise, Holland changed our entire group to the Regency (did the same in Denali) which is a dirty, old hotel. I went to Holland desk at Westmark and was switched. I was the only one on the bus who asked to be moved even though the other tourist were disappointed. Holland made a lot of money by switching hotels without notification to tourist. Holland claimed we were notified by email, but no one who looked on IPAD had such email. Bad way to end a perfectly nice vacation.

Room Tip: When hotels are switched after cruise is paid for, make Holland switch you back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harmon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is a large building. Be sure to find the correct tower to get to your room. The staff nicely helped with this. The place appeared to run very efficiently. Our room and the breakfast were both fine. The place does not seem to be close to sites you may wish to visit. You will need your own transportation or use the taxis.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
4.0 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,043 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.2 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Park Inn
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 813 Noble Street, Fairbanks, AK 99701-4977
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westmark Fairbanks Hotel & Conference Center is rising to new heights in Fairbanks and sets the standard for elegance, style and service in the Golden Heart City. With a convenient downtown location, the Westmark Fairbanks is prepared to meet your every need, whether business or leisure. Your hospitality needs are served with 400 guest rooms and more than 17,000 square feet of meeting space. Junior, executive and two room suites are available. Wi-Fi internet connection is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel Fairbanks
Westmark Hotel Fairbanks
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel And Conference Center Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing