We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non-existent internet and puny complimentary breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We checked in here and was faced with an unhappy staff who was grumpy the whole time he was serving us. We asked for some advice and was told to check their "business center" which merely comprised of a computer and a brochure stand.

We were supposed to have free wireless internet which I could not find at all.

The complimentary breakfast topped it off with a puny station that had limited bread for toast, cold hard-boiled eggs, honeydew and bitter, weird tasting orange as fruits, yogurt and 8 different cereals. Service was non-existent. We stepped in and no one bothered to look us in the eye; we had to find a table on our own. No coffee/drinks.
Will never be back here!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelceyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 825 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2010

The Westmark in Fairbanks is a well kept business style hotel. I think it struggles to find an identity. The rooms are relatively large and well kept. However, the beds are not terribly comfortable. Further, the linens are not modern by current standards. Unwashed bed spreads and blankets on hotel beds is a complete turnoff for me.

Service is at best mediocre. Staff are nit terribly welcoming and a simple "hello," "good morning," or "thank you" seems elusive.

Positive notes: downtown location, abundant free parking, free Internet (wireless if you are in correct tower), and again the large rooms.

Look for specials. Never pay rack here. There are better hotel options in Fairbanks these days. At one tme this was the only full service hotel; not the case these days.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jra3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

New in downtown. Hard bed and uncomfortable furniture in room. The upgraded mini suite 2 Tv's was small but nice. Lights were burned out upon entering. Got that fixed. Good free parking near things. HotWire was $90 w/fees. Wouldn't pay over a $ 100 for the room.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garymiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Their are only 2 hotels in this town this one and the Marriott. I stayed here for 7 nights. It is geared toward one or two night cruise ship people. They truly do not care about the individual traveler.
The linens were awful. The sheet count on the bed must have been 50. The towels and washcloths are left over from 10 years ago. Seriously you could have found much better pillows and linens at a garage sale.
The front desk- NOT HELPFUL, said they had service to the airport, they do not. It even says in there book in the room they provide shuttle to the airport. They sent us the wrong way to Thai restaurant.
A lot of the staff are foreign. Which is fine if the understand you but they often do not. Also sad when America needs jobs they hire from foreign countries.
The laundry was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank funpersonfremont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

The hotel was just OK. The rooms were rather tired looking, and could really use some updating. The staff were very helpful and all had great attitudes, but nothing quite seemed to work like it should.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tshissler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

I was here for 3 days at the end of a cruisetour. On the bright side, this hotel is extremely clean. This is pretty much the only good quality. Everything else shows a stunning level of incompetence.
Sound insulation is nonexistent. When the guy in the next room takes a shower, you might as well be in the shower with him (so to speak). Moreover, the toilet flush makes a really loud noise that sounds like a shotgun. The first time you laugh. By the fifth time it wakes you up in the middle of the night you stopped laughing. By the way, I sleep with earplugs.
When we checked in, the room window was open. And the crank to close it was missing. This got fixed quickly. Then my mother (a not particularly muscular senior) turned on the sink faucet and the faucet fell in her hand. The next morning when she turned on the shower faucet she drenched herself and the bathroom floor because the showerhead was twisted (water pressure was also pretty bad). There are no outlets near the desk. The nightstand has no room for your things (the book you are reading, glasses, etc) because it's occupied by an unnecessarily bulky lamp. At 7 am someone knocked loudly and repeatedly (without identifying himself); when I opened the door in my pajama, it turned out to be the bellhop, who looked really surly when I demanded that he dropped the suitcases and left (yeah, after startling my mother and myself in various states of undress, you really deserve a tip). I could go on and on about how this hotel shows both incompetent design and extremely sloppy service. I will keep it short: avoid it. There must be other hotels in Fairbanks that are managed better than this.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunnercade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

I stayed at the Westmark in February, 2010 for 13 nights. Because I was visiting my two sons who were living there, I reserved a suite for the three of us. The suite was like an upscale studio apartment with two flat screen TVs, a kitchen with fridge, micro and table & chairs that accomodated all of us. But the real star was the staff, from housekeeping to kitchen staff, they couldn't have been more accomodating and helpful. I'm sure the place is different in high season, but my mid-winter experience more than met my expectations.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmptyNester2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.2 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#14 of 23 in Fairbanks
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,224 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 813 Noble St, Fairbanks, AK 99701-4977
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range: $79 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westmark Fairbanks Hotel & Conference Center is rising to new heights in Fairbanks and sets the standard for elegance, style and service in the Golden Heart City. With a convenient downtown location, the Westmark Fairbanks is prepared to meet your every need, whether business or leisure. Your hospitality needs are served with 400 guest rooms and more than 17,000 square feet of meeting space. Junior, executive and two room suites are available. Wi-Fi internet connection is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel Fairbanks
Westmark Hotel Fairbanks
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel And Conference Center Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing