We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wish we had stayed here longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A Taste of Alaska Lodge
Ranked #3 of 41 Fairbanks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We were in Fairbanks for 10 days where we stayed at 3 different lodgings.

A Taste of Alaska Lodge was by far the best accommodations of the three lodgings (we also stayed at Marriott and Chena Hot Springs). I really wish we had stayed at A Taste of Alaska for more nights.

What made it so good?
It is only 20 minutes outside of Fairbanks. It is located on a quiet property that is away from the city lights, so watching the aurora is very convenient. Kory and Debbie made us feel at home; they are SO kind and very inviting. The lodge is very clean and rustic but charming!

The Rooms:
Each room has its own charm with interesting vintage collections. The rooms are spacious, has comfortable double beds (with amazing quilt work on them!!) and the triple room has plenty of space for 3 people (including a sitting area!). We stayed in rooms #5 and #6 in the main lodge which is just great for freedom because our rooms had private entrances going out onto the grounds so we could hop out and look for aurora and hop back in whenever we wanted! Not to mention, the whole basement (including the tiled bathrooms) have underfloor heating which is great for keeping the feet warm (no shoes allowed once you enter the lodge :)). Ohh...and not to mention their nice thick, plush towels :)

The Breakfast:
The scrambled eggs ACTUALLY tasted like eggs!!!! After staying at the Marriott for 5 nights we were more than delighted that the eggs were non-rubbery. The muffins were freshly baked in clay pots (so neat) and were delicious. There was also a good selection of fruits, cereals and oatmeals. We had an early departure on the second morning and Kory was nice enough to leave out a continental breakfast for us.

What to do there?
We borrowed the lodge's snowshoes and went for a walk on the "winter trail". It was a nice walk. On the property, near the lodge there is a dog sledding company so you can do that too. We were more than happy to hang around on the main floor of the lodge which looks out onto the grounds...a very relaxing place to read or hang out with family/friends! We even saw a moose wander around :) Debbie has quite the collection of antique/vintage goodies all over the lodge. Just looking at all those items will keep you occupied for hours!

I would HIGHLY recommend this lodge. Book early if you want to stay here!

Room Tip: Room 5 and 6 have private entrances. There are a couple other rooms on the other side that have pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kryssie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 167 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2012

Our stay at A Taste of Alaska Lodge exceeded all our expectations. First of all, the location is perfect. It is just 7 minutes from Fairbanks yet it is far and high enough away so that the city lights do not interfere with night Aurora light viewing. We had first looked into staying at the Cheno Hor Springs Resort but are so glad we did not because we see now that it is a sixty mile drive from town.

Next, we were so impressed by the warm and cozy look and feel of the room. We have patterned sheets, really nice cotton blankets, gorgeous hand made quilts, plush colored towels and an overall feeling of being at a relative's home rather than a public lodging.

Debbie and Kory greeted us and made us feel so welcome. They go the extra mile every day to make us comfortable and help answer any questions or find out any specific information. We have seen how they do the same for all the guests, and especially how patient and helpful they are for the visitors from other countries who need help due to lack of English.

Breakfast is part of your cost and is just as described on the website....wonderful homemade items every day and a good assortment of things to choose from. Kory's homemade muffins are wonderful !! DInner is not part of the price but can be served by request. I have had dinner twice now and have always chosen the wonderful salmon. Dinner comes with salad, warm bread, choice of three entrees and a dessert.

The rooms face a huge outdoor area and have a wall of picture window to look from. We were blessed to see a fantastic aurora display a few nights ago and because we had so much warm clothing, we stayed outdoors for several hours enjoying the show and never felt cold. This place is perfect for Northern Light viewing because it is so convenient.

The lodge is really lovely in every way. It is not easy to find in the dark, so if you go at night be sure to let Kory or Debbie know your exact arrival time so they can help you find your way around. We arrived in daylight but I can see it would be a challenge in the evening. It's the darkness of the area that adds to its charm.

There are some nice things to do in the area. Don't miss the Cultural and Visitor Center in Fairbanks to see and learn so much about Alaska. Also, check into Walking With Reindeer, a fantastic experience to be with reindeer up close. Kory and Debbie can give you lots of ideas to fill the days.

This was the trip of a lifetime for us to celebrate our 34 years of marriage and we would like to thank Kory and Debbie for making it so memorable !

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billstek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed at A Taste of Alaska and we recommend it HIGHLY!!! The area is spectacular, the lodge (we stayed at the Main Lodge) is superb. The Eberhard's are so genuine and personable, Breakfast was delightful. it was sad to leave. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary there this week. Lots to see and do with day trips, even in the middle of winter. We would recommend it to anyone that wants a real "taste of Alaska"! We hope to go back there for ALL the seasons. The Northern Lights were wonderful. We think Kory arranged for them to show up on our anniversary, just for us!!

Room Tip: I think all the Main Lodge rooms face the same beautiful direction, overlooking the Alaska Range. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tumbleweed12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Our wonderful experience with Kory and A Taste of Alaska lodge started well before we even landed in Alaska! I had talked to Kory, the proprietor on the phone prior to our visit and, he was kind enough to email me a list of places we should see while in Fairbanks. Fairbanks was the last stop on our Alaskan vacation, and staying at the lodge only served to make us want to stay even longer. Kory and his mother could not have been more accomodating. They were so helpful with local sites, and general Alaska information. We did EVERYTHING Kory reccommended for us and enjoyed every minute of it. The lodge is artfully cluttered, well appointed, friendly, excellent location and had wonderful scenery. Our next voyage will be in the winter to see the Northern Lights. In our opinion, there is no better place to stay in Fairbanks! We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Describe your family and your likes to Kory - he'll give you the perfect room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I wanted to see the Northern lights...but perhaps we didn't realize how cold it would be in late December: -40!
We arrived at the Taste of Alaska Lodge after an easy 15 minute drive from center of Fairbanks. Kory met us at the "annex" cabin..showed us how to work the heat, lights, and where a path outside leads to an open field best for viewing the lights. We cooked dinner in our cabin, watched some DVDs, then headed outside after 10pm to try to see the Aurora. Unfortunately, the clouds did not cooperate so we didn't see the lights. It was still fun to be outside, taking in the skyline and chatting with the other folks.
Breakfast is served in the main lodge dining room and was delicious, especially the fresh blueberry pancakes. Easy drive back in to Fairbanks to see some sights (the Univ. of Alaska Museum is fantastic!).
Bottom line: Very clean, comfy, friendly, well-appointed accommodations! Thanks Kory!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "annex", which is a private cabin with full kitchen (stove, oven, microwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

2 couples decide they should visit Fairbanks to see the Aurora. They call one B&B who never responds. They call A Taste of Alaska and a real person (Cory) answers the phone...so began our Alaskan adventure. This lodge and cottage combination has it all!
First all the buildings are log homes built by Cory's parents and grandparents. This is Alaska- it is not mid-century modern or a tasteful bland hotel modern. Debbie's quilts cover each bed- all comfortable. She has decorated in an eclectic fashion with lots of antiques and local original art.
We arrived having rented the log house which did not work for us as one has limited mobility and the ground floor bedrooms were not accessible. This was my mistake in reading the description. Cory immediately found a solution that worked for us and never batted an eye!
The breakfasts are full, homemade with local Alaska ingredients. Blueberries, raspberries, pancakes, home made muffins or cinnamon buns, pies (yes pie) toast eggs etc etc. That boy (he is only 26) can cook!
Cory was a guide and there is not a question about the area or Alaska he can not answer or find the answer to. He is kind, friendly, funny and the consummate host.
We saw the aurora from the field in front of the lodge on both the clear nights we had....one night they were to the south and we didn't even have to leave the deck. Want to see a moose? Cory will call your cell when they come to browse his trees! Want a dog sled tour? Well, Leslie at Paws for Adventure rents land from the Eberhardts and gave us an incredible 3 hour dog mushing lesson.
We'll be back next year.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, tell cory when you book. They have a handicapped suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The location was close enough to town to visit Fairbanks, but far enough away to be out of the city. We stayed in the two bedroom cabin. We really enjoyed ourselves !
WE SAW THE AURORA !!! The last night before we left. We were outside from approx 3 am until sunrise, there were several dramatic "curtains of light" & the rest were beautiful cloud like dancing formations. We bought sleeping bags at the Fred Myer & sat outside in chairs cocooned in our bags to stay warm. We left the bags behind for the next folks who come along to use.
Highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ecolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
11.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#5 of 24 in Fairbanks
410 reviews
12.1 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Fairbanks
1,242 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
11.1 mi away
Mount Aurora Lodge
Mount Aurora Lodge
#3 of 24 in Fairbanks
107 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairbanks Moose Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Taste of Alaska Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Taste of Alaska Lodge

Address: 551 Eberhardt Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99712-2944
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Fairbanks
Price Range: $210 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Taste of Alaska Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your A Taste of Alaska Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Taste Of Alaska Hotel Fairbanks
A Taste Of Alaska Lodge Fairbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing