We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER, NEVER, NEVER book any accommodation at 7 Gables Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
7 Gables Inn & Suites
Ranked #19 of 40 Fairbanks B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 21, 2010

This was the WORST place I have ever stayed in. My husband and I were doing travelling through Alaska booking every activity and accommodation on line from Australia. Without a doubt, all things were perfect except 7 Gables Inn. This place was the worst I have every in my life stayed in. Mind you we have travelled extensively. Upon arrival the manager (owner) could not be found. We had to wander through the house asking others where he/she might be. Eventually he popped his head up from a musty book and reluctantly showed us in. The room was small, smelly and old. The television did not work and the owner was annoyed when asked if he could fix it. He was rude and gruff. We asked about the bikes that were supposed to be there for people to use. He told he had none. Funny!! When we walked around the back there were at least 25 bikes hanging on the wall. The breakfast was inedible, cold eggs floating in green slime. Cereal was stale and placed in old, scratched containers that didn't open. The kitchen area had garbage stacked up against the wall. I could go on for pages, but the short of the whole thing..... DO NOT GO TO 7 GABLES INN. There are plenty of other great accommodations in Fairbanks. This place should be shut down, there seems to be no accountablility for hygiene, customer care etc. The people running this accommodation need to take lessons in manners and how to clean a room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank roglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for 7 Gables Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 108 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2010

We had a very nice stay: we booked a 2 bedroom apartment with ensuite bathroom and jacuzzi.
Rooms were beautifully decorated and furnished even if it wasn't clear from their website that the second one would be a living room with kitchenette and hide queen bed.
we has to ask for linen change because the queen's one were not properly cleaned.
Leicha was very friendly and helped us booking our El Dorado 2 hour tour and giving directions and information.
The main disappointment was to be so far away from downtown: you are compelled to use the car.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LB_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

If you are looking for Fairbanks International Hostel, you will be lost and eventually stumble onto this 7 Gables Inn.

We booked this place in June through hostelbookers.com and was charged 10% ($6) immediately. We called Fairbanks International Hostel a week later to request a date change for our stay. It was agreed without any questions. But when we arrive on 8/16, we were told the "1 Deluxe Private Room for 2" we reserved was non-existent since the hostel "was not able to get any contact with hostelbookers.com".

We were given 2 options: 1) a private room with 2 twin beds at a cost of $90/night, or 2) a tree-house that has to be shared with 2 occupants at a cost of $25/person. We told the guy it is not acceptable and he refused to accomodate any further.

We told him it is not our problem but they refused to accomodate. So we finally asked for our deposite back. It was denied without any hesitation.

So don't even think that tree-house could be your next romantic get-away place. You will have to climb up 2 vertical ladders to get into this tight place without smoke detectors, water or sewer.

Leave Fairbanks as early as you can. AK has much nicer places than this.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chuck_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

This a strange place. When we arrived we could not find the owners. At last we found a man who basically just gave us the keys and sent us to the apartment. We did not have a car and there were nobody to ask where to buy food, which happened to be 4 km away. The telephone and TV did not work at first, and the jaccuzi was so dirty we hardly wanted to take a shower there. Breakfast is ok and apartments are spacious. The location is far out in nowhere.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We recently spent 3 nights here and I had a great time. The owners were friendly, helpful when we had questions. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The breakfast were great, with a variety of items (a new menu each day). There were boats you could use and more than enough bicycles for use.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Our initial impression of this B and B may have been impacted by the demeanor of the gentleman we encountered at checkin. However, he was off duty when we arrived back at the inn and the rest of our experience was very pleasant. The breakfast served was more than adequate but by no means gourmet. The jacuzzi tub is just that-an old style jacuzzi tub with jets in the bathroom. The biggest problem for us was all the steps we had to climb to get to our room. Hauling our luggage up and down was treacherous.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heizzoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

I booked a private deluxe room at Fairbanks International Hostel from hostelbooker and I didnt realize the exact name of this 'hostel' is 7 Gables Inn.

I agree the manager looks not very nice and the rooms are not in the shape of a great B&B. But come on, do you know it cost more than $25 to get a bed in a 4 or even 12 beds dorm at those 'High rated hostel' in Fairbanks?. At least I was satisfied with what I got from this 'Hostel':
An OK private twin room + free wifi + clean private bathroom (although not in the room) + free breakfast with delicious eggs + free 24hours coffee

What you can expect more for just 60bucks in Fairbanks?

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.9 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,206 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
1.2 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
3.4 mi away
Bridgewater Hotel
Bridgewater Hotel
#11 of 23 in Fairbanks
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 7 Gables Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7 Gables Inn & Suites

Address: 4312 Birch Ln, Fairbanks, AK 99709-3443
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Fairbanks
Price Range: $87 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 7 Gables Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your 7 Gables Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn & Suites Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing