We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Owners suck” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of 7 Gables Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
7 Gables Inn & Suites
Ranked #25 of 40 Fairbanks B&B and Inns
Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Owners suck”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

We were relocating from Wisconsin to Fairbanks and had called 2 weeks ahead to book a room. I gave the owner my credit card to hold the room. Upon arrival after a 7 day trip, he could not seem to find my reservation. Suddenly he found it and went to show me my "options". I told him I thought I booked a studio apartment for $400 a week. He led us to a two room suite and told us it was $800 for the week. I said no and asked about the apartment I had requested.
He told us it was at a different location and did not have a car to show us. After about a half hour he finally found a car to use to show us our room. When we got there he took us to a room and said that it was $600 for the week. I again explained to him I had reservations for a $400 a week room. Something must have clicked and he finally took us to the room and opened the door. To our surprise someone was staying in it already. He said "feel free to look around, this is what it looks like". We were so disgusted and shocked we walked right out. He then confessed that that room was booked and he had showed us our options. There were no apologies or offering to let us stay in the other rooms without paying the rate. His poor management was not what I needed after traveling 3300 miles to find out I had nowhere to live for the week. I wouldn't let my worst enemy stay here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jillianmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    17
    15
    37
See reviews for
16
47
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

All I can say is stay away—far, far away. I wished we had read tripadvisor’s reviews on 7 Gables beforehand so we could have done the same.

My husband and I live in Manhattan and have been traveling all over Alaska for the past four weeks. We have experienced nothing but the warmest northern hospitality of Alaskans until we stayed at 7 Gables. And, it is because we have so enjoyed our travels thus far that we were stunned by the treatment we received.

Our first inkling of Paul’s (the owner) grumpy nature was our first meeting. We had made two calls 15 min prior to arriving to clarify directions. On arrival, there were several buildings with unlocked doors but no clear indication of where to find his office. We ended up searching around the premises for 10min or so until we finally called him up once more and it turns out he was sitting behind a closed door that had a non-descript “after hours number” posted. He was very business-like and appeared somewhat dry and irritated, but we attributed that to possibly us arriving late (it was about 7:30p-8p) in the evening. We had first called him while driving from Anchorage to Fairbanks to inquire about his rooms, their pet-friendliness, the cost, and to confirm whether indeed there were complimentary bikes and canoes on-site and available to use, as advertised in a Milepost ad. This was essential because otherwise, we had an abundance of alternative lodging choices and we surely would have gone elsewhere.

As it turned out and in all fairness, the accommodations are comfortable and clean. We took the single bed petroom and it came with a rather, amusing, over-the-top jacuzzi/sauna/shower. The woman who prepares the breakfast and staff are friendly. The breakfast is home-cooked but reminds you of an average motel continental breakfast. As for the complimentary bikes, there are only two working bicycles of the lot of twenty or so. And, Paul will not lift a single finger to accommodate you in that respect. He was not only rude, inhospitable, and unprofessional about it but he displayed unethical business practices, devoid of reason and rationale. He really does not belong in the tourism industry.

The next morning after breakfast, (around 10:30am) my husband walked up to his 2nd story office and politely inquired about taking out two bikes. Paul replied that the two working bikes have already been taken out and they won’t be back until 1pm. He proceeded with a tirade about how people steal the bikes and that the rest of the 20 or so bikes are in “various states of disrepair.” He offered my husband, Henry, to look around for himself. My husband was flabbergasted at his response but Henry is an even-tempered man and so, started to take a look around the bikes and discovered many with varied states of deflated tires, but otherwise, possibly useful. Unfortunately, the 20+ bikes had all leaned to one side, on top of one another and seemed all locked up in one big tangle. So, Henry takes his second trip to Paul’s office to ask if the bikes could be unlocked. Paul, in a huff, runs downstairs, pulls out the only two bikes not connected to the tangle of locks, shows them to Henry, and abruptly walks away. He didn’t bother to check if those bikes he pulled out were useful nor did he attempt to assist us in any way. When we found those two bikes inoperable, we took a third trip to his office. This time when asked if he could simply spare ten minutes to come with us to look for two working bikes, he screams out, “No, I cannot.” He proceeds to repeatedly remind us that, “These are FREE bikes.” And, “Why can’t you just wait till 1pm…why do you have to have things now, now, now (as he snaps his fingers).” As you can imagine, we exchanged some escalated and heated diatribe about his false advertisement, dishonesty, and such. He then belted out something about offering for us to go into his storage room across the lawn to search for a bike pump hidden somewhere to inflate some of those bikes’ tires. Now, why he didn’t calmly share this piece of helpful information earlier on puzzles me. Further, we were baffled why he never thought to use that same bike pump he supposedly owned to maintain the bikes. Towards the end, he was barking at us about renting a car to see the town and even suggested for us to rent working bikes from him for $20. At that point, it was useless to continue. We simply walked away in disbelief and sheer disgust.

Unfortunately, we had prepaid for two nights thinking that we could explore Fairbanks by land one day and by river, the next. The thought of having to “discuss” and credit our second night was dizzying.

We are still shocked and dismayed at Paul’s behavior and handling of the situation. He clearly failed to provide the amenities he advertises. He has a short temper and got disproportionately upset, treating us as if we were thankless vagrants instead of respectful, paying customers who were just trying to enjoy a vacation.

I would never recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joeyismydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fairbanks hotels

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

Found 7 Gables after looking at many hotels and B & B's. Small, quaint, and comfortable, breakfast included. Quiet and safe.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frucake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem,Or
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2009

Absolutely filthy.Cigarette burns everywhere, Holes in carpet & blankets. Junk everywhere. Nasty. Nasty. Nasty.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hopewellbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
143 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

we stayed in a s/c unit Condo 701, a 3 drive from the main house. Location is in a suburban street no view. Unit was clean, kitchen well equipped. Owners were very helpful & friendly on a number of ocassions. Washing/drying cheaper than other Alaskan places. Stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janellesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

We enjoy trying the daily gourmet breakfasts with a variety of food made from recipes from around the world. Leicha rotates the daily breakfast menu. Use of a guest fridge for our own food supplies when we were staying several days was handy. Their website has several recipes available there. In all the years I've traveled to Fairbanks I have always found their B & B very clean. All the rooms were none smoking and the owners are also none smokers. The rooms in the main house are nicely furnished. The apartments and suites next door are great too except for the number of stairs you have to climb to get to the apartment. You would not want to have a lot of luggage and groceries and haul it all the way up to the 3rd floor in the apartments. The apartments next to the big house have plenty of room to sleep several people and or a family and have kitchens in them too. In the main house I think there are about 5 rooms with private baths and jacuzzis and then an apartment in the basement and a honeymoon suite upstairs and one additional room with a separate bath. These main bedrooms have gable windows which the kids thought were really neat. The B & B dining and kitchen and living areas have always been clean. Leicha has strict rules about how the dishes are washed and where the food is served versus where the food is prepared. She has another kitchen in the main house that has a microwave which we were allowed to use right near the guest fridge. The laundry facilities are in the garage which is not very clean or neat but whose garage is? The grounds are well kept in the summer and the green house entry is always a delight. In the winter we had a parking area that had a plug in for our car which was handy.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosesrnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

On the night of our arrival, the owner could not find a record of our reservation. He temporarily placed us in one of his B&B rooms instead of the one bedroom apartment we had reserved. That was acceptable to us for two nights. He then told us that the people had not vacated the unit we were supposed to have and he could not evict them. He then gave us a one room efficiency where the water reeked of hydrogen sulfide and which was so small that the only place to sit and watch tv was on the bed. The luggage had to be stored under the bathroom sink. The whole place was shabby.
One of the reasons we selected this facility was that its web site offered free use of bicycles to guests. These bicycles turned out to be in decrepit condition and the owner would not ask any of his staff to repair them. One of the bikes we borrowed even lost a pedal while we rode. Also, he insisted that we purchase a bicycle lock before he would let us use a bicycle. Fortunately, after 6 nights, we were able to find appropriate accommodations elsewhere - and for less money.
What was most disturbing was that he repeatedly yelled at staff in front of guests and, in general, treated these people in an abusive manner.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.2 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#5 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks
3.9 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
3.2 mi away
Alaska Heritage House
Alaska Heritage House
#1 of 40 in Fairbanks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 7 Gables Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7 Gables Inn & Suites

Property: 7 Gables Inn & Suites
Address: 4312 Birch Ln, Fairbanks, AK 99709-3443
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 7 Gables Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your 7 Gables Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn & Suites Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing