We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Log Cabin”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairbanks
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Moose in the Garden Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 40 Fairbanks B&B and Inns
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Incredible Log Cabin”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This house is an amazing log cabin with exquisite details. It was a joy to spend time in such an interesting house decorated with loving attention by Ms. Alonzo, the owner. The loft bedroom doesn't offer much privacy but that was more than offset by the beautiful views and spacious accommodations.

The main floor is lovely, too. We spent several hours just sitting in the living room, enjoying the view across the valley to Mt. McKinley and the interesting art on the walls.

Ms. Alonzo spent a lot of time with us reviewing places to go and things to see, and gave us several people to contact for various tours. She kept track of aurora borealis appearances and texted us when something was happening.

Room Tip: The loft room is the best choice if you don't mind a slight lack of privacy. We were not bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baystone634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
67
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Having seen where most other hotels are located, this one is by far in a special spot. If viewing the Denali (Mt. McKinley) /Aurora Borealis is on your list, this is the location to be! Fairbanks is situated in a valley, where half the time is covered by dense ice fog. When the fog/clouds clear, then you run the risk of light pollution. Meaning it's too bright in town to view the spectacular Northern Lights. A Moose in the Garden solves this problem where they're uniquely situated. Inside, features a beautiful log home, which immediately is inviting. The hosts, Kathy and Stacey are wonderful! The food is delicious! The atmosphere of the home is very comforting and relaxing. The Northern Lights room is an open loft suite, yet has the comfort of absolute privacy. Hence the name Northern Lights room you can enjoy the view from the warmth of your bed instead of the frigid -30 temps. There is a private Jacuzzi tub to enjoy the bubbles with your loved one. I highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a girls retreat, romance getaway, or visiting Alaska. Staying at a hotel can not compete with what this has to offer! Overall, I'm definitely coming back to A Moose in the Garden!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keengabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Moose in the Garden was exactly as described. We Stayed upstairs in the loft and the view was amazing. From the Kitchen you could see Denali on a clear day. The owner,Kathy , cooked us exceptional breakfast in the mornings.But the best part was that she took the time to assist us in planning our days ands went as far as to accompany us on a day trip to the Chena Hot Springs. I would say she went out of her way and above and beyond in doing everything to make our trip enjoyable. There is no question We will return and Unconditionally recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I loved this place! I can honestly say that my experience in Fairbanks was perfect. Kathy, the host of this B and B, helped to make that happen. On the night we arrived, the driving conditions were really bad so she offered to pick us up from the airport. I thought this was very kind. She also kept up with the aurora forecast,,and called us while we were out one night to let us know that the forecast looked good. Sure, enough we saw the aurora that night from her backyard! It was an amazing experience.
Her place was beautiful and clean. The breakfasts were excellent. She gave us ideas of things to do while we were there. We built a snowman in her yard, and left a sled for future travelers to slide down her driveway.
I also enjoyed seeing Mt. Denali from the back porch.
I think the highlight of my trip was watching for the aurora from the jacuzzi. I turned off of the lights, opened up the window, and watched as the clouds parted, and the aurora danced. It was a priceless experience.
I truly recommend this place. I hope to come back many more times!!

Room Tip: if you are interested in seeing the aurora, I highly recommend the aurora room. It happened to come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My daughter found this place after doing a lot of research. I was a little apprehensive about going to Alaska in December, after all it is really cold. Ha. When she showed me the photos of the B&B, I immediately jumped on board. I can't imagine staying any place else that we would have felt more comfortable. Cathy was so gracious and helpful and went above and beyond anything that you expect of her. Her breakfasts that she prepared were so wonderful with beautiful presentation. She was very helpful with things that we would be interested in seeing and I can't say enough nice things about the house and the experience. The most wonderful thing is that we saw the Northern Lights at her house and she called us on our cell phone to give us the heads up....I would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: The upstairs loft is not private in an intimate sense, so you may be disappointed. There 2 smaller r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bayoumcgyver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the Moose in the Garden B&B for 4 nights in August, at the beginning of a two-week vacation to Alaska. We stayed in B&B's nearly every night, visiting Fairbanks, Denali, Anchorage, Seward, and Homer. The view from the Moose in the Garden's main floor and deck is gorgeous -- on a clear day, you can see all the way to Denali. The accommodations were very nice, and as comfortable as many of the other establishments we visited; and we had to share a bathroom with the other couple we were travelling with. However, the breakfasts prepared by Stacy and Kathy were outstanding, gourmet quality affairs -- probably the best breakfasts we have ever enjoyed at any B&B in our lives. In addition, their hospitality, generosity, and overall helpfulness made our stay memorable. We highly recommend Moose in the Garden for anyone planning a trip to Fairbanks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob_spear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Wow, believe the hype. This place is the real deal!! Excellent in all regards. The host Kathy and her daughter Stacy are both excellent hosts, and obviously do everything in their power to make your stay great!! The house is a log cabin style hideaway built from the trees logged from the property, it is one of the coolest homes ive seen. the view is breathtaking, with sights of McKinley, the forest, and the valley below. About a 15 min drive from fairbanks, but worth it. The first night we stayed in the northern lights room upstairs, which was awesome. You get the entire upstairs which has the main bedroom with a very nice bathroom with jacuzzi tub. also upstaits is a loft area with two single beds. Be aware that the northern lights room is open to the common area below and it is impossible to block out light(til midnight+ in summer), so it is ill suited for seriously private folks or those who cant sleep with light. it was just perfect for us. The second night we had the two rooms downstairs, both were excellent. rooms had nice desks, very comfy beds, blackout curtains, and a nice shared bathroom. there is also a pool table down there!!Breakfast was INCREDIBLE, cooked by Stacy(currently in culinary school) both meals were delightful. Much better than any hotel restaurant. Honestly no negatives from our point of view, we highly recommend to all travelers. Thanks Kathy and Stacy!! We'll be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Billpov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
6.4 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
7.4 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
9.9 mi away
Alaska Heritage House
Alaska Heritage House
#1 of 40 in Fairbanks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
13.0 mi away
Fairbanks Moose Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Moose in the Garden Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Moose in the Garden Bed & Breakfast

Property: A Moose in the Garden Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1691 Flatpick Road, Fairbanks, AK 99709
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Fairbanks
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Moose in the Garden B&B and Vacation Rental is a private, spacious, log home located away from busy commercial areas and city lights. Perfect for viewing the northern lights. It rests on three acres atop an oasis of lawn surrounded by wild flowers and the northern boreal forest. Relax on the deck while taking in views of Denali, the Alaska Range, and the Tanana River Valley. Wildlife tracks that abound in the winter include moose, fox, ptarmigan, hare, vole and wolverine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Moose In The Garden Bed & Breakfast Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing