We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Moose in the Garden Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairbanks
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Moose in the Garden Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 40 Fairbanks B&B and Inns
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at A Moose in the Garden. Kathy's house was very clean and the breakfasts were fantastic. The room was small but suited our needs just fine. There was more options there that we did not utilize, this would also be a great place for a group to stay and rent the whole house. We will consider staying here any time we are in Fairbanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 60750Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
67
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

As a part of our honeymoon, my wifr and I stayed in Fairbanks for one single night. Kathy (the owner) was very receptive and entusiastic with us. She played a video related with activities in Fairbanks. The house is huge. We took the small room given that is darker than the big room. The matress was extremely confortable. In the morning Kathy cooked for us a delicius gourmet breakfast and she was siting with us during the breakfast. Kathy was very kind during our stay. I recommend you to visit her B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tuato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Beautiful place, great hostess. If you like quiet, this is it. Not too far from Fairbanks but still out in the woods. I was told a great place to see the Northern Lights- when they are happening. Which wasn't our weekend. But still a nice and comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Obviously the loft is the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SCraig7001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a few days in April and I will start by saying that Kathy is the most gracious host you could ask for. She made us feel comfortable and welcome for the entirety of our stay. The room was spotless and anything you needed was provided from soap to tissues. And, as others have noted, she makes the most fantastic breakfast I have ever had. We had the run of the house and she was always there when we needed her and available to chat but she also gave us PLENTY of space so we could enjoy being alone together. She shares a ton of information on activities and interesting things nearby as well. I found this location perfect as I wanted something that was away from the main town and had a nice view. This place has both - you are surrounded by nature, silence, and perhaps a view of Mt. McKinley on a clear morning. It is close to town, fabulous restaurants, and Chena hot springs. After we move to Alaska, we will definitely return to stay with Kathy for weekend getaways! If you need help choosing a room, I would say they are all very nice. We stayed in the Northern Lights room but I did peek in on the other guest rooms while playing pool one evening. We did choose the Northern Lights room with some trepidation as I am not generally a very social person and value my privacy. However, this room is fantastic and as private as a loft bedroom can be. You may hear some noises from downstairs but you don't feel like you are at all exposed while in your room. You have a wonderful view of the Northern Lights from your bed and plenty of space to move around. There is even a smaller nook area with two small beds if you are traveling with children. The whirlpool tub is an awesome touch with an amazing view where you may also have a chance of seeing the Northern Lights at the right time of year. This made for very relaxing evenings. We sincerely did not want to leave and can honestly say this was the best place we stayed during our two week whirlwind tour of Alaska from Seward to Fairbanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whiterabbit71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Kathy, the owner of Moose in the Garden, says she always thought this house would make a great destination B & B, well she’s certainly right there. With pine trunks thicker than a man’s girth as it main feature, the pleasure of staying there starts with that impressive first step through the front door. Lying in bed in the unique gallery bedroom looking out of the window at the Northern Lights must rate very high on anyone’s bucket list, then add the extensive view from the lounge level deck that stretches all the way to Mt. McKinley over 100 miles to the south. Kathy and her most able daughter Stacey, do everything to make your stay with them as memorable & pleasant as possible, from the feast masquerading as breakfast, to just sitting around sharing experiences and local knowledge. Being able to witness a fantastic Aurora display from the front door step was so exciting. This is a great example of why staying at a B & B can add so much more to one’s travelling experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed 5 nights. Kathy's home is a log cabin, beautifully appointed. We were there to see the aurora borealis and did so on three clear nights. Since we were up for several hours in the middle of the night, we slept in late in the morning and took a nap in the early evening before setting out. The B&B was quiet and we just made ourselves to home. Kathy was wonderful taking us to the train for our trip back to Anchorage. Kathy is very busy and it was fun to talk to her at breakfast for our last couple of days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EclipseChaserWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

This B&B is so cozy. Kathy's daughter, Stacey, took care of us. She's in culinary school, so her breakfasts were out of this world! She was very hospitable and took very good care of us and her home. We saw Mt. McKinley from the porch one morning, the aurora two nights in a row from our bedroom, and played pool when we were done with the day. Thanks for a nice stay!

Room Tip: Upper level rooms are not completely separated, so it's good to share them with another couple o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CurlieGurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
6.4 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
7.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
7.4 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
9.9 mi away
Alaska Heritage House
Alaska Heritage House
#1 of 40 in Fairbanks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
13.0 mi away
Fairbanks Moose Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Moose in the Garden Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Moose in the Garden Bed & Breakfast

Property: A Moose in the Garden Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1691 Flatpick Road, Fairbanks, AK 99709
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Fairbanks
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Moose in the Garden B&B and Vacation Rental is a private, spacious, log home located away from busy commercial areas and city lights. Perfect for viewing the northern lights. It rests on three acres atop an oasis of lawn surrounded by wild flowers and the northern boreal forest. Relax on the deck while taking in views of Denali, the Alaska Range, and the Tanana River Valley. Wildlife tracks that abound in the winter include moose, fox, ptarmigan, hare, vole and wolverine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Moose In The Garden Bed & Breakfast Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing