We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An unforgettable summer fantasy”
other travelers have booked this property
Aurora Pond Cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aurora Pond Cabin
Awarded 2017 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Queen Bed in the Loft
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Aurora Pond Cabin
Awarded 2017 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Queen Bed in the Loft
Lounge with double pull out couch
Stairs to the loft with kitchen in the background
The Sauna/shower building 10 feet from the cabin
Woodstove to heat up the water for the shower and the sauna
Shower
Winter time
View from the bedroom
View of the cabin from the pond
The outhouse
You can go quite fast in a dog sled!
View from the sled
The dog team
Harnessing the dogs up for a ride
Ready, Set, Go!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fairbanks, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MIGUEL C
1 review
“An unforgettable summer fantasy”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

It was everything I imagined and better. I will never forget the mornings--I wake up with the most serene and gorgeous view of lush greenery and a shimmering lake. I would head downstairs, make myself breakfast and coffee, and listen to the local radio before heading out to enjoy the outdoors.

The cabin comes complete with a kitchen and everything that a kitchen would need. From the pots and pans, silverware, tea, coffee, and spices...

The dining table has a big book of detailed instructions on how to enjoy every bit of the cabin. How to heat up the cabin, the sauna, taking a shower, etc..

What's more is that Simon makes himself completely available and present to whatever you may need. After several conversations and interaction with Simon, it is clear that he is one sincere and pure human being. I am so grateful to have met him!

Thank you so much Simon.

You bet I will be coming back. I can't wait!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2017
We are so glad you had a great time with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO-Visito...
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed April 4, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The cabin is nicely built with a lot of windows. The location is good, not far from the city, yet dark enough for Aurora. There is a very nice trail near the cabin, which leads to the very quite and peaceful forest. Simon is very kind: he gave us a lot of information and made sure we had all the things we need. My son enjoyed pulling the wood on the sled to the house and had a lot of fun. The cabin is exactly what is described in the pictures and overview. We are not used to the outhouse, but that was expected. We went dog sledding with Simon one morning and enjoyed meeting his dogs, they are super cute and friendly. Thanks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmorgan72
philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful Cabin”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Booked this cabin for my boyfriend's birthday in February. As avid campers, not only were we excited to return to Alaska for our second trip, but thought a mid-winter trip to stay in a "dry" cabin would be adventurous. We LOVED it!! In fact, we were very sad to leave. It was such a treat to wake up each morning to hear "nothing". No noisy neighbors, no cars or busses, no trash trucks. Complete silence. It was exactly what we needed. We arrived mid-afternoon to a very thorough note that Simon had written to us. We had no problems starting & maintaining the wood stove, using the water, the outhouse, or the sauna. One day we accidentally locked ourselves out and quickly walked over to Simon's house so he could help us get back in. Even though the cabin is secluded, Simon is close by. We enjoyed daily activities like Chena Hot Springs, Reindeer Ranch, Antique Auto Museum, and, of course, dog sledding with Simon. It's a must!!!! We even enjoyed pulling the wood on the sled to the house. Groceries were close by-Fred Meyer & Safeway were a mere15 minutes away. Mornings were most enjoyable--lighting the fire while the coffee was dripping, watching the moose meandering in the front of the cabin, heating up the sauna. Tat night we turned out the lights to look for the aurora. We were only fortunate to have them one night and took our tripods outside to take photos. We had a lovely birthday dinner at Vallata and had a Sunday brunch at Ivory Jacks. Both places equally as good. We can't wait to return to Alaska! Thanks, Simon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrequentF...
1 review
“Lovely spot we really enjoyed our time here”
Reviewed November 8, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Really loved the cabin and location. Stayed here with my wife for 2 nights and although it was quiet it was still only a short drive to town. Simon was very helpful and gave us lots of useful information.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luzluc
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed September 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and I were looking for a place to spend our honeymoon in a quiet area and what we got was a getaway heaven!
Although I never met Simon in person, he left a guide inside the cabin explaining every single thing we needed to know for our two nights stay.
The views of the pond were just breathtaking! It was so relaxing, we could stay the whole day at the cabin and enjoy every minute.
When we arrived, we didn't have a local SIM card (arriving from outside of US) so I couldn't contact Simon. Given that and the fact that we only had the actual address, it took us quite a while to find the cabin. The sign with the name of the cabin is almost unnoticeable and you also won't find the house number anywhere. If you arrive late, when the sun is setting, you might have difficulty in finding it unless you coordinate with Simon.
Other than that, everything was perfect! The photos you see here doesn't give justice to the place: it's very cozy and secluded.
No doubt we would love to come back there! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Hard to find
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2016
Hi Luzluc,thanks for your review.I am happy you both loved the cabin nestled in its secluded location.Sorry did not meet you wasbusywith day work.i believe there is part on flip key you go into for directions so you can get accurate description of how to find cabin location.please come visit again .thanks simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C
Marlow, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Alaskan cabin experience!”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here last week and loved it. We enjoy getting off the beaten path a little and the location was perfect. It is only 10-15 minutes from downtown Fairbanks and even though Simon's cabin is a couple hundred yards away, when you sit on the front porch overlooking the pond you feel like there is nobody around for miles. We saw fresh moose tracks around the area every day, we didn't see them but could hear them moving through the trees late at night. The out house was fine, the shower/sauna was really very nice, we could both take a good shower heating up one pot of water. The cabin is well built and clean, we just brought a few groceries, everything you need for cooking most things is there. The view from upstairs is amazing and we watched the northern lights 3 out of the 4 nights we were there (the other night was cloudy). We we're in Fairbanks visiting our new baby granddaughter so we didn't get to spend as much time at the cabin as we would have liked, but we really enjoyed our time there. Due to our schedule we missed meeting Simon but Chantelle met us when we got there and gave us all the info we needed. We also met Chris and she took us to visit the sled dogs. We were very happy, the cabin is exactly what we expected from the pictures and reviews, if we ever make it back to the Fairbanks area this is where we will stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: I didn't spend enough time there!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2016
Hi Mike thanks for your review. I am glad you both enjoyedyourstay here.good job on getting shower system going.if am am around I usually fire up sauna for people
Please come visit us again .thanks simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexkorla...
Melbourne, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pond Cabin”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at Simon's Pond Cabin in mid-August hiking
the trails nearby and exploring Fairbanks and vicinity.
This was the best trip we have taken in the last few years
and we sincerely thank Simon and Chantelle for helping
us make it happen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from upstairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing