We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable second stop”

Lulu's Bread & Bagels
Ranked #2 of 3 Bakeries in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Enjoyable second stop”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I did prefer their other location (which they said was actually their 2nd location before moving back to where they are now) but the asiago bagel and chive cream cheese were still delicious. Alas, the pumpkin pie looked and tasted different so I did not enjoy that this time; however, the staff was great and took the pie back and gave me an additional bagel and cream cheese to go. The coffee was good; I would stop here again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank cjs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    32
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chronically hostile.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I love to support local and I keep trying and trying to have a good experience at LuLu's, but it just doesn't happen. I like the coffee (most of the time), it's hard to go wrong with Kaladi Brothers unless you really aren't paying attention, but the service is always terrible. There might be one person who smiles behind the counter but that person is usually back making sandwiches and the grumpy, apathetic drone at the register makes me feel like I'm inconveniencing them by asking for an Americano. There is no such thing as a friendly greeting or a cheerful word about your order being up shortly. Your coffee is practically thrown at you when it is finally finished, without a word. Ugh, that place could be my favorite spot for a fix if I didn't know that I'd be treated like I was interrupting their angst-fest.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank akpeacegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great Sandwich”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

They have a great chicken salad sandwich. Although the quiche was a little bland. It could have used a little more "umph". But still really good and fluffy. The staff were extremely friendly and the restaurant was very clean.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy-BO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Limited Selection!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The selection is like the name says "Bread and Bagels"; a lot of bagels and a few loaves of bread. We stopped in for a cinnamon roll but they don't make or sell sweet rolls or other pastries. We had bagels which tasted day old rather than fresh. It's not a bad place but we prefer the Coffee Roaster's just down the street.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Update to my previous poor review”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Lulu's has moved back into their original building across the street and abandoned the drive-thru service. Service has improved immensely! Folks behind the counter now concentrate on their walk-in clients instead of the drive-thru traffic. Great move in every way .
The ambience is so much better with a lighter, brighter cafe style room.
Keep it up folks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lulu's Bread & Bagels also viewed

 

Been to Lulu's Bread & Bagels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing