We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the Job As Intended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Does the Job As Intended”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Let's be clear: the Alpine Lodge is not a "destination resort." It's an airport motel. So the "four circles" means it does a very good job for an airport hotel.

We arrived in Fairbanks at 1 AM, which evidently is pretty typical. Once we had our luggage, we called the Alpine Lodge...

-- three minutes later their shuttle arrived

-- ten minutes later we had checked in

-- twenty minutes we were in bed, ready to capture as much sleep as we could from what remained of our night.

Twenty minutes from picking up our luggage off the carousel to putting our heads on the pillow. What more could you ask from an airport motel?

Service was consistently friendly and responsive. The room was clean. The bed was comfortable (or, were we just exhausted?). There are blackout curtains on the windows (not necessary in September but a big deal in June).

Whenever we fly into Fairbanks, we'll be staying here.

We got an $89 plus tax rate through Expedia. The "four circle" value rating reflects the fact that Alaska tends to be an expensive place.

Two tips:

(1) We passed on the $5 continental breakfast (which appeared adequate but we've seen better even in budget motels) and ate a hearty "skillet" breakfast at Family Restaurant, a couple of miles away on Airport Way.

(2) There is an Alamo/National rental car location just across the parking lot. If you reserve your rental car from that location, you avoid the considerable airport tax. Jennifer O'Neill is the Station Manager there and was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    104
    64
    12
    12
See reviews for
75
98
32
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed only for one night here but really like the hotel. the front desk was really helpful when we check-in and arrange for taxi at their cost when their shuttle didn't work. The room was ok but not very spacious after we layout our luggage. There was a table, tv, mircrowave and free wifi in the room. The bed was really comfortable and there was 3 pillows given for each bed!

The breakfast provided was really nice. There was self-made waffle, bagel, bread, bacon, cereals, juices, coffee & tea, fruits provided.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My father and I stayed here in mid-August and were so very impressed with the high level of customer service. There was a mixup with the reservation dates (I'm sure it was my fault), but the front desk people were so very accommodating and found us a room at their partner hotel, the Regency. Then Sarah, the front desk manager, actually drove us there herself rather than having the shuttle driver take us. It was about a 20 minute ride! Then the next morning, they came and picked us up and brought us back to their hotel, where we were able to check into our room before 11 a.m., which these days, is pretty unusual. They also gave us a ride to and from the local Steamboat Discovery excursion, They really couldn't have been more friendly or gracious. We were highly impressed with the staff!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akdjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

After our rail trip we booked another Hotel/ B and B. It turned out to be a dump. Phoned Alpine
and explained our problem. Alpine front desk was very helpful as they let us check-in at 9:00 am and even upgraded us to a suite at no extra cost. I can`t say enough good things about the hotel and staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banff13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Liverpool, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located near the airport, which was great after a long flight. Our room was ready when we arrived in the evening. Free shuttle service was provided to and from the airport and train station. The front desk staff was friendly and accommodating, but appeared to be overwhelmed at times. The breakfast cost $5 and is worth the price. I really appreciated the laundry facilities since we prefer to pack light. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Alpine Lodge was a very typical common hotel. The rooms were clean and although we thought the beds would be hard, we slept very well in them. Water pressure was good in the shower and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

The Finish Line hotel was a different story. The female staff was great and the bar at night was a good place to go. Now breakfast is a different story. The breakfast buffet had the typical fair, but the bacon was always empty, the sausage was overcooked and we are pretty sure the exact same sausage and french toast was put out each day. The omelette person seemed bored to be there. He was not friendly, was on his phone and then would use his bare hands to scoop the things you wantd in your omelette. Hygiene was non existent for him.

I don't want to give a terrible review just because of one aspect but if I stayed here again, would definately skip the breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueZtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.7 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,138 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
1.7 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
4.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Address: 4920 Dale Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4409 (Formerly Alpine Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is conveniently located near the Fairbanks International Airport and Alaska Railroad Depot. Complimentary shuttle offered to both locations. La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport is also convenient to Riverboat Discovery, Pioneer Park, the University of Alaska Fairbanks, Ft Wainwright and downtown Fairbanks. Open year-round, the hotel offers an Alaska-themed spacious lobby, 113 deluxe guest rooms and suites, and a full-service restaurant and lounge- The Finish Line. Settle in with a local restaurant and lounge before enjoying the cuisine in the restaurant. No matter how long your stay- you're sure to enjoy Northern Lights wake-up calls and complimentary WIFI. Your stay at the La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport in Fairbanks is sure to be one you'll write home about. We look forward to sharing the spirit of Alaska! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Fairbanks
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing