We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but some things were off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 18, 2007

We were booked at Pikes as part of a tour. We arrived at the airport late and had been told to call the hotel for a Princess Tours rep to pick us up. When we called we were told that no one could help us, just get to the hotel any way we could. No Princess rep could meet us. Furthermore we were told that they had us arriving the next day. Husband explained we had a confirmation and would get there somehow.

Once we got to baggage claim at the airport, there was, in fact, Princess reps to meet us. They affirmed that our reservation was secure. When we arrived at the hotel, we were told that 30 or more of their guests had not shown up due to weather problems in the various airports. Then they went on to say they didn't have a room for us as they had us arriving the next day. When DH began to argue, they did find our room. The whole thing made no sense. 30 guests didn't show up but they had no room for us?

It all worked out in the end. The room was fine. The hotel was nicely decorated and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ANNIEPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,195 - 1,201 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2007

When we checked in, I wasn't sure about what to expect as we were given a room that overlooked the parking lot and we were told there were no rooms with a view of the river.

The next morning we asked to change rooms as we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. With no hesitation we were moved to a FANTASTIC room. It was a corner room with a fireplace and a view of the river. Later that day a complimentary bottle of champagne showed up for the two of us.

The staff at the hotel was fantastic. Christine in particular made our trip complete. She took care of the room, champagne, and checked on us to insure we had a great stay.

This was the final place we stayed for our trip to AK. I can't think of a better place to spend an evening in Fairbanks.

Great atmosphere, handy location to the airport, excellent dining at reasonable prices, and a complimentary shuttle to both airport and AK Rail Road to boot!

1  Thank Crookedridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2007

We spent a night here recently and it was very nice!! The hotel is top-notch, with excellent Alaskan artwork throughout. The breakfast bar is much better than average, and in a beatiful dining room. Truly, the decor of this hotel is spectacular. The rooms were very comfortable---with above average beds. Because we were just passing through, and had had some very busy days, we stayed in and ordered room service---superb! I had king crab (a tad overcooked but good and well presented) and my husband had prime rib/king crab combo. He said it was excellent, and the food is always one of the most important parts of his adventures. We had a nice view of the frozen Chena River from our balcony. This is a wonderful hotel, I can't see how anyone would be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ReneeHavingFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2006

My husband , 12 year old and 3 month old just returned from a trip to Fairbanks, Alaska and had a wonderful time. It was only my second time up there and didn't know a lot about the area, places to stay & eat, after hearing about Pikes Waterfront Lodge from a friend's Mother, we booked our stay for a week at the Lodge as part of our three week trip to Alaska. I couldn't have been more pleased. The rooms were very comfprtable and clean, which is very important to me with two children, one being very young. The friendliness of the staff made the wonderful atmosphere that much better. They were very helpful when we needed suggestions on places to eat and visit that would be good for family time, educational and just plain fun for us. We left with a feeling of having a great vacation and I would recomment the Pike's Waterfront Lodge to anyone who was going to Fairbanks and asked where a good place to stay would be! Thank You for a wonderful stay! The Gooler's of Coulee Dam, Washington.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2006

We were going on an Alaska tour and flew into Fairbanks a day early. We arrived at the airport around 11:30pm and called the shuttle. It took nearly 45 minutes for Pikes to pick us up. After the slowest check in we had ever experienced, we finally went to our room only to find out that it was a smoking room. The smoke odor was so bad that we couldn't even go in the room. So they sent us to another hotel that cost $50 more than the $185 we were already paying. The next day we went back to check in again and meet our tour. Once again, it took forever to get our new room and when we opened the door to the cabin, it wasn't made up yet. Another trip to the check in desk where we got a key to another cabin. The cabins were cute and comfortable with a nice view, but the hassle and cost weren't worth it. We were told by an employee that they always overbooked. Not a good way to do business.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jessie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2006

We stayed recently with a large group and had to check in during the night. Our rooms were not available when we arrived and they had us checking in the following day. When asked if the rooms were not available or simply not made up, she said they were booked. We found this this to be very odd as the parking lot had maybe 10 cars in it. The following nights were booked and the parking lot was full. The desk help did call another hotel but unfortunately it was one that was easliy referred to as the hotel in the Shining. After our first day, things went a bit smoother but no one seemed overly friendly or glad that we were there. We asked for and were granted a late check out only to be hounded every 15 minutes to see if we had left the room. Each time we told them we had a 1:00 check out only to be called again in 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SHiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2006

We are lifelong Alaskans and recently stayed at Pikes Lodge. We found the hotel to be very nice. Due to my husbands job we end up staying quite a bit in different hotels and this stacks up there with the best of them. The setting is very nice the ammenities are top notch and the price is very comparable. Their website is setup for Summer specials on the weekends. Definetly worth a second look.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank caswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
404 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
4.0 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pike's Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pike's Waterfront Lodge

Address: 1850 Hoselton Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4675
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fairbanks
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
#6 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range: $100 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pike's Waterfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Fairbanks hotel on the Chena River, Pike's Waterfront Lodge. Pike's Waterfront Lodge offers comfortable rooms and cabins many with scenic views, a steam room, riverside decks, restaurant, a comfortable lounge, and wireless Internet in the public areas and sleeping rooms. All rooms have refrigerators and microwaves and are non smoking. We offer Aveda aromatherapy bathroom amenities. Our exercise room is open 24 hours. The gift shop with ATM machine and selling food items is open 24 hours. We have extensive interpretative sign display on Fairbanks history and ecology of the area. We have free Bocce Ball, golf putting and FoosBall in the game room. We have a coin operated laundry facility. Our hotel is minutes from the Fairbanks Alaska International airport, next door to famous Pike's Landing restaurant. We have free shuttle service to/from the airport and railroad station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pike's Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pike`s Waterfront Hotel Fairbanks
Pikes Waterfront Hotel
Pikes Waterfront Fairbanks
Pike's Waterfront Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing