We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection at Pike's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Terrace, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfection at Pike's”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Only had a one night stay unfortunately - gorgeous room with a beautiful and tranquil view of the river. Very nicely furnished in American country style with lovely linen and a comfortable bed. We went next door to dine in the restaurant which had excellent service and delicious food (the clam chowder was divine) and if the weather is fine try playing outdoor pool on the terrace. Breakfast the next morning was self-service buffet style and you could even make your own waffles. We looked around online for sometime before we booked at Pike's Lodge and it was perfect, looking forward to a longer stay on our next visit.

Room Tip: The room facing the river would have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriciaCx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thanks for your response; we agree that Pike's is a tranquil spot, watching the river and are glad that you enjoyed your meal at Pike's Landing. We hope to welcome you back in the future; maybe you can visit in the summer and play on our free Bocce Ball courts.
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    319
    140
    60
    32
See reviews for
237
361
69
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Went to there to have a night away from the kids, and we were pleasantly surprised. Had great amenities, the staff was super nice, and the price was perfect. Had a decent view from the room (would've been better if we were on the opposite side of the hotel though). Didn't go to the in house restaurant, although we heard it was really good though. Will recommend and will be returning in the future.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks for your review and we are glad that you had a good time. Our in house restaurant, lead by Ursula, is open primarily in the summer although she does many catered special events and meetings.
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Excellent experience! The rooms are clean, the service and food are excellent! Perfect for family vacations. We have travelled to many cities in Europe and USA, this Alaska trip and specifically our stay at the Pike's Waterfront Lodge was one of our best vacations. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nono383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. We do try our best to provide an excellent hotel experience in Fairbanks. That is one of the reasons we offer fresh baked cookies, ice cream, wireless and Aveda amenities as well as free putting and Bocce Ball in the summer. We want people to have fun when they stay with us.
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I know i gave it an average rating, but in Fairbanks, that is high praise. Pike's is one of two properties that are on the good part of the Chena River which is right outside the back of the property. The other property is the Princess Lodge and that has been undergoing a massive renovation and was not open at the time of our visit. They are right next to each other.
Pikes is a 3 minute drive from the airport which is delightful.

First of all, it is not a 4 star hotel, so do not expect it to be. But it is charming and rustic and quaint.
We booked the only one bedroom suite in the hotel - The Celebrity Suite - Room 351. It looked kind of tired and the wood pieces were scratched and stained. The tiny bathroom was totally pre-fab- one piece shower/tub combo. The suite was on a corner, so we had two balconies, but they were the step-out kind which is fine for this time of year, but during the summer it might have been nice to have room for a chair. All that being said though, we loved the suite. The upholstered pieces - sofa and chairs were very comfortable as was the bed. The room was very quiet as it was at the end of a very long hallway. We were very happy for the 5 days we were there. We had gorgeous views of the Chena river right under our balconies.

I did look at some regular rooms and they were nice sized and also looked comfortable albeit much smaller. And they have other "specialty" rooms like the fireplace Room or the jacuzzi room. There is something for everyone!

As for amenities, there were none. Not even a complimentary bottle of water in our room. We did have upgraded lotions and potions, but we never use those preferring to bring our own.
We did have a refrigerator, microwave and a wet bar which was great. There is also free Wifi. Not the fastest in the world, but it got the job done.

They do have an exercise room with 2 treadmills, an elliptical, and a recumbent bicycle. Large TV,and no one ever in there but me. Heaven. They also have yoga mats and weights. Certainly
easy to use.

There is no room service at this time of year. Their restaurant is about a 2 minute walk next door. Called Pike's Landing ,I imagine that in summer the place would be jumping. It was doing a pretty good business in winter too. The food is standard fare with the accent on comfort food and filling food. Lots of families eat here. Your room rate entitles you to a complimentary cold breakfast off the lobby every morning. Oh, there is one hot thing - pancakes or waffles that you have to make yourself. Great muffins. Certainly decent.

The staff was hit or miss. Either someone was really friendly at the front desk, or not. It depended on the time of day. The women were generally much friendlier than the male staff, except for this wonderful African American gentleman who brought us things when we called down. We would always tip him, and he was always so gracious about it. A real pleasure.

Speaking of tipping, please do. The maids leave an envelope in the room, but you should tip them daily because there are different ones every day. We just left a note and some money on our pillow in the morning. The extra money is very much appreciated.

Two things that make Pikes Waterfront Lodge stand out: Free scoops of ice cream off the lobby between 6-8 every night (you get tokens when you check in) and homemade chocolate chip cookies and coffee by the front desk all the time. Triple yum. We took full advantage of both. :-))

I would stay here again. It really is the best - not quite in town, but about a 10 minute drive away. You do not want to stay downtown. Way too depressing!!

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor - 3rd facing the river. Do not face the parking lot. Too depressing. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your very thorough review. We do try to think of everything to ensure a comfortable stay. We are reviewing your comments regarding uneven staff friendliness with the front desk and bell staff. Also, during the summer, we do offer two more suite cabins on the banks of the Chena River that are very pleasant. Thank you for the detailed review and we hope that you come back.
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper Landing, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2014

From the moment we checked in, this place exceeded my expectations. The front desk was always very helpful. Our rooms were very clean and the breakfasts were delicious. I highly recommend this hotel! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenaiCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks for your review. I, too, think that the breakfasts are very good, in the winter with the free continental and the summer buffet with the carver.
Thanks for writing.
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2014

what an amazing stay. beautiful, warm decor. fantastic staff. beautiful atmosphere.
highly recommend. This resort is the perfect place to take your family to a trip to Alaska. And it is romantic enough to go on a honeymoon experience. love it

Room Tip: the cabins on the water are ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rana2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thanks for your enthusiastic comments. Some of our specialty rooms such as the fireplace rooms and the jacuzzi rooms are certainly suitable for a honeymoon -particularly if one adds the champagne add-ons and a romantic dinner at Pike's Landing.
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My wife has stayed here several times on business trips and loved the funky art and hospitality. We stayed there again, traveling as a family with two young kids, as part of the Alaska Railroad "Aurora Train" package on a recent Saturday trip from Anchorage.

The train ride is long, over 12.5 hours, so we were tired and hungry by the time we arrived. It took a little while to get to the hotel (Pike's shuttle, which picked us up at the station, was overwhelmed and had to make at least two trips for train passengers) and checked in. We spent a few minutes in our room, and then walked over to Pike's Landing, their restaurant on the property, for dinner. It was only 9:10 pm on a Saturday night but we were told the kitchen was already closed. This was disappointing news for a hungry family of four. There would likely have been other clients on the second shuttle also denied a chance to eat dinner on the property.

The room itself was fairly basic with two double beds, and certainly felt pretty crowded with four of us in it. Ours overlooked the parking lot, I assume we would have had to pay more for a riverview room.

We did not use any of the hotel amenities other than the free continental breakfast near the lobby the next morning, which was basically cereal and juice for each of us. Overnight, the hallways were quiet and we had a good night's sleep.

Given my wife's previous experiences, I wanted to like this place more, as it displays lots of great art, posters and crafts, and avoids the feel of any chain hotel I know, but the lack of dinner options and the room's tired looking decor were both bummers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AirCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Hello-
Thanks for writing and we are so sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. We are sorry that you missed eating at Pike's Landing since it was so late. FYI, our front desk does hate info on delivery options. It also sounds as if you missed most of breakfast. Since we always have a yogurt bar, make your own waffles, hard boiled eggs and miscellaneous other food.
We do hope that you try us again!
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Park Inn
4.0 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
4.2 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pike's Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pike's Waterfront Lodge

Property: Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Address: 1850 Hoselton Drive, Fairbanks, AK 99709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fairbanks
#6 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pike's Waterfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Fairbanks hotel on the Chena River, Pike's Waterfront Lodge. Our friendly staff await you! How can we help you today? Pike's Waterfront Lodge offers comfortable rooms many with scenic views, a steam room, riverside deck, restaurant, a comfortable lounge, and wireless Internet in the public areas and most sleeping rooms. We offer Aveda aromatherapy room amenities. Our hotel is minutes from the Fairbanks Alaska airport, next door to famous Pike's Landing restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pike's Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pike`s Waterfront Hotel Fairbanks
Pikes Waterfront Hotel
Pikes Waterfront Fairbanks
Pike's Waterfront Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing