We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice riverfront location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 27, 2014

the cabins are situated next to the hotel, all with views of the river, on a lawn where you can play a ball game. The cabins have a very large king size bed, very comfortable, and a small pantry with coffeemaker. The nearby restaurant, Pike´s Landing, is good, and has a lovely terrace next to the river.In the lobby they sell great homemade icecream! Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: cabins are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pascalle965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thanks for your review. The ice cream in the lobby is made by Hot Licks, a local ice cream company. Last time, I had the ginger ice cream and it is delicious. We do give out free wooden nickels to Alaskans that they can exchange for ice cream. The "Ice Cream Hour" is tow hours from 6-8 pm.
Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

921 - 927 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife and I spent 2 separate nights here as arranged through our tour. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our impression of the décor when we first walked in was very eclectic, but I guess that is the charisma of this hotel. The rooms were comfortable and clean. If we're ever back up in Fairbanks in the winter, we would go back.

The room on our first evening had 2 queen beds which made the room crowded; just too much furniture for the space. My wife spoke to the front desk about a king bed on our return visit which they graciously accommodated. The shuttle service they offered to and from the rail depot and airport was appreciated, as was the ability to store our extra luggage while we were off to Coldfoot. Both nights we ate dinner at their restaurant next door and neither of us was impressed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thanks for your comments; we are glad that you would come back. Regarding the hotel decorations, Jay, the hotel owner tries to make it an unique and interesting environment so that our guests have a sense of place, that they are in Fairbanks, Alaska and not a plain vanilla hotel chain.
Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Spent a 3-day weekend in Fairbanks at Pike's. This was a "trip home" after being out of Alaska for 15 years after having lived there for 25.

Even with a set of realistic expectations of what Fairbanks as to offer, I would rate Pike's Lodge as "average" by Fairbanks standards. Nice enough and tries hard, but that is about it.

The staff are friendly, the rooms clean (but dated) and the amenities are sufficient. The main upside to Pike's is their attempt to be "green" and Earth-friendly.

Room Tip: In the winter, get a room on the river side to avoid the noise from the airport (though it's not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ak_f800st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thanks for your review. We at Pike's believe that we deliver excellent amenities from the Aveda Aromatherapy bath products to ice cream, cookies, free internet, fridges and microwaves in every room and a 24 hour fitness center as well as a laundry, ATM machine and gift shop with a "secret" candy shop inside as well as the original Alaskan art. These are all the types of amenities that I look for when I travel!
We are glad that you enjoyed your trip and happy that your enjoyed the cleanliness of our hotel; our staff tries very hard.
Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

For a winter visit to Fairbanks this is quite a value. We stayed two nights and were very pleased with the accommodations and breakfast. Do take some time to sit near the fireplace in the lobby with a book if you can manage some time. Coffee and fresh chocolate chip cookies are waiting for you. Dana, our shuttle driver, was certainly part of the charm!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank darladenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I visited Pike's twice this year: once in September and once in December. This place is fantastic! The lobby area is amazing, the staff is friendly, helpful, and professional. The rooms are spacious and very well maintained. The location is so convenient: just a stone's throw from the airport-the shuttle staff are very polite and accommodating. Then there's the food. Wow! I attempted to explain how delicious the food was to my wife and she told my wife that we'd just have to plan a trip there together so she could experience it for herself. I obviously agreed. Well done Pike's!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thanks for mentioning the food; Ursula does a super job with the breakfast and catering for meetings. I hope that you are able to come back. March is an excellent time to visit Faribanks and see the World Championship Ice Art!
Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. The lobby is really nicely furnished and I actually spent some time there reading in front of their fire. I felt right at home as soon as I checked in. The front desk staff was nice and I was helped out by Christena and Becca. The rooms were really nice and the beds were quite comfortable. All in all, I felt right at home and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thanks for your kind words; the fireplace is a great location for relaxing. Sometimes in the evenings, I enjoy catching up on my emails there. I am glad that you took the time to write in about your stay and mentions of Becca and Christena; we will let them know.
Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

A very nice hotel with a good view, a lighted River walk, a nice free breakfast which included pastries, bagels, toast, muffins, waffles, fruit, & cereals. They allow pets, which is important to us, since we have a cat we have to take with us whenever traveling. :-) The hotel is very attractive and clean. My complaint is the hard pillows and the bed wasn't very comfortable. Plus we reserved a room with a king sized bed, but all that was available when we got here with a king sized bed was a handicapped room, which we accepted.
We will stay here again if we go back to Fairbanks unless some of the other hotels change their policies and allow a cat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chattykathy96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#5 of 24 in Fairbanks
410 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
4 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
3.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pike's Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pike's Waterfront Lodge

Address: 1850 Hoselton Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4675
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fairbanks
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
#6 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range: $100 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pike's Waterfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Fairbanks hotel on the Chena River, Pike's Waterfront Lodge. Pike's Waterfront Lodge offers comfortable rooms and cabins many with scenic views, a steam room, riverside decks, restaurant, a comfortable lounge, and wireless Internet in the public areas and sleeping rooms. All rooms have refrigerators and microwaves and are non smoking. We offer Aveda aromatherapy bathroom amenities. Our exercise room is open 24 hours. The gift shop with ATM machine and selling food items is open 24 hours. We have extensive interpretative sign display on Fairbanks history and ecology of the area. We have free Bocce Ball, golf putting and FoosBall in the game room. We have a coin operated laundry facility. Our hotel is minutes from the Fairbanks Alaska International airport, next door to famous Pike's Landing restaurant. We have free shuttle service to/from the airport and railroad station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Pike's Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pike`s Waterfront Hotel Fairbanks
Pikes Waterfront Hotel
Pikes Waterfront Fairbanks
Pike's Waterfront Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing