We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG was this good barbeque!”

Big Daddy's Bar B-Q & Banquet Hall
Ranked #10 of 241 Restaurants in Fairbanks
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OMG was this good barbeque!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This has to be some of the best barbeque we've ever had! (maybe THE best). We had lunch here because it was a Diners Drive-ins and Dives spot - but sometimes those ratings can be suspect. Not in this case. We had the pulled pork and the burnt ends (beef) and French fries. The burnt ends (at $9 for half a pound) were a superb value and so yummy I could have eaten the whole half pound - but I had to leave room for the French fries, which were seasoned perfectly and crisply fried. Service was outstanding as well. This place was so good we may go there again tomorrow and get more burnt ends and French fries to go. If you don't go to any other restaurant in Fairbanks, definitely go to Big Daddy's!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    175
    102
    30
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You Gotta Love BBQ”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Excellent food and the atmosphere is friendly. Service can be questionable. We ate there twice and the first time the service was satisfactory with a different waitress taking our bill. The second
time I think our waitress got lost as they sent another to find her.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Henry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
1 review
“HORRIBLE service, it's as if I didn't exist.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

since this is the THIRD time this year this has happened:

after negotiating the road construction, I stood in line for OVER 5 minutes behind a party of 4, and nary an eye from the staff or a "we'll be right with you"...the BEST part...Harold (the owner) was walking around the restaurant the ENTIRE time. that will be the LAST time that I come in there for food (or otherwise), as no food is worth such shoddy service in the greeting department. I'll be sure to let everyone I see know when they mention Big Daddy's in the future. for shame. no wonder there is such high turnover in staffing there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballsdeepest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Costco Chicken, Stoned Teenagers, and Fat”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have lived in Austin, Texas for three years, so I wasn't expecting much from a BBQ joint in Fairbanks, but this went way below my expectations and not just because of the bad BBQ. The first disappointment was that none of the sandwiches came with a side. That was an extra charge. So I ended up ordering a half pound of brisket. My friend went with the Smoked Chicken sandwich. It look us 30 minutes to receive our cornbread, which was actually decent. Unfortunately it took 45 minutes to get our food. I kept looking around to understand why and I couldn't figure it out. It was not crowded and there was plenty of staff. And when the food came out with a simple basket of brisket and chicken on a bun, I was perplexed. The only conclusion I could come up with explaining the long wait, was the cooks in the back that looked like stoned teenagers. First, the brisket was half fat and half dry meat. Second, my friend's chicken literally looked like it had been taken from a rotisserie chicken from Costco and placed on a hamburger bun with nothing else. The only way both entrees were salvageable is because we drenched both with the BBQ sauce, which was also decent. My friend and I are both optimists when it comes to food and we never complain, but this place made us cranky.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodie4Life81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“enjoyed our meal”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We tried the brisket and the pulled pork...very good food and fun atmosphere. There are sauces at the tables so you can make the sandwiches as spicy as you wish. We enjoyed our meal very much, but all you get is a sandwich. You must order sides at extra fee.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ton_amie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Daddy's Bar B-Q & Banquet Hall also viewed

 

Been to Big Daddy's Bar B-Q & Banquet Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing