We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pump House Restaurant & Saloon

Pump House Restaurant & Saloon
Ranked #2 of 241 Restaurants in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Chena Small Tracts
Transit: Public Bus System route stop.
Description: The Pump House Restaurant offers Fine Dining in a Historice Atmosphere overlooking the Chena river. We are listed on the National Registry of Historic Sites and are the recipient of the DiRONA Award. Seasonal closure - January 1st through February 2nd. Reopening February 3rd.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Nice Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I would recommend this restaurant for sure. Great service, great food. The summers are really really nice to dine out on the deck because it sits right off the river and you can sometimes see small planes landing right there in the water. Also, if you have a boat, you can also dock your boat right up to the restaurant. The only major complaint that I have is during the summer, if you are dining out on the deck, they have issues with bees or wasps. The hive is somewhere under the deck and I believe they should professionally deal with this problem. One day someone is going to have a major reaction to a sting or multiple stings. It is not isolated situation because i frequent this restaurant each and every year summer and winter and they always seem to have this problem. During the winter months, they do not serve lunch. During the evenings, it is a fun place to hang out and have a few drinks with your friends. The ambience is really cool with an Alaskan feel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank reidie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    296
    112
    46
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I've been to the Pump House numerous times. If the food is good, the service is not. If the service is good, the food is cold when it should be hot. There's not much worse than anticipating a nice brunch and taking a bite of cold scrambled eggs. The location is great, especially in the summer on the deck. But I can't seem to get both good food and good service at the same time. It's a pity. I've been there with family, friends and business, for brunch, lunch and dinner. I don't plan to go back anytime soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lindadak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill B, Owner at Pump House Restaurant & Saloon, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your comment. We have had a meeting on this with the kitchen and staff to ensure that our food is up to standard not only in temperature but in quality. We hope you try our Sunday brunch buffet again sometime and if you have another experience like this please ask for Bill or the manager on duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location. Overpriced. Below average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The location is fantastic. It is right on the river and the outside dining is a great experience. The food, however is not that great and quite expensive. I've never had a decently cooked piece of halibut here other than the fish/chips. They could be so great if they could get the food right.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thhammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Sunday brunch has large sellection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The main buffet was alright but not impressive. However, the fruit and dessert tables were awesome. Both offered large selection of delicious fresh treats.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jnmwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We were in Fairbanks on vacation and decided to try this place when Lavelle's (downtown) was booked for the Valentines Day crowd. We were glad we did; Lavelle's acted too pretentious anyway.

Walking into The Pump House, we knew we were right at home. They were packed with diners, as well, but they had a large bar area with tables that was first-come, first-serve. Perfect!

We opted for a Filet and a Seafood Dinner. Both were cooked perfectly and were scrumptious! They also happened to have a wine flight that I tried and found it a very tasty pairing with my steak.

We ended the meal with their peanut butter pie; great ending and enough for the two of us to share.

The bar is absolutely stunning and well stocked. Great atmosphere and service!

Helpful?
Thank RealtorK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pump House Restaurant & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Pump House Restaurant & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing