We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious,, recommend it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pump House Restaurant & Saloon

Pump House Restaurant & Saloon
Ranked #2 of 241 Restaurants in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Chena Small Tracts
Transit: Public Bus System route stop.
Description: The Pump House Restaurant offers Fine Dining in a Historice Atmosphere overlooking the Chena river. We are listed on the National Registry of Historic Sites and are the recipient of the DiRONA Award. Seasonal closure - January 1st through February 2nd. Reopening February 3rd.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious,, recommend it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Seafood chowder to die for!! Atmosphere great, a little pricey but great food, wait staff great! The scenery overlooking the Chena River are great also,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jdcowguy573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    296
    112
    46
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linden
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Justifiably Popular”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The parking lot was full on a rainy night, and just as we got out of the car a group of 20 from a tour unloaded in front of us. Uh oh, we thought, this will take a while. Our apprehensions were unfounded. We were seated quickly, and our server came soon after. We had brought wine, and she opened it right away. We started with chowder, followed by grilled halibut which came with rice and Brussels sprouts. The fish was moist and delicious, and we really enjoyed the sprouts. We'll be back the next time we vist Fairbanks

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ficimia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Recommended by a former native, lived up to his promise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We arrived late, and the table before us got the last prime rib! But the other meat and seafood choices were plentiful and delicious. Interesting place - wish we had been earlier to see the outdoor area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JennyPlesums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
141 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great view and grounds, mediocre service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We arrived without reservations and had to be seated inside, so if you go, it's worthwhile making reservations for outside to enjoy the great river view. Our entrees were ok, and in some cases they were really good. The restaurant has some game dinners, reindeer and elk, which were fun to try. Our server was very awkward. We couldn't decide if she was really inexperienced, and if so, she'd probably improve with time. But for us, there were several serving errors, like serving the salad with shrimp that had specifically been asked to be left off. But it was the sort of blank, staring response from the server that was kind of weird. She informed us she didn't know what wine we were talking about (it was on the menu - we showed her), and when it was pointed out the salad was wrong, she just looked blankly at the party who asked that it be changed. It was just very odd. Maybe we were just unlucky in the server. The flowers outside and the riverside location were lovely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneDeA41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Since it was one of the few places open late and because it was close to the airport, we went. The price is expensive, portions are ridiculously small and the service is slow. When we asked the waitress what she would recommend, she couldn't. That says a lot.
This place is not worth the money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 193kellyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pump House Restaurant & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Pump House Restaurant & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing