We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun setting, beautiful view, great food!”

Pump House Restaurant & Saloon
Reserve with OpenTable
Pump House Restaurant & Saloon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 243 Restaurants in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Chena Small Tracts
Transit: Public Bus System route stop.
Description: The Pump House Restaurant offers Fine Dining in a Historice Atmosphere overlooking the Chena river. We are listed on the National Registry of Historic Sites and are the recipient of the DiRONA Award. Seasonal closure - January 1st through February 2nd. Reopening February 3rd.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fun setting, beautiful view, great food!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had reservation for 10 people. Seated right away and sat indoors. If nice weather, patio is lovely right on the river. Excellent service, great drink menu, lots of fresh seafood choices and local game. Waitress was great at explaining fish and local game selections, as well as where fish was caught. Grilled salmon very good, as well as halibut, although both a tad dry.
Reindeer filet was excellent, very tasty, as well as the bay scallops. Overall, an excellent evening with family! Would recommend this place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoGreenMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    314
    115
    46
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyable setting”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

While visiting Fairbanks, we chose to check out the buffet at this restaurant. The decor was nicely "Alaskan". There was certainly enough of a variety of food at the buffet to please anyone. We chose to sit outside on the large deck, and we were glad we did. The views were really nice, and boaters were going by on the river. All in all, a nice place to visit and eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdl1082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great eatery and view”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We decided to eat in the bar to avoid the wait. The service was great and the food was excellent. A great wine selection and some of the best salmon of our trip. Wish we were staying in Faribanks so we could go back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DJSwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Valley, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A museum in a restaurant”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I live here and make special trips to the Pump House for their Clam Chowder. Like I said in my title, there are so many pictures and artifacts to look at it kind of like a museum. The one thing I dislike is that it is a open atmosphere and is very loud.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great for a drink with a view”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went there a few times and it was really good, mainly because of their view and location. The menu is also great, and they have a chef who changes things up. The service is a bit slow, but we found that service all around in Alaska is slow. I will recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank voyagersolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pump House Restaurant & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Pump House Restaurant & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing