We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beer/Limited Seating”

HooDoo Brewing Company
Ranked #25 of 98 things to do in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: HooDoo Brewing Co. brews world class ales and lagers, in the heart of Alaska. Come by the open and inviting taproom for a glass of beer, and take a growler to enjoy at home. Get an in depth look at the brewing process on their 3-vessel system during a tour with the brewmaster, every Saturday at 4pm. While we do not serve food, we regularly partner with local food vendors and we welcome you to bring your own Brewery Picnics. Feel free to bring snacks or take-out into the taproom or Biergarten to enjoy with your pint. Styles we have produced are below, and a current list of what's on tap can be found at our website. German Kölsch American IPA UK IPA Extra Pale Ale Stout Belgian Saison Rye Saison Single Scottish Export English Mild Maibock Oktoberfest Lager Bavarian Weissbier Barleywine Barrel-aged Barleywine Belgian Tripel Pumpkin Ale, made with local pumpkins and gourds
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Pittsburgh
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,322 helpful votes
“Great Beer/Limited Seating”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My wife and I stopped here twice while we were in Fairbanks. They sell very good beer but no food. They had 5 or 6 different beers on tap.

We made the mistake of arriving @ 5:00 on the first visit and the place was packed. We were able to get the last two seats in the place but left after one beer - too crowded for us. On the second visit, we arrived around 3:30 and it was less crowded and lot more enjoyable.

I agree with the last reviewer that the indoor seating area could be improved. IMO, if you can't get there early it's not worth the hassle, at least in the winter. The seating situation might be better in the summer when the outdoor seating is available.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    19
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great Beer---OK Bar”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Lots of selection, IPAs, Lagers, Light and Darks, Stout, etc. In the summer a good outdoor deck too. But in the winter, few places to sit, they could do a much better interior and set up

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JLDCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York,SC
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Local Brew!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stopped by here after a recommendation by a Fairbanks Fire Dept officer. It was as good as he claimed, and their selection of local beers is fantastic. I ighly recommend trying their beer sampler to see which ones stimulate your palate. I give their beers high marks, and hope to go back soon. Highly recommended when in Fairbanks!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good beer, poor setup.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you're a beer snob that doesn't mind standing in line for 20 minutes for a glass of beer, this is a place for you. This place is run like a coffee stand instead of a bar. I won't be back until they figure it out.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank That_Darn_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Excellent New Craft Brewery Addition to Fairbanks”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Technically this is Fairbanks first craft brewery, and joins the northern most United States brewery in Fox (Silver Gulch) to serve Fairbanks and the northern interior.

The brewer at HooDoo comes from Alaskan Brewing in Juneau and he learned well. This is a small family operation, and you will often see the brewer with his family here.

Alaska has really non-craft brewery friendly tasting/tap room rules and regulations. However, the HooDoo does the best to work within these restrictive rules to create a great environment.

The beers are fantastic. The flight that we had was great! All of them.

This place is also super busy. Plan to get here early and wait in line if you come late. But it is worth the wait. The brewery also has growlers to go.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jra3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HooDoo Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to HooDoo Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing