We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite ice cream”

Hot Licks Homemade Ice Cream
Ranked #3 of 6 Dessert in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Delta Junction, Alaska
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My favorite ice cream”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hot Licks has the most wonderful flavors - some of which may sound odd, but wow! My fave: Malted Grape-Nuts. And their Pistacchio (even the low-cal one) is great! None of that artificial green coloring - just lots of pistacchios in a rich ice cream. In summertime, you might have to wait in line...it is a VERY popular place indeed! The milkshakes are also very good. You can even buy their ice cream by the quart to take home. They have umbrella tables to get you out of the sun in summer. The bad news is: they are not open in the winter. Since Alaskans eat more ice cream per capita than anywhere else, I think Hot Licks should find a small spot where they could be open year round.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    28
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Wonderful Ice cream but at a price. The place is not cheap, but for the ice cream connoisseur this is the place to be. Probably some of the best I've ever had.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank merkurxr4i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mims florida
Level Contributor
809 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 594 helpful votes
“what every tourist resort needs”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We wanted another coffee and I needed my daily ice cream shot. Hot Licks had been recommended by locals in Fairbnanks, but the first one we went to was closed for the winter (on a warm sunny dry September day) but we persisted and found an open branch. Very friendly and helpful girls sold us ginger ice cream with butterscotch, cream nuts and a cherry; and latte.
Marvellous.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gwgMimsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful ice cream!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Wonderful ice cream!! 15+ flavors and new every day. We selected 4 pints and hot fudge to take one. To die for. Local Alaska flavors too. Great for a treat or to even stop once a week. Prices ok considering its Alaska!! Comparable with the lower 48.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank csnyder95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Licks Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Hot Licks Homemade Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing