We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good”

The Alaska Salmon Bake
Ranked #35 of 243 Restaurants in Fairbanks
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
515 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Not very good”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This dinner was part of our bus tour of Alaska and the Yukon. While it sounded like a good idea, the food presentation left a lot to be desired. It sat out in the open. Food that should have been kept cold such as salads were not. The salmon was overcooked and the desserts were just thawed frozen cakes. The only good thing was sitting under the beautiful trees to eat our meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank houstonnative47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    81
    64
    35
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
205 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Didn't like Salmon, but Crab Legs were good!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband, two teenagers, and I ate at the Alaska Salmon Bake in Pioneer Park in Fairbanks, AK. None of us liked the Samon since it was sweet. I think it was cooked with some kind of brown sugar basting. Fortunately, we went on a Saturday night on which they also offer crab legs. Besides the salmon and crab legs, there was also prime rib, beer battered cod, salad bar, side dishes, and vanilla & chocolate cake. So, overall, we still got a decent meal; however, based on our other dinners in Fairbanks, this was our least favorite.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KailuaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
300 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“A tourist stop”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stopped as a family of 14. The all you can eat crab caught our eye. The prices are 29.95 for adults and 14.95 for kids. It is all you can eat but the food is not the greatest. The salad bar is outside with very basic ingredients. There were also no coverings to protect from bugs, dust etc. The meat area kept the meat warm but overcooked. The crab and hotdogs were cold. The desserts were cheap sheet cakes. It was nice to tour around and you could eat inside or out. There were almost no servers. Was ok for a tourist stop but very expensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baxter932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
117 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great venue, terrible food!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We visited Fairbanks, and saw the Salmon Bake in Pioneer Park. It looked fantastic - outdoor seating, beautiful trees, surrounded by this historic park and museums. It was $30 pp for the buffet, but we thought for a good venue and good food, it is not too bad. WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT!! Most people got paper boards to eat out of, the food was standing in the sun for hours surrounded by flies, and there was not ONE dish, that I would eat or order again, Everything was below average. Even the pudding was a let down: a brown and a white sponge cake - dry, no ice cream or custard, what a joke.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank voyagersolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Didn't eat but not impressed”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We walked into the Alaska Salmon Bake with not high expectations based on the reviews. We arrived about 8 p.m. on a Wednesday night in July (the place closes at 9) and it looked like they were closed already. No acknowledgement by any of the staff - in fact, we walked in and couldn't figure out where to check in. Walked into the indoor part of the restaurant - most of the tables were empty - walked past the outdoor grill area where there were a few pieces of grilled salmon waiting in a warming tray, some cod in a covered warming tray, and the prime rib station. No staff member acknowledged us. We walked past the salad bar - one side was totally empty; the other side had roasted red potatoes, potato salad and some meager green salad fixings and a few sad-looking rolls. A few wait staff walked past us - no asked if we'd like to sit down, including the young woman at the cash register (which we finally discovered at the entrance). I said to my husband, "I'd rather spend $80 someplace that doesn't look like cafeteria food," and we left. We saved $32.95 per person (plus tip) and were very happy about it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alaska Salmon Bake also viewed

 

Been to The Alaska Salmon Bake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing