We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fairbanks gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lemon Grass Thai Cuisine

Lemon Grass Thai Cuisine
Ranked #4 of 241 Restaurants in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our family has been dedicated to serving Fairbanks with fresh, healthy and authentic Thai cuisine since 1996.With our extensive menu we hope to offer something that will satisfy everyone's taste buds. Harmony is the guiding principle behind each dish so please be sure to tell us how spicy you like it. We pleased to serve you.We truly hope you enjoy your meal and have a memorable culinary experience in our place. We are grateful about any recommendations and sincere feed-back you share with us. For menu please visit our website.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fairbanks gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

For Fairbanks, this place is a gem. Though you may not realize it at first, they source most of their food locally when able and push Thai food to new (and delicious) limits, creating a really high-class cuisine experience. The decor doesn't blow your mind but what you should come here for is the food- each bite is a new sensory experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaraandStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    89
    26
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not as good as we had hoped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We chose to eat at Lemon Grass based on the great reviews on this site. Sadly, we were less than impressed.

The staff was very good but the food was just average and quite expensive. Maybe we are spoiled by having so many good restaurants nearby (suburbs of Chicago) but we are open to trying local favorites and this one just didn't measure up.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RegularGuyInChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mims florida
Level Contributor
788 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 579 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Ranked number 1 by Tripadviser usually means a really good place. Not so with this Thai.

It has no atmosphere,no ambiance. It does not serve wine. And it charges $5 for a small taste of vegetables, and $3 for Rice! Rice should always be included in Asian restaurants, especially when charging $23 for a main course on its own, no soup/salad.

Now the Lamb Chops and Chicken in Peanut Sauce were very good but this place did not compare favourably with the Fuji Japanese we ate at last night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gwgMimsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemongrassalaska, Manager at Lemon Grass Thai Cuisine, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Rice is included during lunch hours 11am - 4pm.

For dinner, we thrive to keep the Thai conventional serving style in which rice is extra, per person, and is all you can eat! We hope you will come into an understanding that this is the most efficient way in which we don't waste rice because not everyone eats it. If rice is included together with the meal, the price will also be increased and so as the waste.

The most important is that we're glad you enjoyed our food.

Thank you!

Lemongrass
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska
Level Contributor
160 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“The aroma will win you over!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our second time recently to visit Fairbanks and both visits included a trip to Lemon Grass. The food is very good----and what I consider true Thai cuisine---we like that they'll temper its hotness to suit your tolerance to spice. Its prices reflect being in Alaska but I guess my only disappointment is that you must order (and pay extra) for rice. When one orders curry, etc, I feel like it is a small expense for a restaurant to include rice with a Thai meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemongrassalaska, Manager at Lemon Grass Thai Cuisine, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you! Your comment make us happy and proud with our craft.

We just wanted to leave you a quick note about rice.

Rice is included during lunch hours 11am - 4pm.

For dinner, we thrive to keep the Thai conventional serving style in which rice is extra, per person, and is all you can eat! We hope you will come into an understanding that this is the most efficient way in which we don't waste rice because not everyone eats it. If rice is included together with the meal, the price will also be increased and so as the waste.

The most important is that we're glad you enjoyed our food.

Thank you!

Lemongrass
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The menu is huge allowing for a variety to choose from. Food was great and service was attentive and fast.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rennfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemon Grass Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Lemon Grass Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing