We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Better in Fairbanks”
Review of Lavelle's Bistro

Lavelle's Bistro
Ranked #6 of 249 Restaurants in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located on the ground floor of Mariott Springhill Suites, Lavelle’s is a unique fine dining restaurant in Fairbanks serving delicious food and an astounding selection of fine wine in a warm, refined atmosphere. In a place where casual restaurants dominate the culinary landscape, Lavelle’s offers a much-needed touch of elegance. Perfect for a romantic date or a fun night out with friends, Lavelle’s provides a sophisticated backdrop for any occasion.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Lavelle's is fine dining with an upscale, urban atmosphere. They have an interesting menu, uniquely seasoned dishes, and an excellent selection of fine wine and beer. Its the best restaurant in Fairbanks, hands down.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VKNance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank E, Kathy, Owner at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Flattered you think we're the best restaurant in town! Thanks so much for sharing this with others -- it means a lot to us. Hopefully we'll get the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Take care,

Kathy, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 402 of 634 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very smart to call for a reservation with this place...especially on the weekends. It is always full for special holidays...PLAN AHEAD! I absolutely LOVE the Ahi appetizer!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank E, Kathy, Owner at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Happy to see you loved the Ahi, Colleen. Also, good call encouraging others to make a reservation -- that's a good tip for newcomers! Thanks so much for the great review and come back soon.

Take care,

Kathy, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Had a very good dinner at Lavelle's Bistro. Previous reviews suggested it is among the best fine dining in Fairbanks, and after walking around downtown I am sure this is true. The food was very fresh and well done. The wine list isn't as outstanding as some reviews might suggest, but good nonetheless and the bar and mixed drinks were really great. Although this is a restaurant attached to a hotel (a Marriott), it doesn't feel or taste like a hotel restaurant. I'd recommend it for anyone looking for upper middle-range fine dining.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank E, Kathy, Owner at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Glad you enjoyed dinner here, Jim! It's always gratifying to hear such great things about our food and drinks, so trust we'll share them with the team. Thanks for your review and stop by the next time you're in town!

Take care,

Kathy, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is the place to go if you want fine dining in Fairbanks. The menu is really good and the food well prepared. I'm told they have an amazing wine selection though I'm not a drinker so I can't really comment on that.

Thank thhammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank E, Kathy, Owner at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Flattered you think we're the place to go in Fairbanks! We always appreciate compliments about our menu, so thank you. Hopefully we'll get the chance to welcome you back soon but until then, take care.

Kathy, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Came here on business for dinner. Service was excellent. The restaurant offers daily specials on entrees as well as a mystery wine. Great deal on the wine. I tried the Scallops which were excellent. Others at my table enjoyed the halibut. Desserts were excellent. You cant go wrong at this restaurant. It is located in the Springhill Suites Marriot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TikiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank E, Kathy, Owner at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed everything from the service to the scallops! Thanks so much for taking a moment to share this with others on TripAdvisor. Your support means a lot to us and we hope you'll stop by the next time you're in Fairbanks -- it's always nice to see a familiar face.

Take care,

Kathy, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavelle's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Lavelle's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing