We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprise!”
Review of Lavelle's Bistro

Lavelle's Bistro
Ranked #6 of 242 Restaurants in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located on the ground floor of Mariott Springhill Suites, Lavelle’s is a unique fine dining restaurant in Fairbanks serving delicious food and an astounding selection of fine wine in a warm, refined atmosphere. In a place where casual restaurants dominate the culinary landscape, Lavelle’s offers a much-needed touch of elegance. Perfect for a romantic date or a fun night out with friends, Lavelle’s provides a sophisticated backdrop for any occasion.
San Pedro, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“surprise!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

definitely recommend. convenient fashionable eatery in the bottom floor of springhill suites. extensive wine list. attentive and courteous wait-staff. great menu variety. when we couldn't decide what to eat, the server suggested several appetizers, which worked out perfectly. beef-tips fabulous.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank E, Sara, Manager at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Happy to hear that we managed to go above and beyond your expectations, Lisa! You've touched upon everything we aim for, and it means the world to us. Do you recall the name of your server? Would love to share your praises with them! Thanks for the stars, and take care.

Best wishes,

Sara, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    204
    64
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Food is excellent. High end scale for prices. Atmosphere is cosmopolitan which can be fun. Can be noisy. Great desserts, varied menu--meatloaf-excellent to more sophisticated entrees. Can be very romantic. A nice variety of wines.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gloria246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank E, Sara, Manager at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for the five-star review! You've hit upon everything we aim for, and it means a lot to us. What desserts are your favorite? We hope to welcome you back again soon! Until then, take care.

Best wishes,

Sara, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Central Coast
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were staying at Springhill Suites and initially went to this restaurant because of its location. However, we enjoyed it so much we decided to go back. We first went over a sled dog race weekend, so it was very crowded. However, we did not have a long wait, and the service was always attentive and prompt. I had the salad with scallops, and my husband had the French onion soup and lobster appetizers. The second time I had the vegetarian lasagna, and my husband had the French onion soup again and a chicken with mushrooms entree. Every dish was delicious, well prepared and presented. The restaurant has an extensive wine selection, and I had a glass of J Lohr caberent that was reasonably priced. During our second visit, the restaurant hosted a group of 35 that was seated by us. We were a little nervous about noise and service, but the group spoke quietly, and the servers were very efficient in serving them as well as us. We really enjoyed the restaurant and would go back if visiting Fairbanks again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PalmSpringsVisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank E, Sara, Manager at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for the five-star review! I'm happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed everything from the French onion soup to the vegetarian lasagna, and I look forward to sharing your praises with our kitchen. We hope to see you the next time you're in town! Until then, take care.

Best regards,

Sara, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maywood, California
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

A group of 7 of us had dinner at this restaurant in the Marriott Springhill. Casual. I had the wild-caught salmon with potato breading and sauce. It was a very generous portion and absolutely delicious! Vegetables cooked to perfection. Service was prompt. The others all ordered different items and were pleased. If this place were near where I lived, I would eat there frequently. In center of town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank E, Sara, Manager at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for the excellent review, Susan! "Delicious" is just what we hope to hear, and you made a great choice ordering the salmon. Do you recall the name of your server? Would love to share your praises with them! We hope to welcome you back the next time you're in town, but until then, take care!

Best wishes,

Sara, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, CA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, right in town”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Possibly the only upscale restaurant in central Fairbanks, and hardly more expensive than the ordinary places. Excellent food and service. But make a reservation!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank E, Sara, Manager at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We always appreciate compliments about our food and service, and I look forward to passing them along to the rest of our team. What dishes do you typically order? Your support means a lot to us, and we hope to see you soon!

Take care,

Sara, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavelle's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Lavelle's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing