We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you eat in only one place in Fairbanks, it should be Soapy's”

Soapy Smith's Pioneer Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 242 Restaurants in Fairbanks
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
508 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“If you eat in only one place in Fairbanks, it should be Soapy's”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Soapy Smith's is a family-run enterprise that has great service and very good food. Dining choices in Fairbanks are limited, but Soapy's has the advantage that it is almost a museum-- filled with memorabilia and historic artifacts. You can spend an hour just wandering around and looking at the walls. If you're lucky, owner Nick Stepovich (who's dad was Governor when Alaska became a state) will be there to give you a little tour. The food ranges from good to really good (the prime rib dip sandwich carved from real prime rib is outstanding) and the service is professional and personable. Great casual dining for the whole family, lunch or dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johncgore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    98
    61
    21
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding service!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Bill, our waiter made the evening for us. The food was really good (had the crab burger) and the history of the restaurant is very interesting. But it was the service that brought us back in 2 nights later.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trebor_Notrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfort food, GREAT staff, a piece of Fairbanks!!!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Convenient to our hotel, this little piece of history/restaurant was perfect for lunch. Hot soup, sandwiches were perfect to take the chill off. Every table in the house enjoyed the server's love of the restaurant and his customers. I couldn't have been happier. Already enjoying a once in lifetime trip to see the Northern Lights, all i wanted was comfort food and fabulous service. Here is is!!! PS - it was really cool to see the server handle a variety of travelers. I've seen servers in the lower 48 buckle under pressure. Not this guy. Bravo for making us all feel comfortable!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomterifx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Attractive casual restaurant, poor food”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I ate here on a recent visit to Fairbanks. I liked the decor and furnishings, the waiter was fine but my milk shake and chicken fried steak were both disappointing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank timminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average food, above average experience”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I had lunch here twice, as it was on the agenda during our Road Scholar program. The food is mediocre but it is worth a visit just for the Alaska decor & memorabilia on the walls. The owner greeted us & proceeded to give us his family history (grandfather came during Gold Rush, father was an Alaskan governor). He loves to sit back & talk while the lone waiter Bill does the bulk of the serving. It is worth going there just to meet Bill who makes dining there a unique experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kanilea361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soapy Smith's Pioneer Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Soapy Smith's Pioneer Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing