We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the food was decent”

Gambardella's Pasta Bella
Ranked #74 of 241 Restaurants in Fairbanks
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
227 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“the food was decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

but the service was awful. I mean, I know it's Fairbanks, where the jobs in summer are plentiful, but the service was probably the worst we've ever experienced in the US, including everywhere else we went in Fairbanks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMS18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    86
    72
    41
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

My family and I visited this restaurant at lunchtime having just arrived in Fairbanks on a Princess Cruises land tour. We waited ages for the service, they were clearly under staffed but what galled me most was that the waiters/waitresses seemed to serve others who had been waiting much less time than we had - they had no clear process for prioritising customers. The spag bol for our kids was good I must say, but the salad served for my wife and I was average. The beer that they served me tasted average too (Alaskan Summer Ale on draft) and then I noted something in the bottom of my glass (didnt want to find out). Overall let down badly by poor service and my low tip reflected as such. I felt sorry for the staff as they were clearly stretched. If you dont mind waiting then maybe its fine... but for me if I ever come back to Fairbanks, then I will give this one a miss! You cant serve as slowly as this.. customers simply wont come back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I continued to be so surprised at the quality of restaurants we enjoyed in Fairbanks. This place was no exception. We each had wine and a delicious meal. Service was very good and the staff worked to accommodate the bright sun that was filtering in as we ate outside. Great fun and good food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
203 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Slow Service, but Food was Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband, two teenagers, and I had dinner at Gambardella's Pasta Bella in June2013 in Fairbanks, AK. Our daughter was craving Italian food that night. So, it was just a matter of figuring out which Italian restaurant in Fairbanks to go to. We read reviews on line for a few restaurants and asked the front desk of our hotel. Several reviews stated that the service was slow at Gambardella's, but the food was good and the hotel front desk clerk stated that Gambardella's was considered the best Italian in Fairbanks.

Our waitress was very nice, but the food did take a long time. Our soups and salads were served in about 30 minutes and our entress were served in about 1 1/2 hours. Since we were anticipating this based on the reviews, we weren't too upset and the restaurant gave our teenagers free desserts to compensate us.

The food really was delicious. My husband ordered the Vanilla Halibut. My son ordered the Marsala Beef Medallions with macaroni and cheese. My daughter ordered the fettucine alfredo and carrot cake gelato. And I ordered the eggplant parmesan and sauteed spinach. So, if you want good Italina food in Fairbanks and you're prepared to have a leisurely dinner, I would highly recommend Gambardella's Pasta Bella.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KailuaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Gamberdellas has some wonderful items on the menu: Veggie sub, Italian cheese salad, Minestrone soup. The pizza is great. The service can be slow, so plan accordingly. The outdoor deck is beautiful in the summer.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gambardella's Pasta Bella also viewed

 

Been to Gambardella's Pasta Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing