We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good pasta dishes, hand made.”

Gambardella's Pasta Bella
Ranked #74 of 241 Restaurants in Fairbanks
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good pasta dishes, hand made.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I gathered from other reviews, stick with pasta.
The place is called "Pasta Bella." And it did not disappoint.
It was slightly haphazardly run, but just slightly.
The excellent food, freshly made pastas (ravioli and gnocchi), made everything fine, though.
The gnocchi was fluffy - indicative of freshly made goodness. If not freshly made, the pastas were excellently sourced. The sauces were delicious as well.
The bread was good, and the soups were even better.

The waiter showed up often, which is a feat in Alaska.
We sat outside, upstairs, and got a lovely view of the river. Downstairs has a picket fence around it, so no views there.

Just a tad weaker than Lavelle's Bistro, since it wasn't as cut and dry, but it trumped the Pump House & Chena's Alaskan Grille in food quality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    86
    72
    41
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food-Nice variety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had three meals at this restaurant and enjoyed all of them. We got something different with each meal and enjoyed them all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Henry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem NC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went there on our last night in Fairbanks and each of the four of us had a very good meal. Our waiter was excellent and the service was very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScreaminDemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good food, poor service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Our waitress seemed tired of her job, the guests and just life in general. We felt like we were unwanted instead of like valued customers. The decor and the music were equally distasteful. The wallpaper were litterly coming of the wall and the floor was dirty. However, the food was very nice. A shame the minuses mentioned ruined the experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MortenEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“late night dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We arrived at the restaurant around 8pm. We were still on eastern time so our bodies thought it was midnight. We had a group of 11 and they accommodated us with no problem. The food and service was good, although a bit pricy. My group of 3 had 2 appetizers, 1 dinner, 3 desserts, and 2 beers. The total came to $82 before tip. Not much of a view from outside but it was nice to hang out there until 11pm and have the sun still out. Something we're not used to.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie48345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gambardella's Pasta Bella also viewed

 

Been to Gambardella's Pasta Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing