We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overrated”

Gambardella's Pasta Bella
Ranked #79 of 241 Restaurants in Fairbanks
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NJ
Level Contributor
192 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“overrated”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

It is a mustery why this place has rave reviews in various guidebooks, Serive was poor, portions were small and we left wanting to go somewhere for a real dinner. The salad dressing was good on the side salad but it was tiny. THe special amafli salmon was few bites size portion but was tasty. It didn't seem like it was frehs. The mushroom and pea risotto was tasty but lacking in mushrooms. We waited so long for a desert menu we decided to leave.

Our table was missing forks and the waiter didn't tell us about specials or that soup was anoption with dinner.

The atmosphere was pleasant - yellow walls and various works of art.

Perhaps the pasta dishes are more generous but prices are very high for what is offered.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank njgramps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    87
    72
    41
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Less than Expected”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

As a local and Italian, Gambardella's Pasta Bella was really disappointing. The wedding soup I received was ironically similar to the Progresso wedding soup and was not hot. Our red wine was much more warm than room temperature, probably stored near the grill or oven. The salmon was good and the spicy seafood alfredo was comparable, but the flank steak was tough and the crab cake was not good. Our waitress was new and constantly had to run to the front of the venue for answers or to ask what to do. Nothing was her fault. If you want to get good italian food in Fairbanks, don't try Gambaradella's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“dont miss it!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

odd little storefront makes you doubt it. but inside, restaurant seating goes all the way to the back of the lot, and even upstairs. we came in late, and were greeted warmly, and taken to a quiet balcony-like table upstairs. waiter said he was new, but had a great command of the menu and wine list. food was served promptly, and at a proper temperature, and very tasty. wine was PERFECT. loved the atmosphere, thoughtfully/thankfully was seated at a good distance from other diners since this was a couple's dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkston, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Italian food in Alaskan portions”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Gambardella's was recommended to us by our taxi driver. We walked to the restaurant from our hotel, the Springhill Suites in Fairbanks (2 blocks from the restaurant).

We were late diners, so the restaurant was rather empty. The first two entrees I ordered were no longer available, so I had to settle for my third choice, a dish with mussels and clams on angel hair pasta with a light garlic sauce. Another table mate ordered Chicken parmesan and I don't recall the other entree.
My mussels and clams were very good and the pasta was well prepared. The side salad was typical in size and ingredients, but the dressing tasted homemade.
Our waiter was friendly and attentive. We asked him about viewing potential for the aurora and he provided us with an area that was accessible by car if we decided to take our chances on a cloudy evening. He did share some photos he had taken the night before and they were awesome. He also provided some aurora photo shooting tips (exposure, f/ stop and ISO settings) that we used later in our trip.
The restaurant serves several flavors of gelato, unfortunately we were so full from our meal, we didn't have room for dessert.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Italian food I ever as ate”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is not authentic Italian food! The appetizer (crab cakes) was good but can clearly tell it was store bought. The entrees were extremely bland,tasteless, so bad had to order something else and that too was horrible. never have i had to add salt to my food when I eat out,this was a first and last. How hard is it to add salt to boiling water for pasta?! Will never go back

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mt73hb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gambardella's Pasta Bella also viewed

 

Been to Gambardella's Pasta Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing