We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Loon

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blue Loon
Ranked #157 of 241 Restaurants in Fairbanks
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Fairbanks
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to be”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The movies are always great and I love to order a hamburger and drink and eat in the theater! The dances are fun--something for all ages. Skidmarks for the older crowd, Latin nights. Lots of outdoor concerts in the summer. However, THE WORST WATER EVER!!!! Even the coke is nasty. Please get Fox water so the DD does not have to gag!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanLynee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Movie Night”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went to the Blue Loon for one of their movie nights. They were showing films nominated for Oscars, and the tickets are much cheaper than your average theater. The theater is set up with regular movie theater seats, or you could sit at the high tops with food and/or drinks. They have a good selection of beers and good pizza.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CurlieGurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Get the halibut Burrito”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This restaurant was perfect for an easy meal and a beer. Loved the halibut burrito. But, would opt for something other than standard fries.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value.”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The prices are usually a little less and the food is a little higher quality then the other place of the same category in the area.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank burnside97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great Live Concert Venue”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We just went and saw a great band called the Dubliners here and the venue was great for live music. There was plenty of parking and space in the music hall. We didn't eat while we were there so I can't comment on the food. I'm fairly certain the building is on a septic system and unfortunately you could smell the septic system in the women's room. The bathrooms were fairly clean but the smell was unpleasant.

The bigger drawback was that the ice smelled funky as well. We ended up only buying beer and wine, and steered away from any mixed drinks. There were several people in our group that drank drinks with ice in them and none of them got sick or anything, it was just that we didn't like the smell.

All in all we had a great time and while I've only been here in the winter, our friends said summer concerts are even more fun, but they also said those events can be very crowded. Their are no reserved seats, etc. so be prepared to come early to get a table or be ready to stand.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Loon also viewed

 

Been to Blue Loon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing