We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

College Coffeehouse
Ranked #5 of 18 Coffee & Tea in Fairbanks
Cuisines: American, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great coffee and food, service is fast and personable. The only complaint I had was that when I said coffee, I had to clarify "YES, I mean drip.. not Americano.." If I wanted an Americano I probably would have ordered one.. But that was more than likely the girl I was ordering with..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Some very good food/coffees and great local music”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

A nice atmosphere in a shop where people are often studying or working on their laptops. There is often local music in the evenings, free or for a small cover. (Open mic nights are some Thursdays. )They have great brownies from Marty's Bakeshop, good breakfast burritos and Ice Rages that rival Starbuck's Frappaccinos. There is a laudromat (with showers)just a couple of doors down so if you're in town for some supplies this is a great place to relax and get something to eat while doing laundry, filling your water bottles, etc.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hnnmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Computers, music at night”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The drinks at this place are not that great, to be honest, think frozen smoothies and powder chai. However, there is a special tea they have (matcha?), and more than that- it's convenient. You get 20mins of free internet time with a purchase (or can use wifi) and if you've got your laundry going at the mat next door, it's worth a stop in for sure. They do have a good amount of music, but none of the music I've been to has been remarkable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaraandStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to unwind & relax”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I love the mix of people that come to College Coffeehouse. Locals, old timers, students, greenies, moms with babies.
The coffee drinks are good and I have not been disappointed with the baked goods either. The Brownie topped with espresso is the BOMB! Only a scoop of ice cream would take it over the top!
Staff is friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pattyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good coffee and bakery items, but it is the music that makes it the place to go.”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Like any coffeehouse, the College Coffeehouse dispenses good coffee drinks and baked goods, but the thing that brings lots of people to the coffeehouse is its presentation of live music 3-5 nights per week.

From bluegrass to folk to jazz, there is almost always a musical group performing for free on Friday and Saturday nights, and there is often free music on other weeknights, too.

There is also a computer room that functions as an internet cafe, and CDs by local Fairbanks and Alaskan artists are available for purchase. The stage and sound system, however, are the focal point of the coffeehouse, as they should be.

Musicians with national reputations often perform here for a cover charge, especially if they are not well-known enough yet to merit a concert in a local concert hall.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ungaknunap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to College Coffeehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing