We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really cool animals, but tour was not exciting”

Large Animal Research Station
Ranked #29 of 95 things to do in Fairbanks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thousands of visitors each year get a chance to see muskoxen, caribou and domestic reindeer on summer tours of this 134-acre site set up for nutritional, behavioral and physiological study by the University of Alaska.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really cool animals, but tour was not exciting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

You can see the muskox from the road just as well as during the tour (they are shy). The history of the herds and explanation of quiviut, however, was pretty interesting. Much of your experience depends on who is giving the tour, and how excited they are about it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank zuzie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    53
    23
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wow--a chance to see a living ice-age animal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I visited the Large Animal Research Station (LARS) in June of 2013 and was very impressed. The guide was very knowledgeable and spent 20-30 minutes after the tour answering loads of questions. I was surprised to see how small the musk-oxen actually are in person (four to five feet). I had thought they would be about the size of a North American bison.
Additionally, there are very few zoos in the world that have live musk-oxen on display. Hence, visiting the LARS facility will give interested folks a chance to see and learn about these very unique-looking animals up close and in person.
LARS also houses a number of caribou/reindeer and the guide discussed these animals as well.
The cost for an adult to take the tour was $10 and took about an hour. Additionally, people must be on a guided tour in order to get to see the animals close enough to make going there worthwhile. Anyone is allowed to drive/walk up to view the animals from the outer gate but it is very difficult to see them.
I personally felt that paying the entrance fee was well worth it since I most likely will never have a chance to see live musk-oxen again. Also, funds raised by admission fees go to feed and care for the animals.
There is a gift shop located on the premises but it is limited and did not sell souvenir pins or embroidered patches of the LARS facility.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fussgussysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
203 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Interesting & Educational!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We really enjoyed the Musk Ox Farm Tour at the Large Animal Research Station. The Musk Ox, Caribou, and Reindeer were fun to see and the talk was very interesting and educational. After the tour, my husband, two teenagers, and I shared a fact about what we found most interesting from the tour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KailuaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Information”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

LARS was on my “see if you can list” while I was in Fairbanks. It just so happened that it was the first of June and was free to get in which was a plus. There were raffles, cookies, and many facts about the large animals at this center. The gift show was Musk Ox friendly but felt they needed additional help during this event. I learned a lot from the Naturalist guides about the animals. Over all it was less than half an hour to see all the animals and learn some key facts about them. It was a nice trip but not a lot to see and it looks bigger than what it appears.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingMedTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting for academics, not so much for kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a great research area and has lots of potential. My 7 year old son was pretty bored. The adult academics in our party loved it and our presenter (Hannah) was excellent. They could definitely get more visitors (our tour had 5 total) if they upped the interaction and marketed a little more for kids.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank profeminda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Large Animal Research Station also viewed

 

Been to Large Animal Research Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing