We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool Musk oxen”

Large Animal Research Station
Ranked #29 of 95 things to do in Fairbanks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thousands of visitors each year get a chance to see muskoxen, caribou and domestic reindeer on summer tours of this 134-acre site set up for nutritional, behavioral and physiological study by the University of Alaska.
Fairbanks, AK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cool Musk oxen”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

It is informative, and great, something you won't normally see - is lots of fun, do put on your list of stops while in Fairbanks

Helpful?
Thank Sewonforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    53
    23
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Not hard to find, especially if you get the map of Fairbanks from the tourist bureau. We were lucky enough to see the muskoxen and caribou rather closely.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank drawknob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“interesting but check times”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We could see the animals thru the fence, but tour times were very limited and we couldn't do more than try to take photos thru breaks in the fences. Would have been better to have gone inside and spoken to someone about what we were seeing

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank octobersky1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fun place for family”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We loved it because we got to see Musk Ox and other large Tundra mammals at close range.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Akshay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“your one chance in life to look a musk ox in the eye”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Our enthusiastic, young naturalist guide ignored the pouring rain -- LARS supplied us with umbrellas, thank you -- and told us all about the musk ox and the caribou. She worked very hard to coax the animals to come toward the fence to eat so we could see them closeup. Her energy never flagged as she patiently answered questions about the animals and Alaska wildlife in general. We had spent two weeks in Alaska, trying to spot animals a mile away, so for us this was a real treat. This is not a long visit and there is very little walking involved. We saw musk oxen and caribou and that's it, but we were very glad we went. The university van picked us up at the Museum of the North and took us back there without charge. Nice little gift shop, too.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Large Animal Research Station also viewed

 

Been to Large Animal Research Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing