We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sophie Station Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sophie Station Suites
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Once again, we enjoyed a wonderful stay at Sophie Station in Fairbanks. Room is clean, stocked well with towels and toiletries. There is plenty of parking, location is great (two grocery stores are within walking distance). The restaurant does have limited hours, but the food is always great. Staff is friendly and welcoming, and check-in and check-out were quick and professional. We always stay here when we travel to Fairbanks, and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: Any of them are great, but the parking lot side has great sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    109
    30
    7
    4
See reviews for
62
115
21
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at Sophie Station for 5 nights in late May 2014. We were going to join a per-cruise tour & this was the hotel that RCCL used. We arrived 3 days ahead of our tour because we wanted to do things the cruise tour would not cover. The staff were very accommodating by making sure we didn't have to change rooms once we joined the tour. The hotel has a airport shuttle which really helps. They also have a bus, which is free, that goes around Fairbanks & drops off & picks up every hour. You can hop on the bus & go to the Pioneer Park, Downtown, the Car Museum & to Fred Myers. There is also a SafeWay within walking distance. The rooms are a bit dated but very clean & lots of room. We ate at both the restaurant & bar. Enjoyed both meals. If I'm ever lucky enough to make it back up to Fairbanks I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RT89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Despite the aging infrastructure, I used to stay here on a regular basis due to it's location- But the repeated staff indifference has made me look for another hotel. Despite having a reservation, I was promptly told no rooms were available when I attempted to check in. At no point was an apology made or any attempt made to help me find another hotel despite my desperate need for sleep. When I inquired if their shuttle was running, the desk clerk was quick to inform me it only was for airport trips.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 907REVIEWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel was a little dated, but that seems to be typical of the area. I don't mean that in a bad way because I love the quaint Alaskan towns. We had nothing to complain about. We had plenty of room. There was a window unit in the bedroom. The grounds were beautiful, the service was wonderful. It's just nothing fancy. We were not expecting that, so we were not disappointed. Reading other reviews I guess people were expecting something more up scale.... We were comfortable, the room was clean, and the staff was as nice as they come. And the bowl of taffy they keep for you at the front desk is AWESOME!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amandasprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Sophie's Station warmly provided me just what was requested: a quiet room and I might
add a restful decor. The inside the hotel restaurant (with a variety of choices on the menu)
was much appreciated. They provided good parking and small gift displays for Alaskana
jewelry. Will stay here again for such great hospitality and the quietness!

Room Tip: ask for your preferences....I asked for the third floor and away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzie009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
285 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

The room was hot, beds lumpy, pillows barely supported a feather. This Hotel is Not, I repeat... Not anything more than a Super 8 hotel. Maybe Fairbanks Alaska has a different standard for grading hotels than the rest of the United States, but they miss the mark in all areas. Glad we are staying only two nights, because I would be in the hospital with my back.
I would suggest that you seriously look around before you book a hotel in Fairbanks.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Eugene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is a great hotel. We spent three days here as part of our land tour prior to our Royal Caribbean cruise from Seward to Vancouver. We rented a car for two days and visited all over Fairbanks. The Gold Dredge 8 was a riot, fun time. There is a Safeway just down the street saved us lots of money by eating in our room as you have a great facility for it. Full kitchen and lots of room. WiFi was great and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lonigrunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.1 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 stars 831 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
2.9 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sophie Station Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophie Station Suites

Property: Sophie Station Suites
Address: 1717 University Ave S, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sophie Station Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophie Station Suites will impress you with its spacious suites and exceptionally clean accommodations. Wonderful dining options offered for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. Zach's Restaurant offers signature entrees and fresh crisp salads. The Express Room Lounge is a great place to watch sports on the 80" HDTV. Complimentary airport & rail station courtesy van service provided. Minutes from the University district. Great value for a large suite with a separate bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Sophie Station Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophie Station Fairbanks
Hotel Sophie Station
Sophie Station Suites Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing