We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roomy - LOVE THE TAFFY!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sophie Station Suites
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel was a little dated, but that seems to be typical of the area. I don't mean that in a bad way because I love the quaint Alaskan towns. We had nothing to complain about. We had plenty of room. There was a window unit in the bedroom. The grounds were beautiful, the service was wonderful. It's just nothing fancy. We were not expecting that, so we were not disappointed. Reading other reviews I guess people were expecting something more up scale.... We were comfortable, the room was clean, and the staff was as nice as they come. And the bowl of taffy they keep for you at the front desk is AWESOME!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandasprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 404 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

Sophie's Station warmly provided me just what was requested: a quiet room and I might
add a restful decor. The inside the hotel restaurant (with a variety of choices on the menu)
was much appreciated. They provided good parking and small gift displays for Alaskana
jewelry. Will stay here again for such great hospitality and the quietness!

Room Tip: ask for your preferences....I asked for the third floor and away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzie009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The room was hot, beds lumpy, pillows barely supported a feather. This Hotel is Not, I repeat... Not anything more than a Super 8 hotel. Maybe Fairbanks Alaska has a different standard for grading hotels than the rest of the United States, but they miss the mark in all areas. Glad we are staying only two nights, because I would be in the hospital with my back.
I would suggest that you seriously look around before you book a hotel in Fairbanks.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Eugene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is a great hotel. We spent three days here as part of our land tour prior to our Royal Caribbean cruise from Seward to Vancouver. We rented a car for two days and visited all over Fairbanks. The Gold Dredge 8 was a riot, fun time. There is a Safeway just down the street saved us lots of money by eating in our room as you have a great facility for it. Full kitchen and lots of room. WiFi was great and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonigrunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

A teacher friend first recommended Sophie Station to me, and then when my new school district sent me on district-related travel, they put me up for a night between flights at Sophie Station. My husband and I have tried a number of other hotels in Fairbanks, but no one comes close to the comfort, tranquility, and congeniality of Sophie Station. We enjoy Holiday Inn Express' swimming pool and pleasant rooms and staff. We can get by on less customer service and more problems with rooms in other hotels. Sometimes our school district puts us up in other Fairbanks hotels, which are nice, but they're just not Sophie. We've used Sophie Station for both business and personal use. When we book a hotel for our own personal use, this is the place we choose. Each room is actually a small apartment, complete with full kitchen, a living area with huge flatscreen TV and sofa, a bedroom with another TV, extremely comfortable bed. And did I say comfortable pillows? Sophie Station knows how to pick pillows that don't hurt necks, not those stiff things that most other hotels offer. I consider Sophie's a home away from our home in Fort Yukon where we teach. A hotel room is larger than the cabin we live in, and when we need to do grocery shopping in Fairbanks to last us a few months in Fort Yukon, our room at Sophie's has the refrigerator and freezer to accommodate our chilled and frozen foods until it's time to pack them for the flight home. I can't say enough good things about this hotel.

It actually deserves a 10 star rating. Just saying...

Room Tip: You can choose a room with a single king size bed or one with two queen size beds. Both are great. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David and Linds... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

I spent 9 days here and I wasn't disappointed. The room has a full kitchen with all amenities, toaster and dishes included. I saved tons by feeding myself. You get a free newspaper every morning. WIFI was fast and free! Very few low points, not enough guest laundry if you plan on not brining enough clothes for your trip. The decor in the rooms is dated, very clean however. And there is no free breakfast like the chain hotels offer, however the space and kitchen more than make up for no free powdered eggs. P.S. Ask about car museum at sister property.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
4  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very nice rooms with very friendly staff and great location. Excellent restaurant in the hotel with lovely atmosphere for relaxing. Excellent price considering the suite size of room. Will definitely stay here again if we get the chance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
1.1 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,234 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
3.0 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sophie Station Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophie Station Suites

Address: 1717 University Ave S, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range: $94 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sophie Station Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophie Station Suites will impress you with its spacious suites and exceptionally clean accommodations. Wonderful dining options offered for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. Zach's Restaurant offers signature entrees and fresh crisp salads. The Express Room Lounge is a great place to watch sports on the 80" HDTV. Minutes from the University district. Great value for a large suite with a separate bedroom and private balcony. Beautifully landscaped with flower gardens surrounding the hotel facade. Luggage handlers and elevators available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sophie Station Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophie Station Fairbanks
Hotel Sophie Station
Sophie Station Suites Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing