We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“This hotel is no more than a 3-star or less Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sophie Station Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sophie Station Suites
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
288 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“This hotel is no more than a 3-star or less Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

The room was hot, beds lumpy, pillows barely supported a feather. This Hotel is Not, I repeat... Not anything more than a Super 8 hotel. Maybe Fairbanks Alaska has a different standard for grading hotels than the rest of the United States, but they miss the mark in all areas. Glad we are staying only two nights, because I would be in the hospital with my back.
I would suggest that you seriously look around before you book a hotel in Fairbanks.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Eugene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    112
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
62
121
24
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is a great hotel. We spent three days here as part of our land tour prior to our Royal Caribbean cruise from Seward to Vancouver. We rented a car for two days and visited all over Fairbanks. The Gold Dredge 8 was a riot, fun time. There is a Safeway just down the street saved us lots of money by eating in our room as you have a great facility for it. Full kitchen and lots of room. WiFi was great and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lonigrunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Yukon, Alaska
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

A teacher friend first recommended Sophie Station to me, and then when my new school district sent me on district-related travel, they put me up for a night between flights at Sophie Station. My husband and I have tried a number of other hotels in Fairbanks, but no one comes close to the comfort, tranquility, and congeniality of Sophie Station. We enjoy Holiday Inn Express' swimming pool and pleasant rooms and staff. We can get by on less customer service and more problems with rooms in other hotels. Sometimes our school district puts us up in other Fairbanks hotels, which are nice, but they're just not Sophie. We've used Sophie Station for both business and personal use. When we book a hotel for our own personal use, this is the place we choose. Each room is actually a small apartment, complete with full kitchen, a living area with huge flatscreen TV and sofa, a bedroom with another TV, extremely comfortable bed. And did I say comfortable pillows? Sophie Station knows how to pick pillows that don't hurt necks, not those stiff things that most other hotels offer. I consider Sophie's a home away from our home in Fort Yukon where we teach. A hotel room is larger than the cabin we live in, and when we need to do grocery shopping in Fairbanks to last us a few months in Fort Yukon, our room at Sophie's has the refrigerator and freezer to accommodate our chilled and frozen foods until it's time to pack them for the flight home. I can't say enough good things about this hotel.

It actually deserves a 10 star rating. Just saying...

Room Tip: You can choose a room with a single king size bed or one with two queen size beds. Both are great. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David and Linds... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, AK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

I spent 9 days here and I wasn't disappointed. The room has a full kitchen with all amenities, toaster and dishes included. I saved tons by feeding myself. You get a free newspaper every morning. WIFI was fast and free! Very few low points, not enough guest laundry if you plan on not brining enough clothes for your trip. The decor in the rooms is dated, very clean however. And there is no free breakfast like the chain hotels offer, however the space and kitchen more than make up for no free powdered eggs. P.S. Ask about car museum at sister property.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very nice rooms with very friendly staff and great location. Excellent restaurant in the hotel with lovely atmosphere for relaxing. Excellent price considering the suite size of room. Will definitely stay here again if we get the chance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirtz, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 6 days in March. The suite was clean and comfortable. We liked the homey apartment style set up including the full size stove & refrigerator. The staff was helpful and friendly. The location is convenient to the airport and other sites in Fairbanks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillingham, Alaska
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The hotel has very large rooms and great eating areas. It is less than 3 minutes from the airport and is central to town. You can get anywhere from the hotel in less than 30 minutes. Great service and a friendly staff to boot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.1 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 stars 876 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Park Inn
2.9 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sophie Station Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophie Station Suites

Property: Sophie Station Suites
Address: 1717 University Ave S, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fairbanks
#3 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sophie Station Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophie Station Suites will impress you with its spacious suites and exceptionally clean accommodations. Wonderful dining options offered for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. Zach's Restaurant offers signature entrees and fresh crisp salads. The Express Room Lounge is a great place to watch sports on the 80" HDTV. Minutes from the University district. Great value for a large suite with a separate bedroom and private balcony. Beautifully landscaped with flower gardens surrounding the hotel facade. Luggage handlers and elevators available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Sophie Station Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophie Station Fairbanks
Hotel Sophie Station
Sophie Station Suites Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing