We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great accommodations in Fairbanks.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Pros: Very clean, pleasant hotel with a gracious staff and a nice lobby. Right on the river, so views are nice as well. Cons: no coffee in the rooms, products in the room are so-so (no lotion!). Breakfast buffet was good, but lunch was less than spectacular. Wireless was available, but slow!
Overall, a nice property but it had the appearance of skimping on the little things that make a difference to a business traveler.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alasskagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 560 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

We arrived at the Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge at around 8:00 pm with a
bus load of other Princess Land Tour folks. As we walked up the hallway to our
room I couldn't help but notice the deep, black scratch marks and obvious damage
luggage had caused the walls, which made the place look very cheap. Upon
entering the room, the same "cheap" feeling stayed with me as I walked into what
I thought was a $49 a night Motel 6 type room. If you were used to the frills of
a cruise ship, or the rustic charm of the Denali Princess, you are in for a rude
awakening here. We had temperatures in the 80's on our trip so we turned on the
AC and was surprised by what sounded like a flock of dying crows coming from the
unit. Needless to say, we dealt with the heat for the duration of our stay since
no one could think - let alone sleep - with that awful noise. Once checked in,
we went to the Pub/Restaurant, Trappers. We noticed the restaurant was very
empty, since we were catching a late dinner, so we expected some pretty good
service. If there was a rating lower than "Terrible", I would have selected it
based on our experience at Trappers. The waiter wasn't capable of taking our
drink and food orders at the same time, so after we received our (incorrect)
drinks we waited patiently and he never came back. 20 minutes later after having
to ask a manager to get him, he returned, with food that we didn't order! We
explained to him that we hadn't ordered our food yet and he awkwardly apologized
and went back in the kitchen. The manager came back and took our order, but we
didn't get our food for another 25 minutes and by that time had had it with
everything. The next morning we ate at the Breakfast Buffet, which was a nicer
experience, until we noticed the lipstick stains on all the glasses and the
obvious stuck on food on all the silverware. I can't even go into the awful
service at the Princess Excursions Desk, because it is still an open wound for
me and my family after the tour people cancelled the one trip we wanted to do
and didn't tell us in time to make reservation with another company. They also
yelled at us for being upset and offered NO help what so ever. People in line
behind us who heard what was going on became as outraged as we were, but the
Princess people couldn't care less. Also, the motel (Yes, motel, it is certainly
no "lodge") is in the middle of no where. There is a shuttle - which Princess
charges for - but it only picks people up once an hour and if they driver
doesn't feel like stopping, he doesn't stop (Personal experience on that one!)
If you do stay at this horrible place, make sure you rent a car or use a shuttle
company (I'd recommend Airlink, so friendly and inexpensive, they
will take you anywhere you want to go!) If you're reading this, please be warned
about this place, and seriously consider booking elsewhere!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley8053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This lodge was our last stop on our Princess cruise and land tour. Service was excellent; staff were very helpful as we oriented ourselves to the city, restaurant choices and means of getting around town. The rooms were okay, comfortable enough but not overly cushy. They had a free wifi signal, but the strength was weak, very frustrating waiting for pages to load.

Because we wanted to visit spots in town that the regular shuttle ($5 per person round trip) didn't go to, the front desk called for a shuttle that offered round-trip rides for $6 per person. Pick-ups were very prompt and the drivers were personable, telling us about aspects of the city during each trip we took.

Our best meal was at the Pump House, which is reportedly a favorite with the locals. The food there was drop-dead wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank halfcafqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We spent the first night of our Princess Land Tour here. We arrived late afternoon and departed first thing the next morning. The beds were comfortable, everything was nice and clean. I was surprised that the drapes were not more "room darkening", they could have been a bit longer to cover the window better. We were there in June, when it stayed light all night long. We were so tired from travel, we were able to sleep well, but if someone was very light sensitive, it might be an issue.
The hotel is not really convenient to any shopping if you need sundries or supplies. There is a nice gift shop in the hotel. Folks were taking a cab to go buy drinks for their room or other items. They also have a shuttle bus $5 that takes you to the "downtown" area or other shopping areas of Fairbanks. We took it, walked around Fairbanks (not much to see) and had dinner downtown.
Back at the hotel for the evening, there's just not much to do. Lots of folks sitting around the lobby- they could use a larger lobby, it was crowded and all tables were taken so we couldn't play cards or anything like that. I would suggest they add a swimming pool, hot tub, game room. More and more families are traveling in Alaska and these amenities would be a pleasure for the younger traveler.
We ate at the hotel restaurant for breakfast- a buffet was offered and it was very tasty and reasonably priced. They had reindeer sausage for local flavor and all the other regular hot items, made-to-order omlettes and fresh fruit that was delicious.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lobby if you don't want to walk far- it's a pretty sprawling place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HWlovesmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Overall I would say that this hotel has met basic expectations, clean and comfy room, a nice pleasant environment and nice lobby with a convenient shop too....however there is no wifi connectivity in the room and hence was very inconvenient for me to bring my laptop to the main hall to use internet....despite the fact that they said free wifi in the hotel.....I think they should upgrade their wifi strength

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Gerald88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This was a lovely surprise after staying at the Denali Princess earlier that week. While the rooms at the Denali Princess were just so-so, the rooms at the Fairbanks Princess were great. Our perception may have been skewed just a little because we had been staying in the Alaskan Wilderness north of the Arctic Circle for most of the trip but I don't think so. We loved this hotel and would gladly come back.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

First stop on a Princess Cruise/Tour.. Great service, great view of the river, good room and a wonderful start to our 2 week trip. Was pleasantly surprised with the overall condition of the hotel considering the short season. Would stay nhere again when ever in Fairbanks.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JWDphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.2 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Fairbanks
1,243 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 24 in Fairbanks
410 reviews
4 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge

Address: 4477 Pikes Landing Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4619
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range: $89 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing