We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel Sucks!!!!”
Review of Golden North Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden North Motel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Reviewed July 16, 2009

These guys are scam artists- do not give them your credit card. Pay with cash. They will charge your card for damages. This is a crappy run down hotel. Some home they alleged we damaged the marble in the restroom.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 81 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2009

This motel is old and not very clean. Linens were very old and didn't seem very clean. Just an old motel in general. Across the road from a dance club. The staff was very friendly, but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoosiervacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2008

Several people in Eagle, AK recommended the Golden North as a place where Alaskans stayed, not tour groups. It is that. The prices are very reasonable, the rooms, while small, are very clean and well-maintained. And remember, you're visiting Fairbanks and Alaska to enjoy the pleasures of both, not to sit in your motel room. The Baer family who own the motel were wonderful. As a result, I spent 6 nights there (3 the first time thru; 3 on the way back). And, yes, I would definitely go back for another visit with them.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nottrimmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

It was my first time visiting Alaska and the hospitality and warmth of the family that owns it is something to remember.
The owners definitely give you the feel that they treat it more like a bed and breakfast than a motel.
They genuinely enjoy their guests and their sincerity shines
in everything they do during your entire stay you are there. ENJOY!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PhillyGirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Clean, BIG room. Cheap, very friendly people.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank tdogg54136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Close to the airport, inexpensive, nicest owners I have ever met, clean. Family and I stayed one night here after getting into Farbanks about 1 AM. It delivered what I expected. A clean place to get a good night's sleep. If you want more, you will need to pay more. We saved those nights for the Denali, Wasilla, and Soldotna areas.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank beavertontim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2007

We have stayed in this hotel for the last two years in september for our pre and post hunt hotel. This hotel is family operated and they do everything they can to take care of you. we have not had a bad experience there and highly recomend the stay. The hotel is well maintained but old and the rooms have always been clean and neat.

Dutch, Texas

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pilot1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
3.6 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#15 of 23 in Fairbanks
308 reviews
3.4 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
0.6 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,234 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden North Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden North Motel

Address: 4888 Old Airport Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range: $74 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden North Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Golden North Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden North Hotel Fairbanks
Golden North Motel Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing