We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump”
Review of Golden North Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden North Motel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dump”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The outside of this place the strip club and the places around this area will make you change your mind about staying here. The butts all over the ground are a real welcome to this place. They don't take an American Express or Discover so we dident stay maybe a good thing. I did look in a room very small nothing great at all. Ended up at Best Western sooooooo worth the extra money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    14
    6
    9
See reviews for
12
22
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

During my vacation in Alaska I had the pleasure of staying at Golden North Motel. The service was excellent. They had a great staff that treated me with kindness. I am a stickler for a clean environment and they did not let me down. Not only was my room impeccably clean everyday but the actual motel itself was spotless. This motel is a MUST VISIT! It has a wonderful family atmosphere and within walking distance of a mega-store that sells everything you would ever need. CLEAN + GREAT ATMOSPHERE + REASONABLE PRICES= ONE HAPPY CAMPER! Anytime I visit Fairbanks, the Golden North Motel is my #1 choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deniser72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

I love staying at this motel! Since I moved to Alaska and worked in the bush for the first 8 years or so it was nice to find a reasonably price motel in Fairbanks when I needed to be in town. The staff is quick to get to know you after just a few visits. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The Baer family truly cares that you have a good experience while staying with them. That is really what makes a motel a great place to stay! Plus it is close to several tourist attractions and local grocery/dept. store.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This place was on my list of hotels to check out because of the price. At first blush it appeared a little too shabby. After checking out the other hotels on my list and finding them either booked or very over priced, we went back. We asked to see a room and were allowed to look at one on the first floor and one on the second. We chose a first floor room with queen bed. Furnishings were older but acceptable. Everything worked and was moderatly clean. Would of liked to see it a little cleaner, but for the price I can put up with dust in the corners and cob webs. Beds were clean but old. If you visit Alaska on a budget like we do I suggest checking this place out. Do not get put off by the outwardly appearance. Staff was friendly and knowledgable and the Golden retriver in the office was friendly as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganMadmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A good value little motel, run by a lovely family. Room was clean, nice bathroom and had a microwave and fridge which was a huge bonus for us. It is kind of out on it's own and the nearest neighbour is the Lonely Lady Saloon featuring showgirls nightly (which made me laugh) but you couldn't hear any noise from it. Just off the main road leading into the town and with lots of restaurants and fast food places nearby (if you have a car). There is a Fred Meyer and Safeway supermarkets very close also and the Imax cinema up the road. Pioneer Park is also along this road.

Tea, coffee and pastries are free in the lobby for breakfast and the owners will give you lots of suggestions for things to do and see.
If you are looking for a comfortable, basic, no fuss, friendly place and a good price this is a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

A basic, old-fashioned motel, managed by a very kind family. Very good value, Alaska standards (less than 100$). In summer, take a room in the Eastern side – the Western side is too hot the afternoon. Consider taking the 2 beds rooms – for few more bucks they are much bigger than the regular room with a separated sitting and working room.

(If you’ve found this review helpful, you can let me and others know it by clicking the green Yes below)

Room Tip: In summer, take a room in the Eastern side – the Western side is too hot the afternoon. Consider tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Avi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Golden North, when you need a nice clean place to crash, and not break the bank this is your spot. I stayed here in January when it was -50 and my truck froze up! It was pluged in but my battery blanket craped out and my battery froze. At the front desk they had a battery booster and charger for guests to use. So I didn't have to spend $30 dollars for a taxi to give ma a jump. AWESOME!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thewolf907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
0.6 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
373 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bridgewater Hotel
Bridgewater Hotel
#12 of 23 in Fairbanks
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,141 reviews
3.6 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden North Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden North Motel

Property: Golden North Motel
Address: 4888 Old Airport Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4456
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden North Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Golden North Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden North Hotel Fairbanks
Golden North Motel Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing