We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the locals go”

River City Cafe & Espresso
Ranked #3 of 14 Coffee & Tea in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Where the locals go”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My 1st day in Fairbanks I struck up a conversation with a local man in Golden Heart Plaza who directed me here for lunch. It's a small coffee shop without much atmosphere but friendly service & good food. The French dip was the best sandwich I had my entire stay. Twelve days later my Road Scholar program had ended & many of the group were hanging out in the hotel lobby waiting to go to the airport. I announced I was going to River City for lunch & 3 of my companions opted to come along. They loved it, as it seemed a place where locals congregate, unlike some of the more touristy places we had eaten. Everyone loved their sandwiches. One person is gluten intolerant & was especially pleased with the brand of gluten free bread used.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kanilea361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    45
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, Ohio
Level Contributor
113 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot..excellent sandwiches!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our tour bus stopped nearby and we just happened to go there...excellent sandwiches prepared for you after you order them at the counter (glass cases hold many choices of homemade fudges...
looked really good but a large caramel apple caught our eyes, they sliced it and served it at the small tables inside with our sandwiches). For a small sandwich/fudge/gift shop, they do an excellent job serving many people. Don't let a long line outside the doors fool you, it's worth the short wait to get served.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarriedCoupleForLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
325 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Sit outside”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We ate at the River City Café and sat outside. You can access it from either street. Good soup and meatball sandwich and French dip. Desserts looked really good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GloriasTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to grab lunch”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Excellent sandwiches with a "hole in the wall" ambiance. Convenient location in "downtown" Fairbanks. We ate here a total of 3 times while in Fairbanks because the food was good and the location so convenient

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Central Coast
Level Contributor
191 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Loved the cafe”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at Springhill Suites and were searching for coffee one very cold morning before a sled dog race on 2nd Ave. We went to this cafe based on a local's recommendation and loved it so much we went back several times during the week for coffee, breakfast, and lunch. The menu is varied with breakfasts, soups, salads, and sandwiches. Our lattes were always perfect, and the breakfast and lunch wraps were terrific. In addition, the cafe folks were very friendly and efficient. There were always a number of customers, a mixture of locals and tourists, which was a positive sign. We recommend this cafe highly and hope to go back if traveling to Fairbanks again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PalmSpringsVisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River City Cafe & Espresso also viewed

 

Been to River City Cafe & Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing